We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed 2 weeks, nice pool (very clean) area, basic breakfast, 15-20 minute walk from Quarteria, 2 minutes from Villimora, 3 course evening meal 10 euro, good value but only 2 choices available.

Room Tip: All rooms have Balconies so no difference in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Theworkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your review,

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay.

We hope you can return and are always welcome to stay at hotel praia sol.

Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great weeks holiday here, one of the best we've ever had. The pictures of the hotel is exactly how it is clean and well kept, lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers around. No need for the beach just stay here and cool off in the pool. The people who moan about the breakfast cant have considered the options you can make out of the food provided and we varied our meal every day. What do they want? for breakfast. The staff are very helpful and always ready to help.
The location is level and the hotel is well designed for disabled people.All rooms have a/conditioning which is great. The beaches are only minutes away and a small supermarket is only 5 minutes away, left out of front door to end of street turn right and it's 250 m away. We had an early morning departure and asked about breakfast we took the offer of a travel package and they provided us with sandwiches water fruit and yogurt with spoon.
We look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: poolside rooms have sun in morning, front rooms have the afternoon/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trevore415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate all our guests reviews and take all into consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at hotel praia sol.

Look forward for your return.

Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Having recently returned from 11 nights in the Algarve staying at the Praia Sol Hotel I must comment on Trip Advisor because earlier reviews before I went did not appear too good and made me rather anxious, especially has I had booked the holiday for others as well.
The hotel was very nice, very clean, the staff very friendly and always helpful. It was still pre school holidays so was very quiet and at times may be only 6 people sat around the pool.
Location was in a residential area and although classed as in Quarteira it was actually right next (5min walk) to Villamora. We have nothing at all to complain about it is a small 3 star hotel and we have been in 4 star that did not come up to this hotels standards. Meals: breakfast adequate hot and cold choice although not too varied but totally acceptable. Evening meal was pre booked the night before and once again a limited choice but was very nice.
I would return to this hotel without any doubt. A 3 minute walk from hotel to the coast road left to Quateira and right to Villamora. quite a few local bars cafes and small supermarkets nearby.

Room Tip: We had 3 twin rooms in our party one over looking the pool and 2 facing entrance of hotel sea view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colbrad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate when guests write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at hotel praia sol.

We hope you can return and stay with us again.

Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed here in April for 2 weeks (11 of us) - we had a ball!

Great location - minutes walk from the marina (use back gate) and the beach (use front door). On site parking if you do have a car. Taxi takes minutes if called and very cheap to go anywhere.

Hotel facilities - must say that the pool is spotless and the gardens are kept neat and clean. Check in was easy and quick. Rooms all ready and allocated beside each other as requested. Rooms decent size - beds comfortable and mattresses were spotless. Some of our rooms had jacuzzi baths, bathrooms were modern, towels were fresh. Safe in room and TV has decent english speaking channels.

Staff friendly and desk is covered 24 hours a day. Breakfast fine - you wont go hungry. Bar menu has a bit of everything - again all fine.

As a 3 star hotel this is pretty good and value for money is definately there. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoolhouseHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for review,

We are very pleased to hear you had a good stay and found all staff to be friendly.

We hope all made your stay as comfortable as possible.

Hope you can return and stay with us at hotel praia sol.

Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Can't see why people moan for a budget hotel. Sad to see Christina has left however glad to see the staff smiling, ...... Great service, 1 or 2 people moaning about want a full english breakfast, I think the hotel is missing a trick here, they should give the option to buy a 'full english breakfast' as they breakfast is basic but fine for what you pay.

Can't wait to go back in September.

Bring back Maria!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NottinghamShanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your review,

We are pleased to hear you returned and had a good stay with us at hotel praia sol.

We are also sad to have lost christina,she had to go back home.

Maria is still around but very busy now with other hotels, will make sure she visits in september when you return.

Natasha De Nobrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Not sure why some people complain about this place - it was a great hotel the staff were not unfriendly the hotel was clean and within easy access to the beach. Breakfast was the same but that is only if you eat everything on display in one sitting; however with a bit of imagination (if you are there for more than 3 days) it can be varied and not boring ie sausage & baked beans with cereal one day; yoghurt with cold meats and bread rolls; scrambled eggs on toast etc - however the sausages were really nice and could easily be eaten everyday. We were half board and the dinner was good too and were served as fairly large portions. The area was quiet and if you were after peaceful surroundings this is the place to be again it was not too far for night life if that's your thing. This is done via the back gate into Vilamoura or through the front towards the beach then left to Quarteria. We went on a catamaran trip - to no where - though we were promised caves and maybe dolphins which didn't materialise - I would not recommend. It was boring, costly and the wine served in a plastic cup. Having walked around and seen both Vilamoura and Quarteria this hotel would be my first choice to stay again. There were no tea making facilities in the room and you might what to buy water or soft drinks from the local super market but the management does not like you to drink non hotel beverages in their public area. A handy hint:- it is cheaper to pay for your transfer to the hotel on arrival rather than booking it on line. Currently the airport at Faro is under going repairs and is chaotic therefore trying to use the local bus services as transfer is a bit difficult as no one knew where the local bus stand into Faro was but they hoped to be finished by ending of May 2012. Overall for what we paid for half board it is a great place to stay - also managed to keep abreast with British soaps.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShineJClight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Director of Sales at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for having posted a review of the hotel on this Trip Advisor. We appreciate it every time a guest takes the time to comment.

I would also like to thank you about the nice feedback about our Staff and our Hotel. We are very happy to know that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Hope to welcome you back at the Praia Sol soon so we have a drink.

Kindest regards,

Pedro Coelho
Sales Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed for a week from 22nd of April.We had booked flights to Portugal earlier in the year and we were looking for budget accommodation in the area.Came across this hotel and for the price of £195 for half board for two people decided to give it a go.We knew the location was good,just set 10 mins walk from the Marina and thought if the food was not great then we had plenty of choice for eating out nearby.
We found the hotel to be modern and the room allocated was large and airy with a good sized balcony,the breakfast buffet was more than adequate and the evening meals were a choice of either a meat or fish dish with a starter and dessert.The food was generally good but would be limited for vegetarians.The meals are selected the evening before which saves wastage in an establishment which is running on a tight budget.
The hotel certainly have few staff but this did not pose any problems.They were polite and efficient and for the cost we could not complain.The pool area was clean and quiet and bar meals are available during the day.The location of the hotel is excellent,easy walk into either Vilamoura or Quartiera .Would certainly return to the Praia Sol Hotel and would recommend to those looking for a no frills budget break in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro C, Director of Sales at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for having posted a review of the hotel on this Trip Advisor. We appreciate it every time a guest takes the time to comment.

I would also like to thank you about the nice feedback about our Staff and our Hotel. We are very happy to know that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Hope to welcome you back at the Praia Sol soon so we have a drink.

Kindest regards,

Pedro Coelho
Sales Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.8 mi away
QuarteiraSol
QuarteiraSol
#25 of 48 in Quarteira
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,678 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
781 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: £20 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing