We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chicken” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marufo 1

Marufo 1
Ranked #25 of 358 Restaurants in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

1st time at Marufo and looking forward to going back. Some reviews complained about the grumpy waiters, who didn't disappoint, but I think the way they ignore you and look so grumpy, actually makes the place special. The chicken was great and really cheap. The only advise I could give any other 1st time customers is that there is no one to take you to a table and no matter how long you stand in their way, no one will acknowledge you. You just go to the table you want and wait for service. Don't do what I did and take a ticket for the take away service thinking this was the queue. That made the wee man very upset!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky27645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    219
    81
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering chicken ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The chicken shack is the best by far so reasonable priced!!! what you see is what you get!!! Spit and sawdust kinda feel real locals place we visit at least 4/5 times in our stays we have been coming here for years and it's truly the best piri piri chicken and chips ever!!!

Helpful?
Thank Chefzobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Marufo otherwise call the Chicken Shack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is one restaurant we go to on every trip.
Just outside Quarteria on the road towards the Val Do Lobo and directly opposite the new Liddles store.
We have been going here for years and around 8 years ago it was just a shack really with wooden tables and either red or white wine - noting pretentious here then or even now.
The place has been updated quite a bit but the food especially the charcoal barbequed chicken and chips are first class.
Wine and beer great and the atmosphere in here just buzzes.
you do need to get in a round 6.30 as this place fills up really fast and people are waiting outside.
Seven of us went one evening we had 6 large beers, 4 soft drinks and 7 half chickens with chips, bread, olives etc.
The bill came to 53 euros! WOW

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
227 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a good value for money lunch with friends and family. The chicken piri piri was excellent. It had a good atmosphere but was let down by a miserable waiter who really let the team down. In saying that we will return, but probably over the road at Marufo 2.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Winner Winner Chicken Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was down for a week and ate here 3 times, great seafood and the best chicken chips and salad around!
€10 a head if you are pushing the boat out with wine/beer and starters, cant really go wrong. Will be back over and over again. Delicious

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marufo 1 also viewed

Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Quarteira, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Marufo 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing