We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dom Pedro Garajau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dom Pedro Garajau
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Canico
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just came back, thank god! We had booked air-conditioning and had sent a personal confirmational email to the hotel prior to arrival. no answer to email requests and the staff on reception were liars. 'We have no air-con in hotel' i was told. they told us to take our cases to a holding area until 2pm, We then carted them to the room from hell... Room 3306. No air-con, no view, dirty, decor & utensils from 1950s. The breakfast was awful, too crowded and poorly presented with no choice or variation ever. The service of staff in hotel bad and downright rude and indifferent. The noise of the chambermaids woke us up at 6am every morning. The advice from the reception was incorrect and useless. The pool bar has no staff or security. Non guests & locals use the pool for free and change & urinate in the pool bar area. Pools are not heated and bins never emptied. No entertainment and the evening buffet is carried in each night from the restaurant oppersite. No information is offered about this lovely island by any staff. YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN.

We made our own holiday even though this hotel made it hard. The restaurants over the road are great and trips to Funchal and with Manuel around the island good fun.

Eventually after my fourth complaint i was granted a meeting with the serving manager who gave us a room in block two..WITH AIR-CONDITIONING !!!!! Not one air-con units but two can you believe it. He apologised for his staff and took notes. I hope he keeps his promises. Free water & fruit but no COMPENSATION for 4 nights in a hot hell hole.

No shuttle bus not even between DOM Pedro hotel next to closest sandy beach. Reception told us to walk 2.5 km over the motorway to catch a bus...USELESS.

Annoyed of London

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    168
    152
    77
    30
See reviews for
109
226
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

we stayed at this nice hotel back in march. Room was simple, but good size and clean- also had a balcony with great views of the garden ( with functioning pool ) and beyond, pretty pink rooftops leading across to ocean and statue of christ,, a local landmark. ( really worth going down hill to here, as great views of cliffs and funchal ). everything worked well other than the fridge freezer which was dripping water from freezer which needed defrosting. well done to hotel for replacing this promptly though ( ask for rooms with kitchenette as real advantage )Breakfast continental with fresh ingredients; freshly baked bread, cheese slices, tomatoes, cucumber, preserves yoghurt and fruit.. Hotel restauarant not open for dinner when we were there. Also efficient coffee machine- what more could you want for extra 3 euros each?!( on hotel website) staff hard working ( noticed lots of cleaning going on ) and friendly. Useful ( free )computer terminal for internet at reception desk. Park just round corner down hill (towards sea ) for free parking.- extra 2 min walk. Dogs seemed to be having a major squabble somewhere on first night with each other! not heard rest of week. didn' t use restaurants opposite as went into canico for excellent restaurant "central "( among others on TA in canico town )near church. A brisk 20 minute walk in each direction ( down hill again and round)from garajau otherwise bus. All in all,while hotel may not be a destination ( for pampering ) in itself, it ticks all right boxes otherwise and cannot be beaten for value for money. STAY HERE!

Room Tip: 2nd floor room. garden view ( facing sea )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel March 2013. It wasn't my first choice but it came recommended by the travel agent. My room was cleaned every day but was a little dated as was most of the hotel. My room overlooked the roof which was partially re-felted during my stay. Oh the sweet smell of tar...
The breakfast lacked imagination. There was no entertainment not even any background music during the whole of my stay. The large outdoor pool didn't have any water in it! The only bar open never had any change and the staff were clearly unhappy in their work. The location of the hotel was fine so I went out most days using the local transport. Overall, I can only think that this hotel just wasn't ready for guests?

Room Tip: I had a corner room which had a nice large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dippydraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canico hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We knew when we booked this hotel that it was only a three star hotel, so we didn't expect a great deal. As long as it was clean and comfortable we were happy. It fulfilled all that, and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts there. One of your reviewers said it was very basic - heaven help her if she ever has continental breakfast in Britain - toast or croissant and jam if you are lucky! Teas, coffee, chocolate, orange juice, passion fruit juice, 2 types of cereals, toasting bread, white and brown fresh-baked crusty bread, butter, jams, honey, yoghurts, ham, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, onion - what did she expect - a full fry-up? We loved it.
The swimming pools were great, and the bar open when you wanted it. The bars and restaurants and shops opposite the hotel were fantastic, and the one directly opposite reception was the best - food, price and service superb. Try the 'espetada' - a skewer of grilled chunks of steak, hung on a wrought-iron stand and dripping with garlic butter!
We did have a very serious problem the second week, as I broke my leg visiting Porto Moniz.
I had to struggle with crutches up and down steps, as no part of the hotel was accessible without climbing steps, and the dining room was two flights down from our room - no lifts.
However, I managed, as I had to. I just wouldn't recommend Madeira in general, and Dom Pedro in particular, if you have any sort of mobility problems. (healthcare brilliant, though!)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and preferably block 2. We had a view of the pool, the sea, and the statue of Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Just returned from a 1 week vacation in this amazing island.
The hotel is a great value for money:
clean, brigth and nice room with a wonderful sea view and TV , with daily cleaning and changing of towels on request.
2 gardens with fantastic flowers, sea view and 1 outdoor pool each.
Nice indoor pool with sea view as well, near the reception, with free wi-fi.
Good bar and very helpful and friendly staff ( they also gave us 1 glass per person, of "Madeira" wine for free !!! )
Not to mention the great position of DPG: bus stop to/from Funchal ( € 2,15 each way ) and Canico in front of the reception.
Shops, restaurants, minimarket and bakery "Flor do Garajau" ( absolutely not to miss !!!) just a few steps away.
"Ponta do Garajau" with the famous "Cristo Rei" statue only a few minutes from the hotel, as well as the lovely vulcanic beach.
We really liked it and if we'll back to Madeira we will surely stay again at DPG.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ZAMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Large hotel built 1985 and could do with a complete refurb but well maintained and decorated. We found no problems with noise or anything else and would recommend it for a value holiday. We had a superb view and a good satellite TV. Plenty of bars over the road but unusually the lightly used hotel bar was the cheapest and contrary to previous reviews you only have to ask the receptionist to summon the bartender if absent. Very keen traffic wardens are proliferating in Madeira but you can park easily off the main road either up or down the hill. You dont need a car here however as very frequent buses to Funchal. Breakfast is basic but I've had worse.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 881DAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked this hotel via a travel agency and based on their comments and pictures we had good hopes on the hotel. We however, after booking read on this forum that there where a few remarkable negative comments.

I can confirm many of them.

The hotel was build in 1985 and since then the management has clearly forgotten to reinvest in the building. The hotel consist out of 5 blocks which are build next to each other. You have to get yourself outside to be able to walk from one building to the other.

The hotel is noisy as hell. You should not get here without earplugs. If your neighbor flushes his/her toilet, it sounds like it is next to your bed.
The bathroom is spacious but in the afternoon a penetrating smell from the sewers is acting up. No fun to have this in your room.

The breakfast is basic. Like REALLY basic. 3 sorts of jam. Some salty and non salty butter. Bread, cheese and ham. Except for 2 juices, coffee from a machine I have now basically described it. Ow.. I forgot the apples, oranges and bananas. That's it.
Every day, this is exactly the same.

The swimming pool is since January in maintenance. We went on a trip in the first week of April and it was still not repaired. The hotel however has an indoor swimming pool. The bar however is seldom open and can not even serve a basic cocktail.

The hotel has no private parking. Parking is easily done in front of the hotel but is payable.
Mind that from 08h till 18h you have to pay. 0,40 euro cent / hour. In addition, there is this parking guy from the government who will fine you immediately if you did not pay.

The hotel has no restaurant. You can buy a 15 euro voucher to get a 3 course meal across the street. This is a very decent place to go but also check out other restaurants in the surroundings. Food in non-touristic places is rather cheap in Madeira.

The people working at the hotel make the best out of it. I can honestly say that (except for the smell), our room was perfectly clean and the shower was in a good condition.

If you are, just like us up for renting bikes in Madeira, check out Lokoloko. (Just google it).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SofieVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
7.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#26 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Pedro Garajau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Pedro Garajau

Property: Dom Pedro Garajau
Address: Estrada do Garajau 131, Canico, Madeira 9125-067, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Pedro Garajau 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Pedro Garajau is a 3-star hotel-apartment with 272 rooms and Suites set on the south coast of Madeira Island. Garajau is famous its Natural Reserve made to protect a very privileged area of Madeira's coast, in an effort to make it work as an ecological nursery. This is the only exclusive marine reserve in the entire Portugal and It is a location for snorkeling and scuba-diving.Facilities are included such as an Indoor heated pool with sliding roof, apart from two outdoor pools and Children's Pool and also a sports court. Dom Pedro Garajau is setting half way between Funchal and Canico ideal to visit the island. All of this makes it the perfect base for exploring the island or enjoying an action-packed holiday. Dine Around and stay at Dom Pedro Garajau. The "Dine Around" system is a different option that allows food lovers to pick restaurants outside the hotel. Through a voucher system, half-board guests staying at the Dom Pedro Garajau can now choose from a variety of restaurants near the hotel. Without doubt, this factor will set us apart from the traditional Half-board system, allowing our clients to change restaurants daily and experience different types of cuisine. Madeira International Airport is only 11km (6.8 miles) from the hotel (10 minutes drive), and only 8 km (4.9 miles) from the main city, Funchal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dom Pedro Garajau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pedro Garajau Canico
Hotel Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira
Dom Pedro Garajau Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing