We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a not so lovely place”
Review of QuarteiraSol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QuarteiraSol
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Spent 4 days recently on a B & B basis at the Quarteira Sol Hotel, got a fantastic deal with Alpharooms and really couldn't fault it. Only 20 minutes from the airport which was ideaI as it was a short stay and we didn't want to be too far away. It had been refurbished and we got a gorgeous room, very modern and clean with a big bathroom. Rooms cleaned every day. No balcony unfortunately which was a pity. I had read in other reviews about an old annex and there was an older building next to the hotel which looked closed and neglected and it was abit of an eyesore. The main part is painted a dark pink colour. Lovely bright comfortable restaurant, plenty to chose from breakfast-wise, all the usual hot and cold stuff, you would want to be very fussy to not find something to your taste. No idea what lunch & dinner were like. The pool area was great, comfortable sun loungers not like the white hard plastic ones you get in some places. We practically had the place to ourselves as the hotel wasn't very full probably because of the volcanic ash and people still couldn't travel. There was a bar which was pretty expensive but fine for 1 or 2 drinks. Lovely beach just behind the hotel. Sunbeds & shade €10 for 2 people. Staff were lovely espcially the man on reception who looks like Ross from Friends! but unfortumately I didn't get his name. He even phoned our transfer company for us regarding our pickup time. No internet access at the hotel which was a surprise considering how modern it is. Despite looking up the bars and restaurants on Trip Advisor we couldn't find any except for 2 and as the area of Quarteira itself was really horrible and covered in graffiti just about everywhere we didn't wander too far in looking for them but were saved by the fact that we were only a 30 minute stroll from the gorgeous Vilamoura and this is where we went every evening. Plenty of choice of bars and restaurants and such a lovely spot around the Marina. The beach and promenade at Quarteira are lovely but thats about it. It could be so much nicer if the graffiti artists stopped spoiling what could be a great tourist spot considering the location to the aiport and close promimity to Vilamoura. Having said all that I'd certainly stay here again for a cheap break because of how close it is to Vilamoura which would obviously be more expensive to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Quarteria Sol is a very pleasant hotel with lovely decor in the room, the bar area, the lounge, the restaurant and the pool area. I stayed on a half board basis for four nights and was happy with the choices on the set menue. The food was good and the service excellent. Good location with just a two minute walk to the promenade and beach and a choice of shops bars (including sports bars) and lots of restaurants. The hotel has an adequate equipped gym, sauna room and turkish bath facilities and a lovely pool area with lounger or tables to have your breakfast or dinner al fresco. Vilmoura is only 30 minutes walk away and is based around a lovely marina with good quality shops bars and restuaruants.
p.s. if Jill and Michael from Halifax want to contact me via here - I have some photos to share with you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed 7 nights and were happy with room, facilities and breakfast. Great to be so near to thye beach and restaurants and supermarket. The staff on reception were on the whole helpful. We asked for a taxi and the hotel offered to call one for us so we thought we could trust their choice and not be ripped off. The taxi the hotel called charged twice as much as a cab we found ourselves on the way home which surprised me. All in all nice hotel in quiet but pleasant resort with some lovely places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterSarah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

A friend and I stayed last month for a week and while the weather was less than great the hotel and staff could not have been sunnier. The rooms were light and comfortable. Buffet breakfast ample and varied. Ideal location for beach, shops and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeshireJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This is the complaint email I sent to Travel Republic.........We wish to make a complaint and request a refund for being overcharged by this hotel for telephone charges made from our hotel room.

Next to the phone, it gave a price list of international call charges at 0.40 euros per unit. We took this is being the equivelant of 40p per minute to call a landline in England. We used this 4 times, and total call length for these 4 calls was 34 minutes.
The hotel charged us 121.80 euros for these calls, which is nearly £122, which works out to £3.60 per minute.
When we questioned the bill, we were told that unit is per 15 seconds, so we agreed to pay 0.40 euros per 15 seconds as was our mistake and I personally added this up to just over 55 euros. The manager confirmed that our prices per unit were charged at 0.25 per unit (per 15 seconds), and that the list was wrong in the room, so the bill shouldve been less than 55 euros, but the manager couldnt explain to me why we had been charged 92 units for our 7.14 minute call, 155 units for our 11.22 minute call, 126 units for our 8.31 minute call, and 106 units for our 7.10 minute call, when there are just 4 units in a minute, 4 x 15 seconds. and just simply kept informing us that the charges were because it was an international call.
She couldnt explain exactly to us the charges per minute to England. The manager even called BT international and passed the phone to me to explain the charges, he said I can tell you the charges from Portugal to England, but the hotel will have different charges, I replied to him that the Manager is NOT explaining these charges to me, and passed the phone back to the manager. I advised the manager that I wouldnt be paying this bill unless she could explain the charges to me, which she couldnt. One call worked out to 13 units per minute, another call worked out to 15 units per minute.
I offered to pay 60 euros, which was what was advertised in the room, (0.40 euros per unit)and still very expensive, just to settle conflict, as we were on our Honeymoon. But the manager refused this offer, and contacted the area manager Mr Nuno Arez, who simply told staff to tell us that we must pay this.
Im very unhappy that this hotel has just made up these charges with no explanation and made us pay, we have been ripped off, and this is fraud.
If you cant help us getting a refund for being overcharged, I will be contacting my credit card company to see if they can help us redeem back what is rightfully our money.

I would also like to mention, that even though we paid for half board basis at this hotel, we had to eat out 2 nights out of the 5, because we didnt like what was on the set menu, which consisted every night, of 2 starters, 2 mains, and 2 desserts,and thats it!, no other choice available, so this cost us more money to eat out too. We assumed half board would mean a buffet, as it has been everywhere else we stayed on half board basis.

The reply for this complaint........Travel Replublic passed to Hotelbeds, who sent letter to us advising nothing

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizm8618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Location was great but we stayed in the annex and the room was grubby. The carpet was disgusting, the sofa was very dirty and unconformable. On the plus side, the rooms were spacious and we had 2 balcony. However, there was a disco that went on every night until about 3pm. I would stay again but only in the main building

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omobukunla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Booked a four star hotel break, Our friends and ourselves put in two rooms in an annexe acessed by a cave like structure under an adjoining road.The carpets in this part of the building were badly worn, stained and filthy dirty, When we found our rooms the dirty and worn carpet theme continued to such an extent that we would not walk around in bare feet,The curtains and seating upholstery were also of the same standard, Our friends had to ask for a mattress change due to one being badly stained.

As nightime came the karaoke bar opposite until midnight and the bowling alley until 02-00 beneath us started up. Public areas in main hotel were probably 4 star standard.
Food in restaraunt was plentiful and of a reasonable hotel standard.

If booking this hotel make sure preferably in writing that you are not in the annexe. As for our group never again.

Colin and Tracy Bournemouth

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 47 in Quarteira
1,725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#30 of 47 in Quarteira
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 47 in Quarteira
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 47 in Quarteira
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#29 of 47 in Quarteira
842 reviews
2.3 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QuarteiraSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QuarteiraSol

Address: Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Quarteira
#17 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £23 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — QuarteiraSol 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Quarteira, just a few meters from the pedestrian Avenue and the beach, about 2 km away from Vilamoura and 4 km from various golf courses. The entire interior was carefully decorated offering an ambiance of comfort and well being. The restaurant offers a quality service, in a refined atmosphere. There are 2 distinguished bars : a bar near the Lobby and the bar by the pool with comfortable chairs and tables where the guests can have a more relaxed atmosphere in the hot summer nights. The hotel as also an exterior heated Swimming Pool, a well equipped gym, Turkish bad and Sauna which complement the stay of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your QuarteiraSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarteira Sol Hotel Quarteira
Sol Hotel Quarteira
QuarteiraSol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing