We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good quality hotel with excellent staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarteira Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quarteira Sol
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Quarteira
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good quality hotel with excellent staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Although this hotel's reurbishment was completed last summer it still shiines like a new pin and all public areas are stylish, welcoming and spotlessly clean. Rooms are a reasonable size with modern spacious bathroom and good quality fittings.
The local area has most amenities required for a good family holiday but perhaps not catering too much for teens and twenty year olds. Otherwise, there is a good selection of fine restaurants, many specialising in fish, some nice bars and beachside cafes and if sky sports, English beer and a roast dinner are a must whilst away from home, even that is catered for.
Overall, the hotel has much going for it - good location, good restaurant, comfortable rooms etc but its main asset is the quality of people employed there. Friendly, accommodating, genuinely nice people who made our stay complete. In particular, it was a pleasure to make the acquaintance of Ricardo - bar manager and wine waiter, a genuine asset to this or any establishment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    77
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
44
100
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Just returned from a four day stay at this hotel with my Daughter and we loved it. The Quarteira Sol Hotel deserves it 4* rating as the rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good and the staff were quite happy to prepare your boiled eggs as asked for. The pool area was also very clean and relaxing, there is also a small gym which we did not sample. Only negative comment is the shower was not so good, I could not get this to stay on the wallstand and had to use it as a hand shower, the water was also very hot though. The hotel is opposite the bus station (although for two of us it was cheaper to get a taxi into Villamoura) and the weekly market also the beach is a very short stroll away, we sometimes cut through the next doot hotel for this. My daughter and I found the area very safe and friendly, perhaps not the prettiest area we have been to but a beautiful beach made up for this. We liked the idea of being next door to upmarket Villamoura but really enjoyed the peace and quiet of Quarteira. As I do not eat meat the fish dishes were all wonderful and ranged in prices from low to high. This is an area and hotel I was definately recommend and would love to return to.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchiCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

My husband and I returned yesterday from a weeks holiday at the Quarteira Sol Hotel in Quarteira, Portugal.The Hotel was excellent, very clean,friendly staff, very good room and a very good buffet breakfast.My only concern was that we were asked for a hundred euro deposit for the room when we booked in. Although the deposit was returned when we left the hotel we have never been asked for a deposit of this nature in all the years we have travelled abroad.If going away without a credit card,and just cash as we often do, one hundred euros out of our fund would have made quite a difference to the amount we had to spend.I must say again that the hotel was great,but the area itself had not much to offer except a really good beach and nice promenade. Villamoura is a bit more upmarket, but we were shocked at the amount of graffiti everywhere, on all manner of buildings both old and new.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanettecambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel in july 08. We had only booked 1 room but when we arrived at the hotel we were given a suite as it was my husband and i and our 4 yr old. We had a large balcony looking out to the shops which was lovely for just sitting and people watching.Renovations were taking place at the time but we were hardly disturbed. Breakfast was ok. Plenty of shops and restaurants to eat out near the hotel and on the promenade which was about 3minutes away from the hotel. Quarteira has a gorgeous beach which was never too packed. It is also close to vilamoura, about 4 euros by cab.
The staff were quite helpful and would return there for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

The hotel was spotless and cleaned daily. Decor ultra modern, just been refurbished. Staff were friendly but manager had an attitude problem. Hotel was very quiet and we virtually had the place to ourselves, predict problems when busy as facilities seem inadequate for size. Food was average (we ate out) menu was uninspiring and lacked choice. The room was dark, lighting inadequate, balcony tiny only room for one chair and the view was terrible looking out to the windows of rear of the multi story hotel opposite.
Bar, pool and sunbathing terrace far too small for any more than a dozen or so people. No entertainment or activities either in hotel or resort itself. This place is not suitable for anyone other than elderly couples. Plenty of shops, small bars, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. but expensive. Kids would be bored senseless. No nightlife or daytime activities to speak of anywhere locally. We enjoyed our short breakaway but would probably not return to this resort.

  • Liked — Modern and very clean
  • Disliked — Balcony too small
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghBigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.4 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#8 of 50 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#28 of 50 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#22 of 50 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 50 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#24 of 50 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#23 of 50 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarteira Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarteira Sol

Property: Quarteira Sol
Address: Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarteira Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Quarteira, just a few meters from the pedestrian Avenue and the beach, about 2 km away from Vilamoura and 4 km from various golf courses. The entire interior was carefully decorated offering an ambiance of comfort and well being. The restaurant offers a quality service, in a refined atmosphere. There are 2 distinguished bars : a bar near the Lobby and the bar by the pool with comfortable chairs and tables where the guests can have a more relaxed atmosphere in the hot summer nights. The hotel as also an exterior heated Swimming Pool, a well equipped gym, Turkish bad and Sauna which complement the stay of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quarteira Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarteira Sol Hotel Quarteira
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Quarteira Sol Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing