We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked this hotel for my husbands 65th birthday The hotel is set in small garden with pool and
terrace.There were only about 11 sunbeds which were a bit worse for wear,The rooms were clean and a decent size.The bar area is really nice and bar price are very good i.e. bottle of wine was
8,50 The thing we found odd was the fact that you had to order the following days meal the evening before with only a choice of 2 starter 2 main 2 sweets.all of which were quite good
There is a gate at rear of garden which leads to a path to Vilamoura marina five minute walk away
We had a lovely meal on the marina in the mayflower restaurant very reasonable lovely surroundingsNot a hotel for young people no entertainment but very relaxing and enjoyable.
Would we go back no

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roxywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

The Hotel may be a little quiet due to being the winter season and you will find everywhere in the Algarve is busier during the summer season.
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay however we are sorry you would not return again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    177
    75
    32
    26
See reviews for
52
265
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived at this hotel for a 3 week stay. The hotel was clean, light and airy with very pleasant staff although there were not many of them. A nice lounge with 2 large TV screens and a bar plus the dining room were all visible on arrival. The description of the rooms was simple and modern and that is exactly how it was - no frills which suited us fine and the beds were comfortable and clean. If you wanted a fridge in your room then there was a charge for it. We had a balcony overlooking the pool area which was fine although being at the back of the hotel is in the shade, several people swapped rooms for one at the front of the hotel facing the car park as they got the sun. Breakfast was almost the same every day - scrambled eggs (very nicely made), sausage and beans plus lovely bread of various types, cold meats and cheese, yogurts, cereals etc. The evening meal was 2 choices generally - 1 fish 1 meat which you chose the night before and was served to you not self service. Again this food was very simple cooking but very acceptable. There was soup or a salad for starters most days and pudding was usually either a slice of cake or fresh fruit which was lovely. Only one night was there entertainment and since it was winter and dark outside we usually retired to our room after dinner and was able to watch both BBC and ITV as well as world news. All important events could be viewed in the lounge area alongside the bar if you wished to stay up for a drink. The pool area looked nice but was too cold in January for us to have a dip! Having experienced 3star hotels in other countries we now know that this one was good value. We would go there again.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks the pool area but the balcony does not have much sun, the front over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I selected this hotel by its ratio on cost-benefit. Awesome place, with outdoor private parking lot. It is not quite near the beach, but can be a good choice to stay on summer vacations.

Rooms soundproofing could be a little bit better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Small hotel, great prices large beer 2€ our third visit and we are already planning our next. This time we paid extra to have evening meal — choice of only two starters and two mains but very tasty and decent sized portions

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank richarddenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Praia Sol and you are always welcome to return again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Everything was excellent. The room was quite big to stay here with a toddler, clean and well equipped. The food was very various, plenty of choice. Friendly staff. Very good location. Just so good to remember!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We didnt expect 5* 's when we booked this..and we didnt get 5*'s.. what you do get is a clean, comfortable hotel. Being out of season it was quiet, but the ( few ) staff that were working made us feel very welcome. No entertainment..so I learnt to play cards!..bar prices are good..( €2 for a beer ).. the ONLY let down, for me anyway, was the food. But again, you get what you pay for. Not bad at all really.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all at Hotel Praia sol hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was very impresed, the hotel was lovely, staff friendly, food was excellent, for the time of year, the weather wasnt bad either, will definitely be going back? I would recommend this to my friends, maybe during the season, it will b a little livelier, but I cannot complain for the money spent?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairedavies1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
0.8 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#22 of 48 in Quarteira
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#27 of 48 in Quarteira
809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#16 of 36 in Vilamoura
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Property: Hotel Praia Sol
Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing