We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Galosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galosol
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We chose this hotel for the fact that it was outside Funchal and we were not disappointed. The bus ride into Funchal is an adventure in itself and the staff on reception were always there to help with any queries. The room was a lovely size and suited us well. There were a few eating places outside the hotel complex and we especially enjoyed Fados, its a bit of a hike uphill(like everything in Madeira) but well worth the climb. its off the main road where the bus goes along, but beware the advertising board on the main road does this little place no favours, the food is really lovely, fresh and traditionally Portuguese. Breakfast was a nice relaxed atmosphere, offering everything that you could possibly want. Daniel, one of the waiters was especially cheerful and helpful so seek him out and let him know you're not German. One down side, and I was aware of this before I booked, but there were NO other English there and nothing on the events board was in English. The pamphlets giving the weekly schedule were issued in English, but we had to do most of our digging for things to see outside,on the internet. The spa was a nice element on the slightly cooler days but we werent quite sure of the 'dress code or non dress code' in the sauna. However we had a lovely time and the hotel was ideal for our holiday.

Room Tip: We had a side room and maybe it would have been nicer to have a sea facing room that saw the sun com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, General Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Madeira Island. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Galo Resort in the future.

Best Regards

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very confortable and big rooms, hotel with a lot of facilities and services, nice breakfast. We appreciate the environment policy, a green hotel. The pillow menu is also a different and positive detail. I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertoAndreAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, General Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Galosol and for giving us feedback about it on tripadvisor.

We are also pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back on a near future to our hotel.

Warm regards

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Weather too cool & windy for the outside pool & sea so the inside pool & wellness centre was really useful. The sports facillites too were well used by active teenagers. Note the gym can only be used if over 16.you also need your own towels or hire them for your stay. It seems like a private club for use of guests but it can get busy with locals so its best to book in advance for courts. The hotel is convenient for local bus to Funchal, Spar and some very good local restaurants.You can also walk up to Canico town with more restaurants and shops(bout 30mins uphill but fab views).
The breakfasts were very varied and plenty. They also catered well for special dietary requirements(gluten Free). Special bread was provided each morning without having to ask after making ourselves known on the first day.
We hired a car from reception which was hastle free.
the hotel has mainly german guests which we didn't find a problem.
the staff are very helpful and all speak English well including the chambermaid.
It suited our needs. I would stay again and recommend it. Close to airport and Funchal not far if you want a visit.

Room Tip: even garden rooms have partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmhurst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave your thoughts regarding your recent holiday on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your support and are glad that you found our staff helpulf and an efficient service is what we strive for.

It is great to hear that you like our breakfast, we work to satisfy our guest.

We entirely agree with your comments regarding our location
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Your sincerely

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Galasol at the end of February, this hotel is great for anyone hoping for a really chilled winter break, we arrived in the evening temperature was 19c after leaving minus 1c in Gatwiick, the lady at reception was really pleasant and so helpful, the room with stunning sea views was lovely with nice furniture, as everyone else seems to mention breakfast was above expectation, we did also have the evening buffet which was lovely even if a little expensive",
We did feel a little out of place as it seems we were the only English there and it is nice to be able to talk to people, the other minus point was the lack of evening entertainment, but we would still recommend this to anyone who would like a chilled holiday

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Manager at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your recent “lovely” holiday experience at Galosol Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I'm a former Travel Industry Professional, so this review will be objective and balanced. This was our first visit to Madeira and we'd booked to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. First pleasant surprise, free upgrade on arrival from 3 star accommodation to 4 star. We we're originally booked into the 3 star Galomar (sister) Hotel. As this was undergoing some refurbishment we we're upgraded to the 4 star Galosol, however you wouldn't have thought there were workmen on sight they were that quite and discreet. Room: First Impressions. Spacious, Clean, Well aired, and well equipped. The large walk-in monsoon shower in the ensuite was a plus. Mini-bar, digital safe, TV, Balcony. Lamps by the bed and gooseneck LED reading lamps as well. Pleanty of wardrobe space. Cases able to be stowed safely. Full Info file. Telephone. Drinkable water. Ok there are some extra charges for things like the safe & minibar, but these are minor. Use of the safe for the week 10.50 euros. Mini bar prices can be a bit steep, but there is a Spar in Canico just 100 yards down from the hotel. This resort complex is owned by a German family, and yes the guests are predominantly German, Austrian, Swiss & Dutch. But we didn't see this as a negative. The German attention to detail is very much in evidence. The hotel is fastidiously clean, well maintained, and the attention to customer service is exemplorary. Being predominantly European in outlook expect such culture to be prevalent in the sauna. Which by the way has excellent facilities, with Steam Room, Bio Sauna, Finnish Sauna and several cold shower options: bucket shower, Waterfall shower, monsoon shower and cold sitz bath amongst these. There are rest couches and a separate rest room as well.
Choice of restaurants and bars is good With a pub serving amongst otherthings cocktails & mocktails, local specialities, food & ice-cream sundaes to die for. A poolside bar doing amazing cakes, a trattoria syle pizzaria, A fine dining fish restaurant and the main restaurant which is also the breakfast room. and if you tire of these there are others close by in Canico & Funchal etc. The food is excellent, Try the Espada and Banana at the Atlantic Restaurant. We'd decided to book bed and breakfast, so as not to be tied to hotel dining times. Breakfast, is excellent and is very varied serving everything from continental to full english, including Madeiran and using produce from the hotel's own gardens. The staff are very friendly and English is widely spoken. All staff have flags showing the languages they speak on their name badges. And nothing is too much trouble. There are 3 pools an outdoor pool on the terrace, a salt water lido near the sea and an Indoor pool in the on-site leisure centre. The leisure centre with Gym, Squash Courts, Spinning Classes, Aerobics Studio, Indoor Pool & Jaccuzi, Sauna and Full Wellness Spa is also used by local Madeirans. This can make it a bit busy in the evenings and on a Saturday morning, but there's still plenty of time for Hotel Guests to have priority. The choice of treatments at the spa is extensive and the therapists are all fully qualified. There is a full programme of entertainments: even in low season, and other activities are arranged by the hotel as well. My wife took advantage of a jewelry making class one afternoon. Links to the rest of the island are good. Taxis are plentiful. And the half hourly bus to Funchal goes from a stop just 100 yards from the hotel. Fare each way is 2.15 euros per person. There we're a couple of quirks and niggles which may not be to everyones liking. The bed is two singles pushed together each with a single duvet. The TV is predominantly German. The only English channel was Sky News. However Portuguese TV screens U.S. shows like CSI in English subtitled into Portuguese. And Spongebob Square Pants in German is probably funnier than the English version. Staff do tend to assume that you speak German until you reply in English, and after that they speak English to you whenever they see you. Being a former travel industry professional I have seen many hotels, some good, some not so. The Galosol is one that I would certainly recommend. And will definitely try to book again.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FreedAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you both very much for such a thorough review, we really appreciate each and every one and are certain that prospective guests will find it very useful.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that you made full use of our facilities and thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast and facilities, despite our TV selection did not come up to your expectations. This a subject that we will improve soon.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

There were no negatives here. Brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. What more could you want, If you dont want to hire a car let the local buses take the strain. There is a bus stop about 100 yds from Hotel. The trip into Funchal is an adventure in itself and well worth the 2 euro 25 cents. A beautiful place and lovely people.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crookedannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Proprietário at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted that you booked the Galo Resort for your recent holiday in Madeira and even happier that it lived up to your expectations! Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Raquel Estreito
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We booked and paid for this trip before arriving at the hotel, when we arrived all was fine with no queries, then 3 days later they said there was a problem and we had to pay more, we offered to leave but they said we would lose all our money. They gave us an amount which we had no choice about, when leaving the hotel they then tried to charge us more than twice as much, we complained and the bill was immediately reduced by 200 euros - with NO explanation! Still had to pay half as much again as original cost, but they just put this down to booking error, even though nothing was mentioned when we arrived, we were given no choice and no explanation, this was at the end of our stay and we had to leave for the airport. After a written complaint to the manager he replied saying it was fair, but still no explanation, particularly about the 200 extra euros!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Galosol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest.
We regret that your experience at Hotel Galosol was not a better one and we thank you for your feedback which always allows us to improve our services.
Concerning your remarks:
Your booking was in our system (via booking.com) as a single person stay. Upon your arrival we notice that in fact were two people staying, so we spoke to you and explained that there are different prices for a "single stay" and a "double stay". When a situation like this occurs the most suitable alternative is to contact the “booking source” asking details about the reservation, and upon our contact it was confirmed to us that indeed it was a single room reservation and that it could not have been any mistake about it. So we spoke to you, explained the facts and also gave you a special price for the difference (assuming that if your original booking was correct you would have paid this amount and not a higher one).
At your check-out we gave you two documents: one concerning the value that you already paid via the booking source (and please note that this document was settled) and a second document for the remaining amount you had to pay. And again this was explained to you.
Our main main purpose is to always meet and exceed our guests´ expectations. We explained you the facts, we contacted the booking site, our staff and I personally spoke to you, and as you said, even our CEO gave you an answer by email explaining once more this situation.
We would of course be very happy to welcome you back and hope that we would be able to fulfil your expectations on a next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Raquel Estreito (General Manager Galo Resort Hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.6 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
238 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,007 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galosol

Address: Rua Dom Francisco Santana | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-031, Portugal (Formerly Galo Resort Ondamar)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#3 Family Hotel in Canico
#3 Spa Hotel in Canico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range: £39 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galosol 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel complex offers many corners of refuge, where guests may rest without being disturbed. Situated directly on the coast, it offers an extraordinary view over the sea. All the 123 rooms and suites have sea views and among the many facilities available at the hotel are 3 restaurants, 2 bars and a children's playground. This eco-spa hotel is a family friendly establishment with a 24h reception and was renovated in 2012. It offers most of the Resort's facilities, such as Onda Revital Sport & Fitness Club, (with daily class: power jump, Zumba, Step, GRIT, body balance,body combat, spinning, yoga) Onda Revital Lounge SPA, is our Spa which offers a range of beauty and health treatments and massages and ayurveda treatments. To complete the offer the hotel has a large swimming complex which lies within the underwater Nature Reserve, with easy sea access and were you can find the prize winner "Manta Diving Center" and Mountain Bike station and outdoor shop is only a few steps away."Dine around" is possible in 3 of our restaurant for guest Half board,Weekly entertainment programme (live music, folklore, presentations) WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Hotel Galosol provides a small Portable WiFi Router upon request, ideal for Internet access anywhere on the Island. Offers free wi fi at all rooms and free parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Canico
Hotel Galosol Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing