We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa, with a view to die for”
House Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Location
Front House Vivenda Belo Horizonte
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
House Location
Front House
Vivenda Belo Horizonte
view from the top of the house
Entrance
Entance Hall
Room View
Double Room
Double Room
Junior Suite
Junior Suite
Junior Suite
Bathroom with Jacuzzi
Bathroom
Balcony View weast
Balcony View weast
Balcony View east
Living Room with fireplace
Living Room
Dinning Room
Kitchen
Kitchen with outside door to the garden
kitchen
Barbecue
Barbecue area
Pool
Solarium
Splanade
Ocean View
Room View
Garden & View
Garden
Sea View
Sea View
Sea View
Rainbow View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Canico, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
RedPenMan
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, with a view to die for”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this property in October 2016 for 10 days with my 3 twenty-something children. It's a really gorgeous villa; it's biggest selling point undoubtedly being that awesome view from the clifftops. It's in a quiet location and ideal for a relaxing holiday. The villa is extremely spacious, comfortable and well equipped: I find it's always pretty obvious when a holiday home has actually been lived in, as opposed to being furnished just for guests - for example, at Villa Belo Horizonte, the kitchen is full of equipment and utensils, which is great if you actually want to cook sometimes (unlike many other villas).

The garden - with that view - is great for sun-worshippers like my daughter, as it's in full sun all day: you can sit there and watch the sunrise and sunset without even moving if you want. That said, shade is in rather short supply as a result, and as I far preferred to sit and read out of the sun, I found myself having either to sit just inside the open patio doors below the balcony, or to butt a sunbed sideways against the house wall, within the narrow strip of shade afforded by the balcony. A couple of big parasols would be great, but the trouble is it can get really windy on the coast in Madeira (as happened with us on a couple of days) and I am sure they would be highly likely to end up down the cliffs and in the sea! There are a couple of very small, round outside tables; round the side of the property there's a larger, fixed table next to the barbeque (see my photos); it's under cover but also has walls on 3 sides, so no good for sitting at for lunch to admire that view, which is a shame. There's a massive 8/10-seater mahogany dining table in the property which we never used; it's a shame there isn't a decent-sized shaded table out front, in my opinion.

Also perhaps worth flagging that the property is probably not best suited for young kids; the ungated pool is one thing, but there's also a completely unguarded concrete stairwell down to a basement area in the middle of the lawn which I found a bit disconcerting, especially after my (rather older!) children had quaffed a beer or two (see my photo).

The owner, Jose, was very personable; we saw quite a lot of himeas he comes round to collect the rubbish. The only problem we had during our visit (a split shower hose) was rectified on the same day.

Dishwasher, washing machine, TV, wifi were all of good quality and worked well.

A few tips for visitors:
Although local amenities are listed as being very close (within about 1 km), I really wouldn't want to have stayed here without a car; because that distance is up a very steep hill. We walked to a restaurant on our first evening, and although walking home afterwards was fine, we arrived knackered and sweaty for dinner. Also, if you want to visit the beach below the property, if you'd rather not walk down or take the cable car, you can in fact drive your car all the way down (it's not totally clear that this is possible, but it's perfectly OK - it's a single-track road though, so you might have quite a long way to reverse if you meet someone driving the other way!)

There was nothing in the way of a 'welcome pack' at the house, to the extent that there was no salt/pepper/sugar/cooking oil/washing-up liquid/dishwasher powder/dishcloth etc in the kitchen, so take with you what you need, unless you don't mind a big shopping trip on day 1. I'm afraid it's a pet peeve of mine, having to buy huge containers of stuff like this on holiday, only for the 90% that doesn't get used during your stay to get dumped (presumably) before the next guest arrives. Why?

I have to say another irritation was being asked to pay a fairly substantial daily rate in order to use the (bog-standard) safe, which was a new one on me. We declined.

There's a very good barbecue; but the charcoal grate is quite widely spaced, so do make sure you buy large, pre-formed charcoal briquettes rather than rough lumpwood like we did, as most of that will simply fall straight through the grate. Not good!

In summary - an excellent holiday villa, with a few easy tweaks, could easily be a 5-star. Would I go again? Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The 1km steep hill up to shops and restaurants!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrin R
Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfy and Lovely House and warm-hearted owner :-)”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful panoramic views - each room has a balcony ...;-)
Madeira is Like a Big Botanical Carden...Blossom :-)

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaanus E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing place to relax and take a rest”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend this place because the villa was in a perfect location, had everything we would ever need - convenience, beauty and cosiness. Also the view from the windows and the balcony was absolutely mesmerizing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the convenience
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amdorset
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Beautiful villa with stunning views. Very well equiped with owner always available for help or advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: STeep hills for walk to village
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
6
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful holiday we have just had at Vivenda Belo Horizonte. Such a welcome from Jose who has been very helpful from the moment we contacted him to book the villa. Wonderful views over the ocean, easy access to the beach, close to amenities, well equipped house. Everything that we expected from the website and more! Listening to the lapping of the sea as you fall asleep is just so relaxing. Plenty of walking, snorkling, and the pool was warm all the time. An excellent way to celebrate 3 of us being 50!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with teenagers
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent C
Rueil-Malmaison, Ile-de-France, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jviragh
Schalunen
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Google Translation
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Lage, das Haus insgesamt und die Ruhe (kein Touristenquartier)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing