We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a calm and relaxing holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We just came back from our one week trip to Madeira where we stayed in the Riu Palace Hotel. After a spectacular landing, we drove straight away to our hotel where we were warmly welcomed with a glass of traditional Madeira wine (similar to Porto wine.. maybe a bit sweeter). After the usual formalities we went to our room and there was nothing negative to say about it: it was quite spacious, very clean and the seaside view we had was just picturesque.
The staff is very helpful and absolutely client oriented (they called us after 5 min we arrived in our room in order to ask if everything is to our satisfaction) and the majority of them speaks English or German. Even if you wish to rent a car or if you wish to make activities outside the hotel, they take the initiative and help you to organize or contact the person in charge.
The hotel infrastructure is modern and clean, the pool is perfectly clean and well maintained. The sun beds and parasol were also good and there was always an helpful employe who helped us to find a nice spot for sunbathing.
The restaurant is o.k. The breakfast buffet was rich and traditional (cold and hot food) but the coffee was a bit disappointing. The evening buffet was also very diversified, but personnly after three days you just wish to have more diversification, therefor I advise only to book bed&breakfast and eat out at the evening in the near laid restaurants (Tip: a very good restaurant is the Villa Ventura Garden Terrace...it is a bit hidden but very good grilled fish & meat http://www.villa-ventura.com/english/einricht.htm ). The only thing you need to be aware of is that the restauration is strictly organized (hours, table.....) so inform yourself in advance. There is also a separate grill restaurant in the hotel but again be aware of the fact that you need to book one day in advance (no spontaneous acting....).
Another positive aspect is the very calm location of the hotel situated right at the promenade and the beach.
There is free shuttle service from the hotel to Funchal (the capital) and back. Be sure to book your places at time at the reception, as this service is very popular. If you shouldn't get any place, the regional bus stops in front of the hotel (station marked with "Paragem")
The evening entertainment is very average: Cuban band, Italian broadway songs etc.
The target audience in this hotel are mainly retired Germans and English, nothing really for young people looking for party holiday........
If you are looking for a calm and relaxing holiday, Madeira and the Hotel Riu Palace is the right place. You will find an extreme clean and well organized hotel with a great pool and a lot of possibilities to relax. Those holidays are more for experienced travelers looking for calmness (really nothing for younger people...I made the experience.)

Enjoy,

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0AROUND0THE0WORLD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

A wonderful holiday. The hotel was superb and the staff could not do enough for us. The food was excellent amongst the best we have had on holiday. The resort is quiet but the hotel courtesy bus that runs 5 times a day was perfect , and a local bus service also ran.

We found that to hire a taxi for the day worked out cheaper than a tour and we did this twice. For the 3 of us it was a 100 euros a day.

We shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeffreykrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Cannot fault it - great for couples, so quiet, fantastic food and service. We will return! The staff made it for us, can't do enough......

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmakmoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This was the 5th time we have stayed at the Palace, and it won't be the last. As others have said the staff are brilliant, the food great, the place itself very restful. Our friends were very impressed by the island, as they had never been, but in order to get the best, if you can afford it hire a taxi for the day. Reception will do it and you get a fantastic guided tour of whichever part you want to see. My wife assures me the food areas have been improved and all food is either piping hot or cold, which was not always the case.
Others have commented about the work going on in the valley next to the hotel. Bearing in mind the floods in February ripped away part of the car park and half the land next to the normal trickle- someone's "smallholding" as was it is not surprising that they are taking measures to prevent such disasters in future. The front at Funchal has been totally repaired but look over the sea wall towards the cable car end and see the "new land" that has been made by debris that came down the main streets. The whole island seems to have been woken up, and spruced up by the floods, and now is even better than before.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wat4der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This was our first, but definately not our last visit to Madeira and the Rui Palace. The staff were the most helpful and friendly that we have encountered, nothing was too much trouble and there was always a smile.
The food was top class, both breakfast and evening meal, though as others have stated, desserts by the end of the holiday had become rather boring and predictable....not a huge fan of mousses....though I must add they did taste good.
We upgraded to a Junior Suite, the facilities were brilliant, the dressing room and en suite alone were the size of other hotel rooms we've stayed in before, the sleeping area was also spacious....it was nice having a seperate sitting area too (ideal for pre dinner relaxation) along with our own sunbeds/chairs.
We used both the hotel and local buses.....both thoroughly recommened. Note...with the local buses, in the late afternoon there were 2 buses that ran to Canico within minutes of each othere.....the express one was much quicker, though the scenery not so brilliant, which we found after a day sightseeing/shopping to be, much better than the other, all stops bus....be aware they both have the same number!
Canico itself is very quiet, as you would expect and yes there was some noise from the repair works taking place, though this did not spoil our stay at all. We did go for several strolls both daytime and evening, we found that by winding our way around the streets and being nosey at what other hotels had to offer or in several cases didn't have to offer,
we were able to stretch our legs
On the whole I would certainly recommend this hotel and area to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday, at quality hotel, serving excellent food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jul1e20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Have just returned from a week at the Riu Palace, and can honestly say it is the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. I went with my mum, and from our arrival at the hotel everything was just perfect. There was not a very long queue for check in but we were offered a complimentary glass of Madeira wine whilst we waited, which we thought was a nice touch. We had a room each with a partial sea view. The rooms were absolutely spotless, cleaned daily whilst we were there, and the usual nice touches like making swans out of towels etc. Mini bar prices were high, but I think this is the same wherever you stay. The spa facilities were good and Wellness centre prices reasonable. There was a small gym and an area with treadmills, cross trainer and bikes, but only used it once. The pool area is very well maintained and staffed. There is not a problem with sunbeds and parasols. Not sure if the hotel was full when we stayed - it seemed to be at mealtimes, but we always had plenty of choice where to sit round the pool and there was a parasol for every two sunbeds - marvellous! The guy will carry your mattresses for you and put them on the sunbed - he was also very helpful with two helpless females struggling with their parasol. The food is fantastic - the hot food is hot, and the cold food is cold - plenty of choice and varied each day. You can choose the buffet or you can be served at your table. The waiters and waitresses were so friendly. Portugal were playing in the World Cup whilst we were there, so they all wore there football scarves at breakfast time (they had taken them off for the evening meal though because their team only managed a draw!) To sum up: We were wondering what made it such a relaxing holiday, and came to the conclusion it was because it was term time and there were no children there. Madeira is a beautiful island but I don't think there is much to do for children or young adults. It is fantastic for older couples or groups who have done the bucket and spades bit and seen their kids off to Uni. It would be a lovely place to go for a honeymoon too. Thomson trips were good, the rep, Emma was very friendly, informative and helpful, and obviously loves the island. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank armisteadsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Just back from a week's stay only one problem at present there is repair work going on next to hotel and we had a digger going from 8am to 7pm Monday to Friday and from 8am to 3.30 on Saturday. We were out during the day but if you wanted to sit on balcony before dinner not very pleasant. The council are filling in a large gulley where part of the car park has collapsed and Thomson should advise people of this. Rep wasn't very helpful said she couldn't say how long it would last but by the size of the hole I would say weeks. We paid £56 for a room upgrade to partial sea view but the way the hotel is built it would be very unlikely that you would not get a some sort of sea view except suites (we were told locally) and we certainly didn't think a view of a digger, concrete mixer and constant pounding was an upgrade! It was a shame as the hotel is fantastic though rather too far for us from Funchal. Local buses are brilliant and take about 40 mins to Funchal but taxis cost around 20euros for the 12 km single trip. Not much near the hotel a few little bars along the promenade. Weather was very cloudy which apparently is the case for June so if you expect to lay in the sun all day wait until July of August as the locals say it is better then.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midlifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
801 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Family Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
Price Range: £101 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing