We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is a four star plus hotel with beautiful views out to the Atlantic. Ideal spot for those wnting a quiet time in a very relaxing spot. Those that want more of the nightlife can take the 20 minute shuttle bus in to Funchal which appeared to provide the facilities for this (not my cup of tea).
The few complaints I noted on previous reviews must have come from very critical guests as I found everything to be spot on. Large room with balcont and superb sea view, excellent food, good service and very helpful reception staff. Ample sun beds in the pool area with none 'booked' in advance.
I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and hope ti visit again myself in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank backspin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at the Riu Palace in July and found it to be a fantastically well run hotel. All the staff are courteous, helpful and multi-lingual. The check in was easy with the room being available despite checking in at 11am. Our room was spacious, very clean and well equipped. As mentioned before, there is some work going on at the right of the hotel but we found this both unobtrusive and fascinating to watch!

Because of the hotels location and the way it is set out, it is not ideal for people with mobility problems.

The food is of very high quality, plentiful and tasty. The only minus is the lack of choice for children. A selection of "plain" food would certainly not go amiss. However, having a child who loves desserts, this certainly was not a problem. These were absolutely amazing.

The pools are well laid out with more than enough loungers and because of this, no-one put towels on them to save them (we were told that the pool staff would remove them if anyone did). Drinks service around the pool was efficient and very friendly. The prices were very reasonable.

The free shuttle bus is very convenient and we used this a couple of times to travel to Funchal. Well worth the visit (particulaly the cable car) and to buy essentials. Note, if you buy bottles of wine, they are all corks so you would need a corkscrew. Canico do Baxio is very remote but because of this, it was lovely and quiet! However, we found two great bars/restaurants within 5 minutes from the hotel. There is a gate at the front of the hotel, turn right and follow the footpath. Up a bit of a steep hill is a shop selling water etc, but next door is a great little place for lunchtime drinks/snacks. A bit pricey but the food was lovely. Even better was a place called O Porco Preto, which is located out of the front of the hotel, turn left, up the hill and it's on the corner. I've written a review of this restaurant on tripadvisor, It's fantastic!

The evening entertainment is a bit "cruise ship" like and the focus is very much on the adults, with nothing going on for children. Thank heavens for DSi's! The mix of people is about 70% German and 30% English. The little shop in the hotel is quite German biased with only a couple of English magazines or papers.

All in all though, a fantastic hotel. My husband travels extensively and says that this hotel has some of the best staff he's ever come across.

We would definitely return to Madeira, Canico and to the Riu Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leedsfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Riu Palace Madeira, was recommended and lived up to its expectations. The staff were multi-lingual and very friendly. The room was cleaned and tidied every day and the only thing I would mark it down with is the lack of tea or coffee making facilities, so take your own kettle and adaptor, plus the makings! Food is excellent, so much and so many choices for both breakfast and dinner.It was a bit of a novelty having some bubbly for breakfast, but it went well with the fresh fruit smoothies, wow, what a choice there to! We would definately return and RECOMMEND IT. Madeira is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yashimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Just returned from this hotel on 2nd August and we really enjoyed the break. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, they will happily answer any questions about their island. The room was cleaned daily and was spotless all the time along with the rest of the hotel. On arrival you will be greeted with a glass of Madeiran wine and your bags will be taken to your room. There is a safe in the room, which is charged at €16 for the week, for which they give you the instruction card of how to use the electronic controls. You will also be given a token for pool towels, which can be changed, as you require free of charge.

The dining room has 2 sittings, one at 18.30 and one at 20.30, the tables are for two people and they adjust them to your party size, however on tables for two they are within inches of each other. While you are dining on your first night you will be asked if your time allocation is OK and if you are happy with your table. Around the outside of the dining room there are tables just for two and we requested to be moved to one of these, which was done without any problems. Having the tables so close together did get people talking over dinner, which was pleasant, and I can see why they do it. You have the choice of the buffet or to have waiter service from the menu for the evening meal. The chefs are in the dining room constantly cooking food so you can see its fresh and can ask them to cook it to your liking. We found plenty of choice each day and looked forward to the meals especially when one of the chefs did a warm fruit desert with banana liquor. Drinks over dinner were €2.20 for a bottle of water, €2.30 for soft drinks and €2.85 for a glass of beer. There is an extensive wine list with prices to suit all. Twice during our stay people were celebrating birthdays and the table was decorated with fresh flower petals and candles. All the waiters gathered around to sing happy birthday, which the rest of the diners joined in with.

Breakfast also catered for all tastes with full breakfasts to numerous types of bread and meats etc. There was also plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, juices and pastries. Sparking wine was also served each morning.

There are 2 pools with plenty of free sun beds and parasols, which looks out over the sea.

On the right hand side of the hotel there is some engineering works, nothing to do with the hotel, but there is noise from about 08.00 in the morning and the noise level is dependent on where abouts in this valley they are working. Our room overlooked these but it would not stop me from going back tomorrow if I could. If you locate the hotel on Goggle world or similar you will see a car park near the tennis court, the works are in this valley, and it looks like they are working on a water channel. (See photo)

The hotel is as stated by others as being quite isolated but that is what it says in the brochure and this is why we chose it. There is a free bus service run by the hotel into Funchal, which takes approx. 20 minutes. It runs at various times throughout the day and to book you need to see reception after 18.00 the day before you would like to use it. This operates Monday to Saturday but the general service bus stops just outside the gate of the hotel, this costs €1.70 each way and takes between 35 and 40 minutes, which we used on the Sunday. These buses we found to be punctual and clean. Taxi’s I was told cost between €20 and €25 to Funchal each way, but due to the efficient service operated by the hotel and good service bus links I cannot verify this personally. If you like a walk after dinner in the evening there is a short promenade at the front of the hotel but it is only 5 minutes to the end. There are no shops or other restaurants in the area without making your way into Canico, which you will either need, a taxi or the bus due to the long steep hill. We did not need this as the hotel has every thing that we required and we will definitely stay in this hotel when we return to this very picturesque island in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rocknrollYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We just came back from our one week trip to Madeira where we stayed in the Riu Palace Hotel. After a spectacular landing, we drove straight away to our hotel where we were warmly welcomed with a glass of traditional Madeira wine (similar to Porto wine.. maybe a bit sweeter). After the usual formalities we went to our room and there was nothing negative to say about it: it was quite spacious, very clean and the seaside view we had was just picturesque.
The staff is very helpful and absolutely client oriented (they called us after 5 min we arrived in our room in order to ask if everything is to our satisfaction) and the majority of them speaks English or German. Even if you wish to rent a car or if you wish to make activities outside the hotel, they take the initiative and help you to organize or contact the person in charge.
The hotel infrastructure is modern and clean, the pool is perfectly clean and well maintained. The sun beds and parasol were also good and there was always an helpful employe who helped us to find a nice spot for sunbathing.
The restaurant is o.k. The breakfast buffet was rich and traditional (cold and hot food) but the coffee was a bit disappointing. The evening buffet was also very diversified, but personnly after three days you just wish to have more diversification, therefor I advise only to book bed&breakfast and eat out at the evening in the near laid restaurants (Tip: a very good restaurant is the Villa Ventura Garden Terrace...it is a bit hidden but very good grilled fish & meat http://www.villa-ventura.com/english/einricht.htm ). The only thing you need to be aware of is that the restauration is strictly organized (hours, table.....) so inform yourself in advance. There is also a separate grill restaurant in the hotel but again be aware of the fact that you need to book one day in advance (no spontaneous acting....).
Another positive aspect is the very calm location of the hotel situated right at the promenade and the beach.
There is free shuttle service from the hotel to Funchal (the capital) and back. Be sure to book your places at time at the reception, as this service is very popular. If you shouldn't get any place, the regional bus stops in front of the hotel (station marked with "Paragem")
The evening entertainment is very average: Cuban band, Italian broadway songs etc.
The target audience in this hotel are mainly retired Germans and English, nothing really for young people looking for party holiday........
If you are looking for a calm and relaxing holiday, Madeira and the Hotel Riu Palace is the right place. You will find an extreme clean and well organized hotel with a great pool and a lot of possibilities to relax. Those holidays are more for experienced travelers looking for calmness (really nothing for younger people...I made the experience.)

Enjoy,

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0AROUND0THE0WORLD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

A wonderful holiday. The hotel was superb and the staff could not do enough for us. The food was excellent amongst the best we have had on holiday. The resort is quiet but the hotel courtesy bus that runs 5 times a day was perfect , and a local bus service also ran.

We found that to hire a taxi for the day worked out cheaper than a tour and we did this twice. For the 3 of us it was a 100 euros a day.

We shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeffreykrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Cannot fault it - great for couples, so quiet, fantastic food and service. We will return! The staff made it for us, can't do enough......

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmakmoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.8 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
839 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
498 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
Price Range: £113 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palace Madeira is open all year round and is located in the village of Caniço, with wonderful views of the sea, in the south of the "Flower Island" Madeira. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Madeira Airport FNC (10 km) and Funchal (13 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 327 comfortably furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape in our gym. 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our buffet restaurant and Brazilian Rodizio optional dinner, as well as 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing