We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quarteira Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quarteira Sol
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
North West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Flawless......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Arrived at hotel for a week stay,all staff pleasant and organised,reception area big open and fresh decor.Stayed in a room facing sea with 3 rooms lounge,bed and bath with two tv's and comfy beds.Nice size for us.Ate full breakfast one day,continental next,fruit next.If you add variety rather than same how can you moan.Self catering so ate out every night.Used pool,turkish bath and sauna could have used gym but didn't.Good location 100 m to bus station,100m to beach 100m to ecomarche perfect for us.Sad to leave as great place to stay.Bargain hotel break at a bargain price.What we want.Lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    79
    68
    21
    15
See reviews for
47
103
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Room fine, balcony faced sea but very small. Reception very good. Restaurant variable - morning tables are not cleared quickly and staff hardly working. Evening staff are good but hot food leaves something to be desired - we were half board but still ate out twice at the Girrasol which was sound. Position of hotel very good - near front,bus station, supermarket, pastelaria, petrol and main road out of Quarteira etc. No evening entertainment except Saturdays, Dom Jose does much better.Quiz at the Fantasia bar(esplanade) on Mondays Zodiaco a fair way out from the centre of town but looked OK. Overall a good hotel for the money we paid and will use it next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tre123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Booked this hotel for a cheap break, checkin efficient, room brand new but on the small side, bed comfy, breakfast plenty of choice, having just read a reveiw saying they were sick of ham & cheese sandwiches you are in Portugal it is the staple diet as is Bar-B-Q salad and chips there is other food if you are willing to try, and for the heathens there are english bars.Back to the hotel, for a four star place I expected pool towels. Staff very helpful we booked a trip to Lisbon and they provided us with a packed lunch. they reconfirmed our taxi transfer online for us nothing was too much. Found a lovely Portuguese bar called the Riviera on the same street but down the road and a super restuarant called the Carteira round the corner from the bar . This was only our 2nd stay in a hotel as we usualy get a villa, my travel agent said ther eis nothing there I wouldn't go, that is exactly why I wanted to. We sat by the pool or on the beach had some good food and cheap wine and had a wonderful time

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StatesideRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

we stayed at this hotel last year in the autumn.It is in a great position with a bus station nearby to travel to nearby towns and a lovely promenade with shops and bars in profusion.
However the rooms were very small,thef irst room we were given had a balcony that would only take the width of one chair and no room to store our suitcases.
We were moved to a better and larger room but no balcony. The food was dreadful.All servery and mostly cold,even if you were first in the dining room.Cabbage soup was the chefs favourite and the puddings were a left over from the night before until they were all eaten.Mostly jelly and rice puddings.The irony of it was that outside the hotel was a pub style bar serving delicious food,but as we had paid for half board we felt obliged to eat in for most of the time

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadvaleofglamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quarteira hotels

Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We have had a very relaxing 2 weeks. The room was very clean and comfortable.
We had half board and the food was a bit samey, but edible. not much choice meat or fish for main, salad or soup starter, cake or fruit. but as i said it was o.k. and nicely presented.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The location was very good as you could walk all the way to Vilamoura along a promanade which had shops bars and restaurants. The only entertainmant was on Saturday night and was a man and a piano.
but that didn't bother us. We found a very nice couple from Falkirk and was sorry we did not see them before we left.as they were great company .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpkinch171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I travelled with Hays Travel for one week B & B, Prior to going we asked Hays toaks the hotel not to put us in the annexe ,due to the adverse comments,on arrival we were given a room in main Hotel,lovely spacious room but no balcony.........No problem..........we went to reception and spoke to Rui,a top guy, and were given a balcony room next day,nothing was too much trouble for these guys on reception. As for the issues surrounded the 'Annexe' ,it is actually the original hotel,not as modern as the new side but we spoke to people who were in there and they said it was fine, we went to have a look around expecting to find something reminiscent of East German coucil blocks and were pleasantly surprised,I would not have been bothered if I had been accomodated there after all.
Quarteira is more of a Portuguese resort than neighbouring Vilamoura which is designed specifically for North European visitors. Quarteira is cheap and cheerful with a lot of free open air entertainment on the Promenade during the season and still buzzing in September. Most Brits would prefer Vilamoura which is aimed at the yachting / golfing / drinking and dining fraternity, more expensive than Quarteira though.

Unless you are a dedicated walker, forget all these tips about 'strolling' to Vilamoura, get a taxi from the rank 100yds from the hotel foyer,they are all on the meter which will start at about 3.5 euros and will only be 4euros by the time you get there. TIP: When returning at night from Vilamoura you may find a long queue at the taxi rank [100 or more] just start walking back and you will encounter a cab making it's way to said queue, wave him down and he will stop,hey presto ! front of the queue,we did this every night,LOL.
Best pubs in Vilamoura......O'NEILLS....PARKY'S........ OLD NAVY . Avoid the IRISH CABIN nice but very expensive, nearly £10 for a local beer and a bacardi and coke.

Just go and enjoy

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alfLankyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Managed to find a great deal online for this Hotel and was a bit concerned it wasn't going to be a nice place. Was really surprised with the good size rooms, breakfast and excellent location of this Hotel. We have only stayed one night but it was a really pleasant stay.
Shame it was cold and could not use the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMarruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.4 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#21 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#39 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 49 in Quarteira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#22 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarteira Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarteira Sol

Property: Quarteira Sol
Address: Avenida Francisco Sa Carneiro, Quarteira 8125-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarteira Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Quarteira, just a few meters from the pedestrian Avenue and the beach, about 2 km away from Vilamoura and 4 km from various golf courses. The entire interior was carefully decorated offering an ambiance of comfort and well being. The restaurant offers a quality service, in a refined atmosphere. There are 2 distinguished bars : a bar near the Lobby and the bar by the pool with comfortable chairs and tables where the guests can have a more relaxed atmosphere in the hot summer nights. The hotel as also an exterior heated Swimming Pool, a well equipped gym, Turkish bad and Sauna which complement the stay of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quarteira Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarteira Sol Hotel Quarteira
Sol Hotel Quarteira
Quarteira Sol Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing