We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Staff, clean, spacious, beautiful rooms and great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praia Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Praia Sol
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, clean, spacious, beautiful rooms and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We booked a cheap break as it was my fiances birthday and could believe how good this hotel was for the money. We would go back at any time of year now. The casino is just around the corner and the marina a short walk in the other direction. Beautiful clean place and the people are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    171
    69
    29
    24
See reviews for
50
255
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

The hotel is very clean, I can honestly say I cant remember when we last visited a 3* hotel and had clean rooms, towels,pool, and a simple but effective breakfast. Especailly when this was so so cheap, Maria even told us that some people (mature long stay guests) had only paid £12 for bb+evening meal!!!!! per day!!! We tried to rebook for Feb half term but it is fully booked :( so will have to try elsewhere and hope it is as good as this one. The room was huge with a flat screen tv with english chanels, the bathroom yes ok was not 100% perfect but the little touches of bath products, clean rolled towels, and a shower with hot water anytime of the day. Enough room for 2 people to be in at once and the balcony was huge...we could of had a party in there (in the summer you could easily lay 6 people out comfortably!)
A great find of a hotel, go and try it and remember it is not a 4* but a 3* with added cleanseliness, simple and comfortable.
Oh and the back alley way is just that so remember to take a torch (as no street lights are available due to residential area to each side of the hotel-not hotels fault!) if you cant be bothered to walk the pretty route via the beach, it takes 5 mins more and is a better walk as no road developments to contend with...
go and have fun :-)

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Maria the owner will do anything to help.tell you where to eat and was not let down once,even gave us a lift to one venue.ALl you have to do is ask and they will try and sort or help in any way great value.BOoked for next month great for golfing venue.THanks MAria and staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodville23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We liked this hotel - a lot.
We wanted a bit of peace and quiet, relaxation and no hassles. This hotel, and its location, provided it all. It is not pretentious, it is not posh, but provides good, clean, comfortable accommodation and nice friendly staff. We took the half-board option, which was excellent value - a nice change to be served at your table.
We really liked Quarteira - very Portugese and lots to wander round and explore - great beach, plenty of different shops, very interesting fish market, helpful tourist office, etc. Plenty of cafes and restuarants.
Vilamoura was good to look at, but a bit souless - probably due to the time of year. We went to the Casino and did the dinner + show - we really enjoyed this - good menu, plenty of it, and an entertaining show. We had no idea how the slots worked, but just people-watched. The coffees were nice and only 1 Euro!
The negatives - I would have trouble finding any. The notorious back-alley just needs common sense to be applied, and there is an alternative route anyway.
Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Ideal winter location for older and limited mobility guests. The nearby large water park is
ideal for families in the summer, as is the very clean beach at Quarteira. A sports stadium, skateboard and BMX tracks are right on the doorstep.
The hotel is only some 3 years old and is in a good state of repair. Maria and her hard-working and friendly staff are most attentive and help to give the hotel it's character. Food is of good quality and an extensive snack menu is available 24 hours. Reception is also 24 hours.
I intend to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesremos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

My partner and I have just returned from our holiday at the Praia Sol hotel.
The hotel is fairly new and modern. The dining room and bar area are comfortable and cosy and have a relaxing atmosphere.Our room was modern, nicely decorated and clean.
We enjoyed the food, especially breakfast which was buffet with plenty of choice. We particularly loved the fresh bread. Evening meals were waiter serviced. Yes, the choice for evening meals is limited but this is a small hotel not charging very much, so they have to cater for a broad taste.

There is a lovely walk along the seafront to the Vilamoura marina, it takes a bit longer but it is nicer than walking along the roads.
Not many people mention Quarteira. We really enjoyed the seafront promenade in Quarteira, which also gives you the chance of mingling with Portuguese people. There are a lot of nice restaurants, cafes and bars.
It is roughly a mile walk to either resort centre. Anyone who wants to be in a hotel right near the marina may find that they would have to pay may be several times the price, so if anyone hates walking that much, budget in some taxi costs or car hire,and you will still save money. Best value for money hotel we have stayed in.

We enjoyed the fire works New Year's Eve in Quarteira. It was nice to celebrate New Year's Eve Portuguese style.
We agree with the majority of reviewers that this hotel is great and that the odd bad review we have seen doesn't reflect our experience at all.We had a great time.

Thank you Maria & staff for enabling us to have a relaxing Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnuckiputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

thanks to maria and all the staff had a great time.thanks for glayva. we will be back and have told hays travel about this hotel and the splendid service you get .nothing is a problem ask and you get.thanks again will see you next year .a happy new year to maria and staff. stew and brenda

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.3 mi away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#25 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#24 of 49 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algardia Apartments
Algardia Apartments
#35 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Sol

Property: Hotel Praia Sol
Address: Rua Quinta do Romao, Quarteira 8125-301, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Praia Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praia Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Sol Hotel
Hotel Praia Sol Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing