We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday experience”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 27 September 2011

this is a very friendly,family hotel in a very nice position approx 10 minutes walk from Villamora malrina.Both Pedro and Cristina look after the guests very well.For a 3 star hotel the food is of a good standard and served at the table, no buffet except at breakfast.I was there for 7 days and enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonbridgechappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

just back from a week at this hotel. fab staff, great location, lovely and peaceful, plenty of sun beds (no early morning towelfest). was on half board but ate out a couple of nights so changed dinner for lunch at hotel, no probs. spotlessly clean hotel. food good but perhaps could do with a bit more choice but understand in a small hotel they dont want alot of wastage. usually go all inclusive in bigger hotel so think iv been spoilt by choices. would definitely go back. vilamoura expensive but i knew that as iv been twice before some years ago and it was then, but well worth it. love watching the beautiful people come out at night. only thing i did notice from the last time i was there is that if you go one road back from certain areas of the marina it gets a bit seedy. dont remember it being like that before, saying that, theres no need to as everything you need is round the marina which is so pretty especially as the sun starts to set.
thankyou especially to christina and pedro who were such lovely young, hardworking people. a pleasure to meet you.

Room Tip: we had one overlooking pool with small balcony, bigger balcony at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank jillmerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Had seen a couple of "iffy" reports re this hotel.I always decide afterwards and as I want a hotel that is basically for sleeping in at night and allows me some time to relax that is sufficient.
This hotel certainly met all our wishes.Pleasantly small (3 floors) not too big to be impersonal and the staff were so helpful.Nothing was too much for them.
If you look closely at any place you can find some faults but to be honest nothing like some of the "headline catching" reports I had seen.
The positives were such friendly and very helpful staff.Nothing was too much for them and if you asked for something it was done immediately.Pedro serves the best GIn and Tonics I have ever had!!!!
Rooms were spacious and comfortable.Our balcony overlooked the car park but hey we had the sun at the end of the day.
Food was not bad.Breakfast was very basic continental but ample choice though repeated each day.cereal, fruit cocktail, toast ,scrambled egg sausage,yoghurt etc.
We stayed in for a couple of evenings and their 3 course meal at 10 euros was a bargain and pretty good.On a par quality wise with some of the other eateries in town and a hell of a lot cheaper.Only a choice of 2 meals but was told that if you wanted something different then they would help.
One or two negatives...towels for bedroom were changed everyday but material was a bit threadbare on 2 days and the floors were not always swept as there was evidence of our sand still there after cleaning.BUT in truth not a big problem for the price we paid.
Close to Vilamoura (5 mins via the back gate) though a good 20 min walk from the beach.
As I have said look close enough and you will find fault.Nearly everybody staying there at the same time were pleased with the Praia.
A place we would definitely return to

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank taurean_traveller122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hotel Praia Sol was a great find on tripadvisor, we had a great stay with no surprises as per all the reviews. We got a good price (onTravel Republic) and it was cheaper than the onsite price at the hotel.

Hotel Amenities: Well stocked bar wth 2/3nights of live music a week, lovely pool area, lots of sunbeds (not enough umbrellas though!), nice pool (if not a bit cold!), great staff, (Paulo is brilliant), large food menu (got the tuna salad twice so can't comment any further than that), really nice shower, nice balony (only a handful of pool view rooms which only gets the morning sunshine), they have a few english channels but our reception was terrible so we didn't watch it much (might just have been our room), sound insulation in the hotel is not great, you can hear door slamming, chairs moving etc, as per the other reviews, breakfast wasn't great, very plain and not much on offer.

Location: Excellent location - Back Gate brings you to Villamoura Marina in 5 mins where there is loads of restaurants, bars, cafes (not much shopping though), McDonalds is only across the road (best coffee around!). The other direction is Quarteira, a busy seafront promenade, villamoura is way nicer so we sent more of our time there, was advised to watch my pockets in Quarteira but didn't have any issues. Didn't make it to the Quarteira market which is on Wednesdays (its a taxi journey from the hotel).

In summary we had a brilliant stay and would defo go back. Search around for the best deal as website prices vary massively!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelbugOct2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very easy walking distance of the towns and beaches of both Vilamoura and Quarteira. The hotel could do with some TLC but we could not fault it for its friendly and exceptionally helpful staff. There was live music twice a week and a well-stocked bar at competitive prices. We stayed 'half board' for convenience. However there are many bars, cafes and restaurants in the area. Would we use it again if in that part of the Algarve? Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms are functional and clean. No safe or 'fridge. Great and easy to use air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Opal043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Hotel location fantastic for beach and restaurants. Excellent Hotel with fantastic staff. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anniebc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I come here 3 years ago for a quiet family holiday it was amazing so booked again to come back, what the hell was I thinking,how can a hotel go so down hill in little time, rude staff who will purposely go out there way not to help you, food was a disgrace, couldn't belive what I was gettin served, I wouldn't serve it to my dog, it was cold under cooked u would tell the waiters about it and they wouldn't even change it nothing, as it being a 3 star hotel I wasnt expecting michelin star but still u would expect something edible. The pool well what can I say, my girlfriend cut her foot on one of the loose broken tiles we told reception about it they said there was nothing they could do and that we must of been unlucky, sorry but there was more than just us who were injured while we were there, the rooms well, red ants all over your floor and climbing up your Walls no air con??? It's 35 degrees once again told reception and they did nothing, after 4 days at this hell hole we moved to a hotel down the road, were we manage to enjoy the rest of our hol. A piece of free advise here stay well away from this hotel, it's a risk as soon as u enter, right thru till you leave.....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swhite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.8 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#23 of 47 in Quarteira
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 47 in Quarteira
1,700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 47 in Quarteira
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
355 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#41 of 47 in Quarteira
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £19 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing