We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand how they do it for the money!!!”
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is value for money at it's very best. The rooms are clean and spacious, the facilities all work as they should do.
Previous reviews have complained at the basic breakfast, But what do they expect for under £20 a night? The continental fare of ham, cheese, bread, cakes and jams was perfectly acceptable and fresh each morning.
The pool is well maintained and clean and the staff (with the exception of the miserable night porter) are polite and helpful.
Easy free parking, close to town and a clean tidy pleasant hotel. What's not to like? I've paid a lot more for a lot worse.
We would happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and found it to be a good 3 star hotel. Basic but clean and friendly. We didn't pay a lot so we would stay here again as it is just a short walk to the sea front with good restaurants nearby. The bus stop is also a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was ok the usual bread rolls, cereal, fruit etc. It is very cheap to eat out in the resort, glass of house wine €1 a jug €2.50! Main meals about €10 coffee €1. Even sitting in the square or seafront coffee and pastry €2. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LinsTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here - all the staff members are lovely and very helpful and welcoming. Free parking and breakfast included is a really good deal by anyone's standards, especially at 20 Euros per room per night!
We stayed for ten nights, which is perhaps getting a little on the long side for a stay here. Thankfully we were able to hire a fridge as it would have been expensive to have lunch out everyday otherwise. Having a balcony would have given us a little bit of extra space but the room we were in was quite large - but it was with a twin bed, even though we'd asked for a double. But I think this is the continental way!
I would say the hotel is better suited for a shorter break rather than a long holiday, but we still really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and were totally spotless and the walk into the main resort was only about 15 mins at a leisurely pace. Time it right on your way back in for the evening and see the amazing sunset!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

EXCELLENT ***UK COMPARISON RADDISON/HILTON***superior room lovely thank you
Have returned yesterday after 4 night stay you could not fault this hotel for friendly staff. On reception very helpful, Spotless..cleanliness...ample choice of buffet breakfast, eat as much as you like, Pool although sun loungers need replacing
Only downside no rooms have balcony..which means no scraping table and chAirs..thank god
And walls very thin...hence had no sleep at all due to noisy people upstAirs
Room 2 ground floor quiet area end of corridor, FantAstic room, lovely decor, faced back of pool onto grassland, Nice chairs and enough seating for all in lounge with small bar, TV,internet , rooms cleaned daily, it's a 10 min walk to beach, market day is Wednesday, 15 min walk to centre shops, and supermarket is only 5 min away maximum.
.*******......excellent....recommended.........5*. Thank you *********

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank giftbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I will list the negatives first they are few but important. Firstly no room has a balcony which limits drying clothes and obviously no where to sit in the evening, secondly limited choice for breakfast same everyday cereal, toast, ham and cheese! Very fresh breakfast but limited on choice. Thirdly pool area although clean and a fair sized pool it's not very inviting sun beds are old and mattresses torn and no sun umbrellas! Positives great staff with a special mention to Leo who went beyond his duties to ensure we enjoyed are stay! Very clean hotel with hard working staff Very knowledgable and helpful well done Leo you deserve a pay rise! Location is good a ten minute walk to beach we even walked to villamoura it took aprox 45 minutes! All in all a great weeks stay for the bargain price for 3 ladies to have a chilled and relaxed week! Love Portugal!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel was clean, spacious, well maintained, of a high standard and I was pleasantly surprised by the very smart interior decoration. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and happily tried to meet any request and I was welcome to use the wifi. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.The breakfast was a continental buffet with lovely local fresh bread. Food was always fresh and dining room very hygienic. The hotel was a short walk from the beach and amenities but this meant that it was quiet and easy to sleep. There was a good mix of nationalities of people using the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The other reviews are right - you can't beat the Zodiaco for value. It is very clean, has everything you need, & the aircon is extremely quiet and cool. The breakfast is fine - 7.30 till 10.00, plenty of choice, and you can have as much as you like. The only downside was noise from a few inconsiderate guests - unfortunately, there's no avoiding them these days! Some people don't seem to care about disturbing others when they come in very late at night or leave for a very early flight - maybe they sleep through anything themselves so have no concept of what it's like to be woken in the night?? Not the hotel's fault though - even if you get a quiet room, there's no accounting for your neighbours. Also, if you have any mobility issues, it might be a good idea to postpone staying here until the nearby road and pavement works are finished unless you don't mind using taxis - the 10 minute walk to the prom and the town involves picking your way through some dust and rubble at the moment....We'd recommend the 30 minute walk from Quarteira to Vilamoura to see the marina, and the return bus ride to Albufeira is well worth the 8.5 euros return fare from the bus stop near the hotel.

Room Tip: We'd ask for an end room next time - fewer neighbours to make a noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.1 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 48 in Quarteira
977 reviews
2.7 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Address: Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova Estrada da Fonte Santa, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £30 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing