We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing quiet location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Not much to do in the area need to catch the free shuttle bus to Funchal. Staff and food excellent. Evening entertainment poor.
Not a hotel suitable for children as nothing for them.
Pools and fitness centre/sauna/massage on site excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    385
    74
    8
    6
See reviews for
176
944
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four with two boys 15 and 12.
A wonderful hotel with very attentive staff that are on hand to make your stay as pleasurable as possible,Excellent food and service all round.
The pool staff are ready and waiting to supply you with sunbed cushions however the weather was fairly overcast for our week.
The free bus to Funchal is a great touch with great value and service in Funchal town,we preferred the old town area which is where the bus transfer is located.
Locally we tried Lee Hamilton's steak restaurant which was a short stroll away and has fantastic views,very classy and great value.
Overall a great relaxing break .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sky1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

On Monday 31st August our Thomson plane back to Glasgow was cancelled due to adverse weather. Thomson did an excellent job in arranging alternative accommodation for an overnight stay. The passengers on the Glasgow flight were taken to the Rui Palace, where our rooms were efficiently allocated. My room was large, very clean and had a very comfy bed. It also had a good, powerful shower.We were given dinner, which looked and tasted delicious and the house wine was good.the show cooking was excellent. Breakfast had the same huge choice, with tea/ coffee served in pots. Lunch, again with wine also had a huge choice and was also delicious. Thanks to both Thomson and the Rui Palace for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Calderglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a week's stay (well almost a week, pilot couldn't land at airport due to adverse weather so we were flown to Tenerife to stay overnight) so in effect by the time we did arrive at our hotel in Madeira we had lost 2 days from our holiday. Despite this unfortunate start to our holiday which Thomson handled with military precision we had a really enjoyable stay.
We were greeted by very enthusiastic staff who promptly allocated our rooms and luggage was taken by the porter. We were given room 4136 which was perfectly adequate but the view was poor to say the least so I went to reception to see of they had a room available with a better out look, I was offered room 1414 which was perfect with a wonderful sea view.
The food was of really good quality with plenty of choice to suit all tastes, and the Waiter/Waitress service was polite, and friendly. The pool area was never crowded and the pool attendant was very efficient in supplying the cushions for the sun beds.We didn't take advantage of the evening entertainment however I do believe there was something provided each evening, however we met so many nice people we spent our evenings chatting with new found friends. The weather was mostly warm so sun bathing was usually the order of the day but there is a free bus the hotel provides which takes you into Funchal if you want to explore.
All in all great Hotel would definitely return, and credit where credit's due Thomson Holidays did a dam good job in very difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel in October, 2013. It was excellent then, and my latest visit was 24th March,2014 to 31st March, 2014. Again it fulfilled every aspect of what would be expected at a Riu Palace Hotel. It was kept spotlessly clean both in the rooms and the public areas. The staff were once again very proficient and friendly without exception. Every member of the Management and Staff were a credit to the Hotel chain and it was a very pleasant experience when some staff members remembered me from my last visit. The restaurant continued to provide excellent food and service. I have stayed in many Riu Hotels in the past and I can honestly say that the staff in this Hotel are probably the best I have had the pleasure of being looked after by. This is definitely a Hotel I can highly recommend and it offers an all inclusive option which is great value for money. Well done everyone at the Riu Palace Madeira and I will definitely be returning in the future to partake in the wonderful hospitality that the Hotel provides. I also convey my special thanks to my restaurant waitress, Theresa, and the ladies at Reception who excelled in their duties.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with on a high floor with sea view or side sea view facing south west as the sun i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Wonderful friendly hotel. Nothing too much trouble for the staff who are very at tentative and helpful. Quality of hotel is high which includes cleanliness, standard of food and entertainment.
You will have a great holiday if you base yourself here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoventryWellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Riu lived up to all expectations: good food, a comfortable room, friendly staff and all very clean and tidy throughout. If you want to get into Funchal take the free bus or do as we did and hire a car to explore further afield. Altogether a great holiday and wish to come back a walk more Levadas!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank BigglesWhitmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.6 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing