We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW YEAR 2013/14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NEW YEAR 2013/14”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The staff in all areas are exceptional and the facilities are first class. Our only disappointment was the lack of anywhere to go outside of the hotel, even for a short walk. To stay here you must have a car. The clientele at the time of our visit were mostly retired which I suppose matched the on-site entertainment which was a little stayed for our liking. Well worth a visit if you want to stay in the hotel and be pampered to extremes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    404
    75
    8
    6
See reviews for
181
993
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Palace hotel over Christmas 2012 and we had a most wonderful holiday. I think this hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The room was great - a good size, clean, comfortable and with a view of the sea. The buffet style dining was excellent, both for the quality of the food and the very wide selection on offer. We had half board and couldn't fault either breakfast or dinner. The pool area is superb with beautiful views over the ocean. Madeira is a beautiful island and we certainly plan to return some day soon and when we do, we will stay at the Riu Palace if we are able to. It really is that good!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas 2013 and couldn't find fault with the hotel, staff or services. We went with Thomson on an all-inclusive package deal (our first) and were very pleased with the range quality of food and drink that was included - there were many branded drinks and cocktails which were included.
The food was always buffet style and you are given a sitting (6pm or 8pm) and table number for the evening meal but can sit where you like and go when you like within the timeframes for breakfast and lunch. We were impressed with the evening meal selection and if you are on the later sitting, all the food is changed and fresh (in line with food not being left out for over 2 hours rules we assumed) so there is no difference in availability or quality.
The hotel is in a quiet area approx. 20 minutes by bus (depending on the driver!!) from Funchal, although that is the free hotel shuttle bus as we didn't use the local service for which there is a stop at the top of the hotel drive.
We didn't see the maid but the room was always clean when we returned after our activities for the day and we were never disturbed when we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door.
One thing which is a major plus in my book is that you can sleep and go out leaving the balcony door open a little and secure! There were lockable poisitions allowing the fresh air and sound of the sea in without compromising on security (not that we felt this was an issue, but we always play it safe when we are away). There is also air conditioning (which we didn't need given the secure door openability) and also a ceiling fan.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and prepared to have a chat with you (within reason, they do have a job to do after all).
In short, we had a great holiday and couldn't fault the hotel, the airport or the island of Madeira.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
413 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The previous reviews don't lie - this is a lovely hotel if a bit isolated and very, very hilly, so I'm glad we hired a car.

On that note, to those hiring a car, avoid Goldcar like the plague, as they give you a hard sell at the airport and become aggressive if you refuse to buy their own excess insurance cover costing 109 euro for a week. I'd bought excess cover in the UK for £13, but the saleswoman laughed at it and made me out to be a fool for not buying it from her. They also deduct 1200 euro from your credit card in case the car gets damaged, and charged 94 euro for a tank of diesel costing less than 60 euro. If you want to check out how bad they are, google "Goldcar Reviews"

The room was large with twin beds and if you don't like a hard mattress, ask for a topper at reception. The tv gets around a dozen English channels including BBC1 & 2, but not ITV or C4.

Sadly, they charge for internet if the one free hour a day isn't sufficient - 20 euro for 7 days, so it could be worse, and it worked fine in the bedroom.

The room lacks a kettle and although we paid for a full sea view, it was partly obstructed by a long flat roof, and our balcony got very little sun as the hotel wings on either side blocked it. There is a free safe in the wardrobe for storing your valuables.

Food was very good for buffet all inclusive and the range of AI drinks is extensive.

Staff are amongst the best we've encountered, always polite and friendly.

Entertainment is ok - we liked the house band, but we aren't fans of the parrot show or Latin dancers. It doesn't really cater for kids, so if you need kids clubs/playgrounds/activities etc, take your kids somewhere else as they'll be bored stiff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked for two weeks over Christmas but had to cut the holiday short after one week – nothing to do with the hotel. Overall we were very impressed. The hotel has just started to offer an AI option and so far the level of service does not appear to have deteriorated as is so often the case. Indeed, the service in the restaurant was the best I have ever experienced in an AI hotel - our waiter Johnnie was the consummate professional. Yes, the hotel does appeal to the older age group and that was a real blessing – people actually dressing for dinner/no screeching out of control children etc. There is a good selection of branded drinks as part of the AI package (Gordons/Johnny Walker etc) and these are provided by a group of very efficient waiters – no queuing up as is the norm in 4* hotels. The food was technically correct and varied if perhaps lacking the ‘wow’ factor. The heating in the rooms appears to need attention. There wasn’t any – given that the weather turned rather cool this would have been useful, especially in the evening. The rooms are of a good standard and carpeted so no problems with clip clopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristol-City-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Have taken my parents- in -law to Madeira for their 50th wedding anniversary to a hotel which caters to all generations. To try and appeal to a younger crowd it offers all inclusive for drinks now, and this works very well as 95% of the drinks menu is covered by this. The waiter service is excellent and service is professionally provided with a smile. staff here are excellent and very attentive. English is well spoken throughout the hotel. The food is primarily buffet service with drinks and water brought for you to the table. There is a huge variety of food choices from cold entrees, soups, hot entrees and main courses. Plenty of salads, fruit and cheese as well. Rooms are well maintained and spacious and the sea views are good. Particularly like the show lounge (very like a cruise ship) and also there are plenty of quiet areas to hole yourself up and read a book or kindle. As we are staying over Xmas , there are lots of organised activities and evening entertainment . The live band is excellent . You can use wi-fi free for 1 hour a day or pay 20 Euros for a week for a device. Took the plunge and bought 1 week each for my two lads ( anything to kept the peace). Hotel is located 25 minutes by car from Funchal. Hotel provides a daily courtesy coach, need to book both legs of journey plus time with reception night before- it's free, and is an excellent touch! Overall a great venue and one which I would strongly consider coming back too, and use the Riu chain again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank U411483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We arrived home yesterday with a degree of sadness to leave this wonderful place.
It's a large hotel which which was a little concerning before we arrived but management seems to have a winning formula. Somehow the staff are motivated to be extremely efficient whilst treating all visitors as special and unique.The hotel itself is in a beautiful location right next to the sea and has just about every amenity you could wish for. There are two large outdoor pools and one fair sized indoor one. Sauna, gym, hairdresser, shop and reasonable entertainment.Rooms are a good size and everything is pristine. We were on All Inclusive and the food was more than plentiful and of a wide variety.
The downside of this hotel, as has been said before, is its isolation although the courtesy bus is efficient. It's also difficult to get anywhere without climbing a hill and could be hard for those with mobility problems. But this applies to Madeira as a whole - a very hilly island.
All in all an excellent two weeks and we shall return.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a side sea-view. Great to sit on the balcony and watch the waves roll in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jannyannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Madiera, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing