We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quarteira Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quarteira Sol
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We have had a very relaxing 2 weeks. The room was very clean and comfortable.
We had half board and the food was a bit samey, but edible. not much choice meat or fish for main, salad or soup starter, cake or fruit. but as i said it was o.k. and nicely presented.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The location was very good as you could walk all the way to Vilamoura along a promanade which had shops bars and restaurants. The only entertainmant was on Saturday night and was a man and a piano.
but that didn't bother us. We found a very nice couple from Falkirk and was sorry we did not see them before we left.as they were great company .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpkinch171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    79
    68
    21
    15
See reviews for
47
103
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I travelled with Hays Travel for one week B & B, Prior to going we asked Hays toaks the hotel not to put us in the annexe ,due to the adverse comments,on arrival we were given a room in main Hotel,lovely spacious room but no balcony.........No problem..........we went to reception and spoke to Rui,a top guy, and were given a balcony room next day,nothing was too much trouble for these guys on reception. As for the issues surrounded the 'Annexe' ,it is actually the original hotel,not as modern as the new side but we spoke to people who were in there and they said it was fine, we went to have a look around expecting to find something reminiscent of East German coucil blocks and were pleasantly surprised,I would not have been bothered if I had been accomodated there after all.
Quarteira is more of a Portuguese resort than neighbouring Vilamoura which is designed specifically for North European visitors. Quarteira is cheap and cheerful with a lot of free open air entertainment on the Promenade during the season and still buzzing in September. Most Brits would prefer Vilamoura which is aimed at the yachting / golfing / drinking and dining fraternity, more expensive than Quarteira though.

Unless you are a dedicated walker, forget all these tips about 'strolling' to Vilamoura, get a taxi from the rank 100yds from the hotel foyer,they are all on the meter which will start at about 3.5 euros and will only be 4euros by the time you get there. TIP: When returning at night from Vilamoura you may find a long queue at the taxi rank [100 or more] just start walking back and you will encounter a cab making it's way to said queue, wave him down and he will stop,hey presto ! front of the queue,we did this every night,LOL.
Best pubs in Vilamoura......O'NEILLS....PARKY'S........ OLD NAVY . Avoid the IRISH CABIN nice but very expensive, nearly £10 for a local beer and a bacardi and coke.

Just go and enjoy

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alfLankyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Managed to find a great deal online for this Hotel and was a bit concerned it wasn't going to be a nice place. Was really surprised with the good size rooms, breakfast and excellent location of this Hotel. We have only stayed one night but it was a really pleasant stay.
Shame it was cold and could not use the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMarruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Booked 10 days with the hotel and on our second day decided we wanted to cut our stay short 1 day, Spoke to the staff at the counter who said it would be fine and they would refund one nights stay at checkout. On checkout day the same staff person tried to process the refund but said it wasn't going through and that we should go to the bank for some info so that they could wire the money. Once back from the bank the staff changed their story and said that no refund would be made, which resulted in us losing 200 euros. Tack on the we also had to wait around for 2 hours to check-in while our credit card was 'verified' after a 10 hour bus ride. I'm happy to say NO we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsantos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is extremely clean, the staff were lovely and the area is nice and clean. It is not as commercial as other resorts but we were 4 ladies who came out for a relaxing break and that is what we had. We were not bothered by people at night trying to get you into the bars, it was a very pleasureable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my mother for a week and I must say it was a very pleasant stay and exceeded my expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly with a good grasp of English, German and Spanish. If possible book a room in the main building because the annex, looks quite sad and run down. We didnt stay there but had a good look and it was rather grimm. The room where we stayed was spacious, clean and very modern. for only 15 euros on top of your rate you can have a sea view. The meals were delicious and breakfast had a varied and ample choices. The area isnt amazing, although it's very family oriented, we couldnt really find a nice bar to have a glass of wine... but it does have many restaurants. If you're looking for things to do during the day, the hotel offers many tours ranging from 11 euros to like 40 or 50 euros. I went to seville on a guided tour for the whole day for only 17 euros.
If you choose to stay at this hotel do not get a taxi, they are so expensive. we had to pay 35 euros, mainly because it was at night. although there is a bus station opposite the hotel, transport around the algarve is poor...so be prepared. Nice hotel overall. :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camila_26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Spent 4 days recently on a B & B basis at the Quarteira Sol Hotel, got a fantastic deal with Alpharooms and really couldn't fault it. Only 20 minutes from the airport which was ideaI as it was a short stay and we didn't want to be too far away. It had been refurbished and we got a gorgeous room, very modern and clean with a big bathroom. Rooms cleaned every day. No balcony unfortunately which was a pity. I had read in other reviews about an old annex and there was an older building next to the hotel which looked closed and neglected and it was abit of an eyesore. The main part is painted a dark pink colour. Lovely bright comfortable restaurant, plenty to chose from breakfast-wise, all the usual hot and cold stuff, you would want to be very fussy to not find something to your taste. No idea what lunch & dinner were like. The pool area was great, comfortable sun loungers not like the white hard plastic ones you get in some places. We practically had the place to ourselves as the hotel wasn't very full probably because of the volcanic ash and people still couldn't travel. There was a bar which was pretty expensive but fine for 1 or 2 drinks. Lovely beach just behind the hotel. Sunbeds & shade €10 for 2 people. Staff were lovely espcially the man on reception who looks like Ross from Friends! but unfortumately I didn't get his name. He even phoned our transfer company for us regarding our pickup time. No internet access at the hotel which was a surprise considering how modern it is. Despite looking up the bars and restaurants on Trip Advisor we couldn't find any except for 2 and as the area of Quarteira itself was really horrible and covered in graffiti just about everywhere we didn't wander too far in looking for them but were saved by the fact that we were only a 30 minute stroll from the gorgeous Vilamoura and this is where we went every evening. Plenty of choice of bars and restaurants and such a lovely spot around the Marina. The beach and promenade at Quarteira are lovely but thats about it. It could be so much nicer if the graffiti artists stopped spoiling what could be a great tourist spot considering the location to the aiport and close promimity to Vilamoura. Having said all that I'd certainly stay here again for a cheap break because of how close it is to Vilamoura which would obviously be more expensive to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.4 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#21 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#39 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarteira Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarteira Sol

Property: Quarteira Sol
Address: Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarteira Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Quarteira, just a few meters from the pedestrian Avenue and the beach, about 2 km away from Vilamoura and 4 km from various golf courses. The entire interior was carefully decorated offering an ambiance of comfort and well being. The restaurant offers a quality service, in a refined atmosphere. There are 2 distinguished bars : a bar near the Lobby and the bar by the pool with comfortable chairs and tables where the guests can have a more relaxed atmosphere in the hot summer nights. The hotel as also an exterior heated Swimming Pool, a well equipped gym, Turkish bad and Sauna which complement the stay of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarteira Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarteira Sol Hotel Quarteira
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Quarteira Sol Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing