We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Stourport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a nice hotel, with several good points, and some bad. The staff are very helpful and friendly though thin on the ground. the pool area is very nice, Though there are not enough sun loungers. The prices are reasonable - not the cheapest in Quarteira - but good value.

We've had several visits her and will probably be back again sometime

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of hotel have afternoon sun, rooms facing the back have morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62wendy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Praia Sol and hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    175
    74
    32
    26
See reviews for
51
262
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went with a friend for a girlie long weekend and enjoyed everything! Very nice hotel and super friendly and helpful staff - Mafalda, Barbara and Antonio to name a few (every other staff member we encountered were nice too but didn't get all the names!)

Perfect location - few minutes to town centre and to the beach, short walk to the Marina.

Very nice room, clean bathroom (super strong shower - something that you miss when leaving in UK!!!), and balcony also a bonus.

Pleasant outside hotel facilities with pool and deck chairs if you don't feel like going outside the hotel.

All in all really nice, relaxing stay in a friendly, "homey" atmosphere:))

Thank you Praia del Sol!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mon .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you had a wonderful stay and found staff to be helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 8 days recently. Excellent value for money with breakfast included. Clean smart rooms,
lovely grounds with swimming pool. Easy access to nearest beach and only 5 mins walk to Quarteira or Vilamoura. No frills - food, bar and amenities are basic but definitely good value for money and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, entrance via tiled corridor outside rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolbrookeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Praia Sol and you are always welcome to return again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A hotel with more potential than there should be, the staff are very friendly, they cannot do enough for you and the food is good. BUT the location you could say central but is isolated the nearest beach is the most dangerous, it really should have some form of complementary transport. The fellow guests it attracted were summed by a midlander in 1 word "clicky". The most disappointing thing was that the hotel is being run on a shoestring, things in the room broke not mended ie sink had no plug, aircon not working, veranda doors would not lock reported not fixed over the 2 weeks. Items needing replacing not replaced ie the pool side furniture and at 1 point a girl was left on the evening to answer phones, control the gates, look after the reception and the bar?? Heavens knows what happens when the summer season comes. I commend the staff they are all great but condemn the owners for spoiling a hotel which has unlimited potential.

Room Tip: Get a room at the side, front has 101 dogs barking and back has the BMX course and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have just arrived home following my 2nd holiday at this hotel, 2 weeks this stay. Every member of staff are excellent, nothing was too much trouble, they all work hard and covered many duties. From my arrival to departure I was most impressed by Mafalda who worked on the reception, covered the bar area and also served in the restaurant. I hope the owners realise how much she is appreciated by clients, what a lovely smile.
The hotel is a short walk from the sea, about 15 minutes from Vilamoura Harbour from the back gate and 20 minutes walk from Quarteria Prom. The food was good for a small hotel, my only comment would be less chips please. Other than that, a good selection every day.
The stadium can be noisy at the back of the hotel, and dogs do bark however the hotel can not be blamed for either. Over all this hotel is very good value for money and in a good position.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have most sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have just returned from my second 3 week holiday at this hotel and frankly cannot understand some of the negative reviews I have read on this site. This is a small modern clean hotel with very friendly staff.(All different from last year except for Antonio and Maria in the kitchen).
For anybody on a budget looking for decent accomodation, this would be an ideal choice. Don`t be put off by some of the negative reviews on this site, The bar is probably the cheapest in the area and there is free wi-fi in the bar/reception area.

Room Tip: TRy for a room at the front if you want sun on the balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glennfrommanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review as we wait in the hotel foyer for our airport transfer , we arrived late evening 12/04/14 for an eleven night stay , the downside is location of hotel it seems theres a fence dividing us from paradise where we are is a housing & football , bmx - skateboard park where a lot of young locals hangout who at one stage have thrown water bottles over the fence into the pool area..now the best bits all the staff are-amazing hope i get all the names correct , sophia , Matilda (what a smile) , Barbara (bit shy heart of gold) , Antonio, the kitchen girl, the two very helpful guy's on the night shift , and the two cleaners.. And every one else that keeps this hotel going , the food is very good a continental breakfast & a sett three course evening meal , i highly recommend praia sol as a base to stay if you drive or for a golfing stay , as we say goodbye we will miss everyone we met here its been a pleasure and praia sol is a unique hotel thank you for making our holiday a great one...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Myk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.1 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
801 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zodiaco
Hotel Zodiaco
#24 of 48 in Quarteira
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 48 in Quarteira
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Property: Hotel Praia Sol
Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing