We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Hotels come up trumps again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was the third Riu hotel I've stayed in and, although all 3 have been terrific, the Madeira one was the best. Spacious room and large balcony with 2 chairs and a table. I only have 2 'negatives' to point out, but neither are serious problems and didn't stop me having a fantastic holiday.
1. No tea and coffee facilities in room. This seems common to all Riu hotels though. I knew this in advance and took my own travel kettle. However, there are no handy electric sockets in the room and to use the kettle did involve shifting furniture around.
2. There are no lights on the balconies. If, like me, you enjoy reading on the balcony before bed, take one of those clip-on reading lights that you can usually find in Pound shops.

Food and drink choices were fantastic, but drinks would work out expensive if you don't take the all inclusive option. A gin and tonic, for instance, would cost EUR7.10. If you do take the AI option, virtually all the drinks and cocktails on the bar menu are included, excepting a few.
E.g.
Gordon's gin is AI, but Beefeater isn't. Jim Bean bourbon is, but Jack Daniels isn't.
They do excellent Irish coffees as part of the AI too.
Go there. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grahambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just back and what a hotel rooms massive and hotel is very high standards in cleaning l have stayed in a lot of the Riu hotels and this is top class the staff are amazing and can't do enough and always have a smile from reception to bar to restaurants a big mention to Pedro Bruce wills lookalike he made our holiday he was so attentive and always so professional he will be a manager one day we met some amazing people lovely Germans and had great fun thanks Paul and Gerry and Jeff and sherry and the Rio dir and his friend it was a lovely way to spend my birthday also we went to the village of canicio and to the central restraunt the reception books it for you a cab picks you up and brings you home what a treat we had chateau briand fillet steak the best l have ever tasted and a great night alinclusive was fantastic with all branded drinks cocktails were great and lunch and dinner show cooking always fish sea bass hake prawns lots of sea food beef pork chicken so much of a choice and always fresh trays l can't fault anything a courtesy bus to take you to funchal the driver was a great guy a great big thanks to the assistant manager she is so hands on and does her job so well we will be back

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alicemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

In general a positive experience, everything was satisfactory but nothing outstanding. The reception staff were friendly especially Teresa, but others were just ok. The room was clean with a nice view which we had with our loyalty card. The food was good quality but again nothing that said "wow!"and the waiters were ok but didn't go out of their way for us. Having stayed at many Caribbean Riu hotels this scored 4 out of 5 because it was not as clean as many and the staff were not as friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The staff in all areas are exceptional and the facilities are first class. Our only disappointment was the lack of anywhere to go outside of the hotel, even for a short walk. To stay here you must have a car. The clientele at the time of our visit were mostly retired which I suppose matched the on-site entertainment which was a little stayed for our liking. Well worth a visit if you want to stay in the hotel and be pampered to extremes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Palace hotel over Christmas 2012 and we had a most wonderful holiday. I think this hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The room was great - a good size, clean, comfortable and with a view of the sea. The buffet style dining was excellent, both for the quality of the food and the very wide selection on offer. We had half board and couldn't fault either breakfast or dinner. The pool area is superb with beautiful views over the ocean. Madeira is a beautiful island and we certainly plan to return some day soon and when we do, we will stay at the Riu Palace if we are able to. It really is that good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas 2013 and couldn't find fault with the hotel, staff or services. We went with Thomson on an all-inclusive package deal (our first) and were very pleased with the range quality of food and drink that was included - there were many branded drinks and cocktails which were included.
The food was always buffet style and you are given a sitting (6pm or 8pm) and table number for the evening meal but can sit where you like and go when you like within the timeframes for breakfast and lunch. We were impressed with the evening meal selection and if you are on the later sitting, all the food is changed and fresh (in line with food not being left out for over 2 hours rules we assumed) so there is no difference in availability or quality.
The hotel is in a quiet area approx. 20 minutes by bus (depending on the driver!!) from Funchal, although that is the free hotel shuttle bus as we didn't use the local service for which there is a stop at the top of the hotel drive.
We didn't see the maid but the room was always clean when we returned after our activities for the day and we were never disturbed when we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door.
One thing which is a major plus in my book is that you can sleep and go out leaving the balcony door open a little and secure! There were lockable poisitions allowing the fresh air and sound of the sea in without compromising on security (not that we felt this was an issue, but we always play it safe when we are away). There is also air conditioning (which we didn't need given the secure door openability) and also a ceiling fan.
All the staff were excellent, very friendly and prepared to have a chat with you (within reason, they do have a job to do after all).
In short, we had a great holiday and couldn't fault the hotel, the airport or the island of Madeira.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The previous reviews don't lie - this is a lovely hotel if a bit isolated and very, very hilly, so I'm glad we hired a car.

On that note, to those hiring a car, avoid Goldcar like the plague, as they give you a hard sell at the airport and become aggressive if you refuse to buy their own excess insurance cover costing 109 euro for a week. I'd bought excess cover in the UK for £13, but the saleswoman laughed at it and made me out to be a fool for not buying it from her. They also deduct 1200 euro from your credit card in case the car gets damaged, and charged 94 euro for a tank of diesel costing less than 60 euro. If you want to check out how bad they are, google "Goldcar Reviews"

The room was large with twin beds and if you don't like a hard mattress, ask for a topper at reception. The tv gets around a dozen English channels including BBC1 & 2, but not ITV or C4.

Sadly, they charge for internet if the one free hour a day isn't sufficient - 20 euro for 7 days, so it could be worse, and it worked fine in the bedroom.

The room lacks a kettle and although we paid for a full sea view, it was partly obstructed by a long flat roof, and our balcony got very little sun as the hotel wings on either side blocked it. There is a free safe in the wardrobe for storing your valuables.

Food was very good for buffet all inclusive and the range of AI drinks is extensive.

Staff are amongst the best we've encountered, always polite and friendly.

Entertainment is ok - we liked the house band, but we aren't fans of the parrot show or Latin dancers. It doesn't really cater for kids, so if you need kids clubs/playgrounds/activities etc, take your kids somewhere else as they'll be bored stiff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 88 in Funchal
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
Price Range: £101 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing