We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Praia Sol
Nearby Hotels
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Marina(Vilamoura)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dom Pedro Marina(Vilamoura)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Four Seasons Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Gale Ampalius(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dom Jose Beach Hotel(Quarteira)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Old Village Apartments(Vilamoura)(Great Value!)
US$351
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
172
183
80
33
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
183
80
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeanssoup or saladcourse evening mealhalf boardbar prices arevilamoura marinasnack menustar hotelyogurtweek holidaylimited choiceon a daily basisgolfing breakquiet areafamily hotellovely hotelnice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Been to this hotel two years ago was a bit of a find but, now has gone downhill.The rooms are not as clean as they should be.I can appreciate that they are understaffed and from each review I have read says this also .Why has this not been addressed? When it's clear it's a basic problem which could be easily fixed with little hassle.We have been here a week and the pool has just been cleaned this morning and the hedge cut Such a shame could be a gem of a hotel so near Vilamoura and is not up to par. The dogs barking all day and through the night are a pain can this not looked at also. I am afraid we won't be back for a third visit

Room Tip: Again on other reviews I have read get a room at the back the front is too noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay this time and will be looking into the negative points so we can improve.

The dogs barking is one point the Hotel has no control over, however this is not everynight.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first time we stayed we thought 'wow, what a fab 3 star hotel', the staff, location etc. we thought were brilliant and really enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed it so much when we returned home, we booked again immediately to go again this year for 11 nights. What a mistake we made! We checked out after just 3 nights! This hotel has really gone downhill in our estimation. Broken sunbeds (and not enough of them), constantly barking dogs which kept us awake every night, not enough staff to cope at busy periods, rooms not cleaned every day, pool area looking tired (weeds, rubbish and long grass and hedges), food in restaurant poor quality and hardly any choice, no BBC or ITV (which we got last year), no Sky Sports in bar area (which we got last year) hence no chance of watching any World Cup matches (this would have kept the customers at the hotel should it have been available - bad move on hotel management part to take it out). On a positive note staff were very friendly and bar prices have been kept down. We just expected more and I'm sure if improvements are made with more attention to detail we would be happy to stay again. People would pay a little more to stay there if it could be a good three star hotel which I am sorry to say it is nowhere near at the moment. Such a pity...

Room Tip: Try and choose a room overlooking stadium as barking dogs will keep you awake in rooms at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janalclowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry to read through your review,

We will be looking into the negative comments you have pointed.
May i add the chanels you have mentioned have been taken off in parts of europe not due to the hotel and apologize for this.

We hope you do return again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week in July. There were three couples travelled over together. We found the hotel to be such good value for what we paid. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was decent and the staff were all very nice. Only complaint would be the lack of sun loungers by the pool and some of the ones there were broken and therefor pretty uncomfortable. Besides that we had a great stay. I would recommend for couple/group on a budget. Good location also!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank SarahRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
We have taken your negative comment to account of the sunbeds.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Back for 3rd time and had some friends as well. They were amazed at the location so close to Vilamoura. This hotel needs a few touches to bring it back to a very good hotel. The sunbeds need repairing and more parasols are needed especially by the restaurant patio. For the1st time we encountered the towel on sunbed problem with some left early morning and sunbed not used till late afternoon. We don't have the evening meal as if you look around there are plenty of good deals around the marina check this site for ideas. We would come back at night and have a good time at the bar where prices are the same as last year. Well done to all the staff who work very hard and are very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms over car park are larger.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank trevore415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to see you again in the future.

We will look into the small negative points you have made to make sure we keep our standards high.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this hotel for my elderly parents to holiday in mid June. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their holiday. The location of the hotel is directly between Quarteira and Vilamoura (without the Vilamoura prices). Quarteira has a beautiful promenade and again, the little cafes there are cheaper than Vilamoura.

The very friendly and polite manner of the hard working staff was second to none. The staff went out their way to help them! My parents room was very clean and looked new. On half board basis, they enjoyed the meals, and had the choice of two dishes to choose from for each night. Soft drinks were not included in the half board basis. Overall, a great holiday, especially for elderly couples - small, friendly and central. My parents would go back!

The hotel was quiet in mid June - a major plus for my elderly parents.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FandLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Praia Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased your parents enjoyed their stay and they are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews