We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, but big let down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, but big let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am currently spending my last day at the Zodiaco hotel which I must say has been a huge let down and certainly did not meet my expectations. The hotel and the rooms are immaculate where the bathrooms are very very nice, the shutters on the windows are a brilliant idea, the rooms could have done with a balcony, but we have coped without that is the only positive there was about the hotel. The staff don't really seem to know what's going on apart from one chap called Daniel who we found very helpful and friendly, the food choices are very poor, the breakfast has nothing cooked it is cereal, toast, bread with cheese and ham or yoghurt, as for the evening meal it is always soup for starter, a choice of only 2 mains then a choice of 3 deserts which is ice cream, fruit salad or a cheesecake/sponge cake of some kind, no drinks are provided with the evening meal u must buy these if you want them, even some water to go with the meal would be nice. They seem to cater more towards the portuguese that stay not anyone else, maybe that is because there are only a handful of British there? i don't know. The pool has sun lounges, but no umbrellas just the bases which makes no sense the only thing they have are any left by people who have stayed there and left them, but if it is windy they are no use. Bring ear plugs also as the corridors echo with very loud inconsiderate people no matter what time it is, u also have to put drinks/snacks on your room then settle later instead of paying there and then which seems to confuse the staff who never seemed to wipe off the amount even after we paid which was frustrating when they were asking for the money later.The location as a little away from where there is any life too. I would not recommend staying if you have children or vegetarian as the choices of food really are poor and what they serve is not nice we paid for half board and ate out half of the time.

Jonathan from Wakefield, England

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    103
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
99
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Well equipped and clean spacious rooms. Large common areas and well lit. Helpful employees, good pool, private parking with many places situated in a quiet area 10 min walk from the nearest beach. This are some of the great attributes of this hotel. But the greatest of them all is the amount paid per night! One of the best hotels in Quarteira and one of the cheapest.
I know the area very well and have been to 3 other hotels nearby, and I believe if there was more attention to small details can be a hotel of reference in this city.
A person has already arrived at the hotel at night, tired, and not have a lift (broke down that evening and was repaired during the next morning), no shampoo or shower gel are small details that in certain moments make a big differences!
A final note for breakfast, it is true that is not very varied, but compensates with quantity and some quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is value for money at it's very best. The rooms are clean and spacious, the facilities all work as they should do.
Previous reviews have complained at the basic breakfast, But what do they expect for under £20 a night? The continental fare of ham, cheese, bread, cakes and jams was perfectly acceptable and fresh each morning.
The pool is well maintained and clean and the staff (with the exception of the miserable night porter) are polite and helpful.
Easy free parking, close to town and a clean tidy pleasant hotel. What's not to like? I've paid a lot more for a lot worse.
We would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and found it to be a good 3 star hotel. Basic but clean and friendly. We didn't pay a lot so we would stay here again as it is just a short walk to the sea front with good restaurants nearby. The bus stop is also a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was ok the usual bread rolls, cereal, fruit etc. It is very cheap to eat out in the resort, glass of house wine €1 a jug €2.50! Main meals about €10 coffee €1. Even sitting in the square or seafront coffee and pastry €2. Staff at hotel very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LinsTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here - all the staff members are lovely and very helpful and welcoming. Free parking and breakfast included is a really good deal by anyone's standards, especially at 20 Euros per room per night!
We stayed for ten nights, which is perhaps getting a little on the long side for a stay here. Thankfully we were able to hire a fridge as it would have been expensive to have lunch out everyday otherwise. Having a balcony would have given us a little bit of extra space but the room we were in was quite large - but it was with a twin bed, even though we'd asked for a double. But I think this is the continental way!
I would say the hotel is better suited for a shorter break rather than a long holiday, but we still really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and were totally spotless and the walk into the main resort was only about 15 mins at a leisurely pace. Time it right on your way back in for the evening and see the amazing sunset!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

EXCELLENT ***UK COMPARISON RADDISON/HILTON***superior room lovely thank you
Have returned yesterday after 4 night stay you could not fault this hotel for friendly staff. On reception very helpful, Spotless..cleanliness...ample choice of buffet breakfast, eat as much as you like, Pool although sun loungers need replacing
Only downside no rooms have balcony..which means no scraping table and chAirs..thank god
And walls very thin...hence had no sleep at all due to noisy people upstAirs
Room 2 ground floor quiet area end of corridor, FantAstic room, lovely decor, faced back of pool onto grassland, Nice chairs and enough seating for all in lounge with small bar, TV,internet , rooms cleaned daily, it's a 10 min walk to beach, market day is Wednesday, 15 min walk to centre shops, and supermarket is only 5 min away maximum.
.*******......excellent....recommended.........5*. Thank you *********

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giftbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I will list the negatives first they are few but important. Firstly no room has a balcony which limits drying clothes and obviously no where to sit in the evening, secondly limited choice for breakfast same everyday cereal, toast, ham and cheese! Very fresh breakfast but limited on choice. Thirdly pool area although clean and a fair sized pool it's not very inviting sun beds are old and mattresses torn and no sun umbrellas! Positives great staff with a special mention to Leo who went beyond his duties to ensure we enjoyed are stay! Very clean hotel with hard working staff Very knowledgable and helpful well done Leo you deserve a pay rise! Location is good a ten minute walk to beach we even walked to villamoura it took aprox 45 minutes! All in all a great weeks stay for the bargain price for 3 ladies to have a chilled and relaxed week! Love Portugal!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Piskyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.3 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#24 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#27 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#23 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Property: Hotel Zodiaco
Address: Fonte Santa, Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing