We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Nearby Hotels
Royal Orchid(Canico)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roca Mar(Canico)
US$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,688)
Filter reviews
1,688 results
Traveller rating
1,104
474
90
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
474
90
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident bandshort promenadetable numberflat roofevening entertainmentpool arealovely hotelsea viewfree bus to funchalrelaxing holidaycourtesy buscable carall inclusive optionthomson replobby barbranded drinksplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
941 - 946 of 1,688 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

agree with previous comments on Hotel Riu Palace , staff very friendly and helpful especially reception , rooms cleaned to a high standard, no queues for evening meal as table allocated for duration of stay but we asked for a table by window and were found one the next evening. we opted for half board as we like to explore the surrounding area and are out most days but if you want to sun bathe , swim etc. then the all inclusive option would suit . Our room was large , spacious and nicely furnished , bathroom large , good hairdryer lashings of hot water and plenty of towels.(one placed on bed most days in shape of swan , heart or flower, nice little touches.) Our balcony was a side sea view and caught the afternoon sun, it was room1321 and I can recommend it. The hotel bus into Funchel is good though the city itself is manic due to road improvements but lovely parks, squares and shops, cable car to Monte good value not to be missed. Weather for first week very good , second week very changeable . Only downsides were queues at resort airport and scary take off .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our second visit to the Riu Palace and timed to coincide with my birthday and our first wedding anniversary. On arrival we were given a room facing the car park, even though we had asked Thompsons to ask for a room with a pool view. This was after we had had a bad experience with our last Thompsons holiday and they promised us they would try their best to arrange for a pool view room. Surprise, surprise, we were told by reception that Thompsons had not mentioned the pool view to them. However, the reception staff still went out of their way to accommodate us in another room. WELL DONE Riu Palace....POOR JOB Thompsons. Since our first visit, the hotel has become available on an all inclusive basis and it must be said that the quality of the food has deteriorated somewhat. There was still plenty of choice but not to the same quality. The hotel remains beautifully clean and the staff are second to none. As with our first visit, the evening entertainment was poor.......I think it was the same shows as two years ago.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiger1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed, all inclusive, at the Riu Palace from the 4th-11th November 2013. From the start we were impressed by the staff. We recieved a warm welcome and were well looked after for the duration of our stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly Riu staff.

As a vegetarian eating abroad can be difficult but the staff were helpful and were always happy to check ingredients or suggest alternatives. There is a restaurant at the hotel which caters for meat eaters only but the staff were only too happy to arrange seperate options so that I and my other half could eat there together. If you eat on the terrace at lunch time keep an eye out for Pedro, he's chatty and attentive and there is no chance of your glass ever running dry!

The Housekeeping staff also deserve a special mention as the hotel was spotless.

During our stay the majority of guests were aged 50+ (may have been the time of year) and if you're looking for a busy and varied nightlife this probably isn't the hotel for you. It isn't within walking distance of the main town Funchal and the courtesy buses stop mid afternoon. The entertainment that the hotel provides is limited and after you've seen a couple of shows it can feel repetitive.

That being said we were looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday and if that is what you are after plus the added bonus of exceptionally high levels of cleanliness and amazingly friendly staff then we can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCSS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to a Riu hotel - and we can thoroughly recommend it. We travelled with Thomson, all-inclusive, but there were many half-board guests. The Riu Palace is right on the sea-front with only a promenade between the grounds and the sea. There are gardens and 2 pools - with plenty of sun-loungers. Our room, and all the public areas are very well cared for, and staff, without exception, we found to be helpful and efficient - an especial mention of our waiter, Edgar, who was friendly and attentive. All speak Portuguese, English and German, and several other languages too. All meals, which can be taken inside in the the restaurant, or outside on the terrace, are buffets - but the restaurant, with its smart chairs and white tablecloths, does not feel like a cafeteria - which we have found to be the case in some hotels. There is an excellent choice of hot and cold food, and a good choice of drinks (a few incur an extra charge). The courtesy bus runs several times a day into Funchal - definitely worth a visit. We have no hesitation in recommending the Riu Palace to anyone wanting a quiet holiday on a lovely island - we plan to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors will not be overlooked from the terrace
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retired-ppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and definitely won't be our last.
The hotel was excellent in all respects and the all inclusive option was definitely worth it.
The staff could not do enough for you and spoke several languages fluently.
This will not be the last time we visit Madeira or the Riu.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews