We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Value----Non Better”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Fifth time to have stayed at Hotel Praia Sol.Excellent value for the cost incurred.The manager Roy really knows how to cater for the guests.Rooms clean.Food Good.Beer cheap .Villamura a short walk away.What more could you ask for!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay once again with us at the Praia Sol Hotel.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the second year running we have been to this hotel.It was great last year but this year it was even better.The hotel is very clean.The food was good,set menu with 2 choices for each course.If it was something you didnt like the chef Maria,would change it around to suit what you liked.The best soup ever.
All of the staff were lovely and very helpful.Anna,Isabell,ILLiana,Rui,Antonio and chef Maria.
Thankyou for making our holiday so nice especially for "007".

Room Tip: Rooms for the elderly and disabled are available on the ground floor with wheelchair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleased29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay with us again at the Hotel Praia sol.

We hope you return and look forward to see you again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent two quiet weeks at the Praia Sol in Quarteria in October 2012 and enjoyed the experience. We had rain on a few days which meant planning trips was a bit difficult.
We flew with Easyjet and found the flights to be good and no problem with finding a seat. They are to introduce seat allocation in November 2012.
The transfer to the Praia Sol from Faro took about 30 minutes. We were quickly checked in by Isabel, a friendly and helpful young lady whom we met many times during our stay, and got to room 103 on the first floor just before midday.
There was a double bed, very comfortable with good pillows, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a bathroom with bath and shower and lots of hot water and some toiletries, which were not replaced during our stay so lucky we brought our own. There was a small flat screen television on the wall, which started with Sky news and in a few days we had ITV and BBC 1. A lot of people then went to their room after dinner and stayed there. The room only had one chair inside. There was lots of space for a second one. Towels are changed Monday, Wednesday and Friday so be aware the Friday ones have to last until Monday.
The room, which was quite big, had a West facing balcony and it was a bit cool until the sun came round in the afternoon. It was lucky we brought our kettle as they don't provide one. The hairdryer is of little use.
I went to reception for a lock for the safe and paid €30 for two weeks and €20 deposit, refundable when the lock is returned.
We unpacked our bags and went to explore the hotel. There isn't much to see. The reception leads to the bar which leads to the restaurant which leads to a patio and the swimming pool area. We decided to have a snack and had toasted ham and cheese sandwiches and we shared a plate of chips which looked like McDonalds. My wife had an Orange Juice and I had a small beer. The lot came to €13 and was charged to our room. The Toasties were not the best, being very oily.
Breakfast is quite good with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, cheese, ham and salami, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, pork sausages, beans and once a week undercooked streaky bacon. There are delicious fresh rolls and hot drinks from a machine. The coffee is pretty awful so I was lucky I brought my own. After two weeks the selection was becoming boring.
Dinner, you filled in a form the previous night with your selection, was table served and offered a choice of two starters, one of which is soup and the other a salad, two main courses, one of which is fish, and a dessert or fresh fruit. It was adequate and properly cooked on most occasions. On our first night we had profiteroles for dessert but they were frozen solid so we couldn’t eat them and another night we had fresh peaches but they weren’t ripe. The other complaint we had was that the selection for dinner wasn’t broader.
The area around the hotel is mainly holiday flats and lots of homes for the local population. It’s quite dark at night so most people didn’t go out after dinner. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the Quarteria promenade. The promenade is about a mile long and had plenty of seating as well as cafes and restaurants for those in need.
Vilamoura Marina is about fifteen minutes walk from the hotel and also has lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. It is more expensive than Quarteria and there is very little to see there apart from lots of boats.
I can see the hotel appeals to the older UK visitors, of which I am one, because it is quiet and I imagine few children come here because there is only an outside swimming pool to keep them occupied.
There is free Wi-Fi in the reception area but they do not advertise this.
They do not provide pool towels so you have to bring your own.
The staff are very friendly and as there are so few of them they have to multitask on a daily basis. They do it very well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at the Praia Sol Hotel.

You are always welcome to return and stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just back from a weeks stay, unfortunately this hotel did not meet my expectations especially as I had read great reviews before booking the holiday. Firstly, on the positive side the hotel itself and the rooms were very clean, a little dated but comfortable. The poolside area was again very clean, very private and quiet. However, the food was shocking!!! There is no excuse for this whatsoever as there is plenty of excellent quality meat, fish and produce available locally cheaply. After the second night we cut our losses (on a half board basis) and chose to eat out, considering evening meals had to be ordered well in advance you would have expected an exceptable level of quality. This was not the case as the food resembled school dinners from the 1980's - why for example serve frozen, greasy, deep fried fish when the best seafood in Europe is literally on your doorstep?? During our stay most of the guests were elderly people on half board basis and perhaps the hotel takes advantage of their inability/inconvenience to travel to another establishment to eat. The cooked breakfast was the same every morning - horrible (scrambled egg, beans and sausages). I understand this is a 3 star hotel, but i have stayed in numerous 3 star hotels where the quality has superceded this hotel tenfold.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy meals in the restaurant, we serve from a variety of choices to satisfy all.
However we hope you enjoyed your stay and may feel if you return and stay again self catering may suit you better,

Kind Regrads,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here early October, it's a twenty minute walk to Quarteira and likewise to Vilamoura. It's a small hotel and very friendly, lovely staff they are really great nothing is too much trouble they'll help if they can. Loved watchng the children in the skate/BMX park each evening from our balcony. Rooms are lovely we faced pool area sun in the morning and cool in the afternoon/ evening ideal for us.
We stayed B & B it was good enough for us there are plenty of places to eat out in the evening in either resort. Went on the bus to Faro only 6 euro's each return, the walled city is lovely but the shops were disappointing. Caught bus to Albufeira 8 euro's return each, lovely place, a large square with lots of little streets to browse round, escalator on the cliffs to get to the top too !!! Bus stop not far from hotel either. We did the photo tour which was great, up in the hills visiting three villages well worth going.Went to the Gypsy market just outside Quarteira really good. A great holiday.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room facing pool, sun in the morning cool in the afternoon/evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alien1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Praia Sol and hope you return in the Future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 10 nights,25th Sept till 5th October.The staff are very friendly,the hotel is spotless,and the food (basic) but very tasty and excellent value for money ...3 courses 10 euros..It is in a prime location for Villamoura marina and many good restaurants if you like to eat out.We would definitely recommend this hotel as a quiet break,,ideally suited for 60+

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and stay at the Praia Sol Hotel.

We hope you return and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My first visit to this hotel left me with a great impression of this establishment.
It scored very highly with me in relation to the efficiency of all the staff, they performed very well in a multi-tasking environment.
The hotel rooms were very spacious, including bathroom and balcony, although the rooms facing the swimming pool have narrower balconies.
Everywhere was very clean and well presented.
The food served was varied in a meat and fish selection, those on half board get to choose the following days dinner by being presented with the next day menu at dinner.
The swimming pools were clean.
There is a back gate for easier access to the marina in Vilamoura, although it is better not to use this gate after dark for security reasons.
There is a spacious bar and lounge area, this also includes a pool table.
I have nothing detrimental to write about this hotel, well done.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pools have narrower balconies, the ground floor balconies facing the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#28 of 48 in Quarteira
837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Quarteira
Price Range: £20 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing