We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect! Would highly recommend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Alcantarilha, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tracyands...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect! Would highly recommend”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a week's holiday here with our disabled daughter. 5 great, spacious, en-suite, air-conditioned rooms catered for the 10 people in our party perfectly. Great facilities (pool, spa, table tennis, darts, pool table as well as lots of different spaces around the villa to relax (great wifi too!). Simon and Lesley are wonderful friendly hosts to give local knowledge and only too willing to help in any way they can. Easy quick drive to beaches, supermarkets and local attractions for those that want but we just lazed around the pool mostly and enjoyed a beer!
This is a fantastic place to stay, would highly recommend, disability or not.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful fully accessible holiday b & b”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have spent many hours on the internet trying to find fully wheelchair accessible accommodation and came across this accommodation via an accessible holidays website. We were pleased that the photos showed wet bathrooms as well as ramps throughout the site. We had a lovely conversation with one of our hosts, Simon and booked our accommodation once our flights were confirmed. Simon was very helpful in trying to find car hire - although in the end we decided not to use a hire car, but Simon was very accommodating in taking us by car to the local beach and tourist areas.

We were greeted very warmly by Simon and Lesley on our arrival who made it clear that they would do all they could to make our week's holiday an enjoyable one. We enjoyed the lovely cooked breakfast provided every morning, although in the summer months the facilities are let on a self catering basis. There is a well equipped kitchen.
My husband was very appreciative to see a riser recliner chair in the lounge, adding to his comfort during our stay.
The swimming pool has steps down as well as an ingenious device for lowering a wheelchair right in to the pool. We enjoyed some sunny days, but not warm enough to venture in to the pool in March.
There is a local train station within a few minutes walk but unfortunately there is no concept of wheelchair access on to the trains which have 4 steep steps to board!

As an able bodied person I was able to enjoy 3 train trips which was comfortable once on board, but I did not see any space for a wheelchair user.

This was my first visit to Portugal and due to the comfortable surroundings, and wonderful hosts, the best holiday we can remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryck
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Accessible Holiday that delivered 100%”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family including my 21 year old son is is a wheelchair user who cannot weight bear or self transfer visited this wonderful home for 10 days in June. We have had some nightmares with locations in the past and therefore a new holiday destination is looked upon with some trepidation. We found the villa an absolute delight. All amenities were provided as promised by our wonderful hosts and they could not have been more helpful. My son was so happy that we have booked to return next year for a longer visit.
The facilities on site for all the family both indoor and outdoor are spacious, well maintained and of a very high standard. We look forward to many more visits to Simon and Leslie and would recommend this location without reservation.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marchant...
1 review
“A perfect place to rest”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The villa is luxurious, beautiful, and a sanctuary. The owners, Simon and Leslie, could not have been more accommodating. It was an added bonus to discover the weather in the Algarve is near perfect!

My son, who is 19 and has cerebral palsy, was able to get around all of the villa and into the local bar, where we had a cracking night (or two)! To quote him, Spokes is "A place for resting the mind and filling the stomach. A dip in the pool to refresh your dreams."

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroleCM1...
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from 2 great weeks at Spokes with my sister and her husband - my sisters first holiday for 5 years after having both legs amputated. We were a group of 5 in total and Spokes did not disappoint as it catered not only for her specific needs but also was a much needed break for her husband. Lesley and Simon were great, they did all they could to make sure we were well looked after, even down to Simon acting as a taxi driver one evening for my birthday meal. Being "next door" if there was something we needed, Simon was on hand - thanks for picking up the loaf of bread Simon! Having trawled the Internet for around 2 years to find something to fit the bill, places like Spokes are few and far between and we have no hesitation in recommending it as a truly disabled friendly villa

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HIGH DEPENDENCY NEEDS? There is nothing better than SPOKES!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a holiday for someone with complex and or high dependency needs, you won't find anything better than Spokes.

Our 11 year old daughter has multiple, complex needs due to profound brain injury at birth. She is totally dependent on others for every aspect of her life and a nurse / carer team looks after her every minute of every hour, 24 hours per day. After accepting compromises for years, whilst our daughter was younger and smaller, we decided we needed to find a luxury holiday destination suitable for the whole family whose facilities, service and management would reliably meet not just our daughters needs but also that of the team that look after her.

From the first point of contact with Simon and Lesley at Spokes in 2013, in preparation for our 2014 summer holiday, it became clear that Spokes was perfect in every way. We found our experience of Spokes so positive in the summer that we returned for a further week in the October half term and we also booked our 2015 holiday too! Simon, Lesley and the team at Spokes have risen to the challenges time and time again of preparing everything needed in accordance with our requirements and ensuring that our holidays with our daughter are safe and successful including:

• Liaison and coordination with local doctors as required including the provision of medical prescriptions in advance of our arrival.
• Liaison and coordination with the suppliers of local medical equipment including oxygen equipment in advance of our arrival.
• Managing the rental of disabled equipment from local suppliers on our behalf.
• Providing Spokes own specialist disabled equipment.
• Arranging, installing and removing furniture according to our requirements prior to our arrival.
• Managing the adaption of Spokes own disabled equipment to our specification and requirements.
• Storing our own disabled equipment and assembling and preparing it ready for our arrival.
• Managing the adaption of our own disabled equipment to our specification and requirements ready for our arrival.
• Liaison and coordination with local holiday accommodation rentals to ensure the needs of our care team are met.
• Providing support to the care team, including transport, as required.
• Arranging specialist disabled wheelchair transport from and to the airport and locally as required.
• Providing a constant presence on site to advise as required and to ensure any issues arising are quickly and easily resolved.

You can depend upon Simon, Lesley and the team at Spokes to remove the uncertainty and reduce the risks of taking someone with complex and or high dependency needs on a foreign holiday allowing everyone to relax and enjoy themselves. Just how it should be!

Neil & Iona Mayo
Nottingham

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spokes Algarve Wheelchair Friendly beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I visited Spokes which is situated near Silves, Portugal in the Algarve region. This was at the start of September 14 for one week. We were a party of seven and a 4 month old baby. One of the party was in a wheelchair and another in crutches. We selected the property primarily for its disabled facilities.
The property is a spacious private villa set in a quiet residential area and maintained by the owner, Simon, who lives nearby and is available by arrangement to drive should you require assistance of an evening. It was a 20 – 30 min to Albufiera. There is a small supermarket nearby so you would need to stock up at the Aldi a short drive away.
The property is close to a railway line at the Alcantarilha stop and not far from the main road. There is a short walk up the hill to the property it would not be suitable for those in a wheelchair or crutches. To be honest there is not much in the area to walk to in any event.
The good news is you may not want to travel too far once you arrive in the property. We were not disappointed when we arrived which was good considering the price tag in high season. The villa is very spacious set in its own grounds behind a gated entrance. The garden is pleasant with shady areas. There is a BBQ area, outside dining area, bar area. The pool is of good size with a shallow and deep end. The hoist works well but assistance from able bodied person would probably be required. There is ample room for loungers and wheelchairs etc. There is an outside, solar heated, Jacuzzi which worked well but was difficult to access for those with mobility problems. Inside the villa all the bedrooms are a good size with air conditioning although some did not need it. There is a lounge area, kitchen and dining area. The ground floor is fully accessible as are the main areas outside. I could not fault the accessibility or layout of the villa or pool.
As mentioned you would need a car to get around. A Kangol came with the deal and Simon drove this for us a few times. He recommended a few restaurants which were good. The one across the railway line about 100 yds away “O FeedBack” was very pleasant and good value. I will write separately on this.
Nothing more to be said – will save up to go again.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing