We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarteira Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quarteira Sol
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed for 9 nights with breakfast included. We got a clean and large room with a balcony. Only thing bothering was that it was a room suitable for disabled people. The toilet was not so comfortable and there was no high standard for the douche head so we had to hold the douche head to wash our hair.
Breakfast buffet was like expected with English and continental available. One morning we were planning to go out early when breakfast was just opened and the warm buffet was still cold because it apparently just came out of the fridge.
We also made use of one of the two pools of the hotel and the welness which was included in the room price.
Overall a good value for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgiumCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    77
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
44
100
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just recently come back from our 4 night stay at Quarteira Hotel (Breakfast only) with my boyfriend. It is Definatly not 4* more of a 3* Hotel, however nice and clean building and staff was very helpful. We booked a sea view room, which in all honestly really wasn't a great sea view, as the Dom Jose Hotel was blocking the sea view and could only see a glimpse! The room was average, A/C was wonderful however they can control it and switch it off, which is what happened to us. Their is a safe, a mini fridge, but no tea/coffee making facilities, bring your own toiletries as there was no toothbrushes or shampoo etc. The breakfast was a buffet, everyday the same thing and awful and food was warm. In their 'rule book' it says 'dine with a panoramic view' which in their terms meant - the not so great swimming pool...

Surroundings areas of Quateira is very quiet better for elder people and families not young people. 2 minute walk to beach and bus station. I'd advise to take bus to and from airport and not taxi, we got ripped off. Airport > Faro sation. Faro station to Quateira station, very convenient. If you ever do get a taxi, give them the right change as they will take advantage and treat it as 'tips' in which case happened to me and i was silly enough not to ask for it. For us we had to travel to a few places because that place was very boring. Faro shopping centre, aquashow waterpark, they doubled the prices when we got there, when it stated entry was 15 euros! Supermarket very close by. Again if you plan on coming here, make sure you like peace and quiet with nothing to do but sunbathe.

Jennifer and John

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in May on a full board basis. The food was good. For the first six days there was waitress service at lunch and dinner as there weren't many people in the hotel. There was a choice between two starters, two mains or two desserts and they were nearly always of a good standard. For the last two days all the meals were on a buffet basis as the hotel suddenly became a lot busier when two coach of spanish tourists arrived. As they all ate at the same time it did make it a problem to find a table if you timed your visit to the restaurant at the wrong time.

The room was very nice, we were lucky enough to get a room with a huge balcony (some don't have one at all).
The rooms have a fridge in them but there isn't any tea or coffee facilities. The bathroom was a reasonable size and had a decent hairdryer.
The hotel is about 150m from the beach which is large and clean. We paid 10 euros for two sunbeds and a parasol on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here for one week from the 28th April on a full board basis. We were given room 803 which was a large room with a nice balcony. The bathroom was quite large with a bath and shower combined. It also had a hairdryer for the ladies. My partner was impressed, so it must be a good one. The food was very good and because only 5 other couples were staying we got waitress service all week. It is normally buffet which we got on are last night but that was still very good. The hotel was very clean and the maid came in every day. All the staff were very eager to please. I would definately stay here again but i would use it as a base. The resort was a bit too quiet for are liking. Vilamoura was a 20 to 30 minute walk away, which i would suggest going to for a livelier night out. However if your a foodie their is no shortage of good cafes and restaurants. All in all a good hotel and a nice resort, if a little quiet. Maybe its different in the high season. Tony and Carol. Liverpool.

PS. Try the barolo bar for sangria and tapas. It was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have large balconys but no views, so pick a room on a higher floor if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is not a 4 star hotel, the staff were all extremely rude and the food was terrible. No tea or coffee making facilities either and no hair dryer. The room was nice and had a large sun terrace and the surrounding area and beach were very good. I would use this hotel again but only as a base, would definately go room only as plenty of cheap and okay places to eat out within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the dining room as these had a large sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is my third stay in this hotel 1st time was prior to building there new hotel and last two times were in this new hotel i booked with hotelconnect and got great b & b rates on each occasion please note Quarteria is very much a non tourist sea side village but is only 2 miles from Villamoura but at far less expensive but it does have one of the best promenade beaches in the world and also you will find a brilliant selection of coffee shops and restaurants offering fresh fish which is landed at the fish market towards the Villamoura. The rooms are more large enough and offer everything one would expect for a great base on the Algarve. I think it would be fare if Tripadvissor drop any reviews of the old building as there are not used anymore. Between my last two visits to this hotel i tried Don Jose this hotel is facing the sea and much bigger but was starting to show it age.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bren53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

First impression of the building is not very good. And believe me, this impression will stay with you all the time. The hotel is clean and the stuff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby is nice, but then it is not that good any more. The room I had was really small, but you can live with that. The room itself was clean. However the AC was not working correctly. It was set to 15C all the time and it was very hot in the room. AC fan is very noisy. Bathroom was leaking from all possible places so we had a flood all the time we took shower. Food in the restaurant is not so good. In general: the hotel is clean and quite comfortable to sleep if you manage to sleep in a hot room (with 30-38C outside) with leaking bath. Also, the Quarteira town is not good for young couples. You cannot find a decent place to eat or have a drink, no nightlife, full of old people (70+) and families. I was not looking for a posh and fancy place, just wanted to relax on the beach and sightsee a bit, but the beach is the only thing you can get there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolD_PL_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.4 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#28 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#41 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#24 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#23 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarteira Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarteira Sol

Property: Quarteira Sol
Address: Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarteira Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Quarteira, just a few meters from the pedestrian Avenue and the beach, about 2 km away from Vilamoura and 4 km from various golf courses. The entire interior was carefully decorated offering an ambiance of comfort and well being. The restaurant offers a quality service, in a refined atmosphere. There are 2 distinguished bars : a bar near the Lobby and the bar by the pool with comfortable chairs and tables where the guests can have a more relaxed atmosphere in the hot summer nights. The hotel as also an exterior heated Swimming Pool, a well equipped gym, Turkish bad and Sauna which complement the stay of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Quarteira Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarteira Sol Hotel Quarteira
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Quarteira Sol Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing