We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Four Views Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We have just returned from a ten day stay at the Hotel Oasis Atlantic in Canico de Baixo and are very happy to report that it is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are very large and well furnished and all have a mini bar size fridge which is perfect for keeping drinks and sandwich fillers etc. The décor is slightly dated but it had absolutely no bearing on the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful location.

If you drive yourself from the airport, leave the highway at exit 16. Turn left at the junction and follow the road towards the sea. The hotel is signposted so it’s very easy to find. It is located in a very quiet resort but that only serves to ensure that you get a good night’s sleep and come home totally relaxed. We had a hire car and always managed to get parked either in the hotel’s car park or on the road outside.

We were on a B&B basis and the choice of breakfast foods was huge. They cater for all nationalities but if you wanted a cooked breakfast then everything was available – including baked beans! All the cold cuts, cheeses, breads, cereals, yoghurts were also available daily and loads of fresh fruit.

Beaches: Madeira only has one natural black sand beach & it is no distance from Canico. It is up the east coast in Prainha. The free car park is on the road & it is then a steep walk down but there is a well set out paved path. The beach is in a lovely natural cove and has a café which also provides sunbeds & parasols. The yellow sand, man made beach is located at Calheta which is along the west coast. At this beach you also pay for parking which works out to about 5 euros for 5 hours and the cost of the beds/parasols is slightly more expensive than Prainha.

To drive into Funchal old town, leave the highway at exit 12 for Campo da Barca. Follow the signs all the way to the seafront and then turn left at the roundabout. If you get into the left hand lane, you will find your way into a multi-storey car park right beside the Madeira Story [which is very well worth a visit] and the edge of the old town.

Other recommendations: Porto Moniz to spend a lovely day in and around the natural volcanic rock pools complex. A small Sunday market at Santo de Serra – a nice little town with a lovely small church. The town of Canico a couple of miles up the road from the hotel & a lovely restaurant on the corner of the church square. We would recommend the scabbard fish with bananas and the limpets if you like fish & seafood.

  • Liked — The view from, and size of, the room.
  • Disliked — The cold water in the pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MogirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sergiocosta, General Manager at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 8 July 2008
OBRIGADO,

That means thank you in Portuguese!! for the positive review of our Hotel and for giving us the privilege of having you as a guest. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the size of room and especially the friendliness of our staff.
I also agree with you regarding the pool’s temperature. We did have a maintenance problem and being on an island it sometimes takes time to get parts as this was the case. It has now all been sorted out.

I also take this opportunity to let you know about the renovations which will be ready by November 1st: Restaurant redecoration and implementation of a show cooking units; renovation of the two top floors which will be our Superior Rooms and a new SPA with an animated indoor pool. As soon we have photos we will be adding them to our new own website
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    276
    90
    20
    7
See reviews for
149
432
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, Essex, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We spent 2 weeks at the Hotel Oasis in May 2008. It was to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday so we booked a suite with a full sea view. we were not disappointed from the time the airplane touched down at the airport to the time we left. on arrival at the airport it took only 45 minutes to leave the plane, pass through passport control, collect our bags, meet up with the private transfer we had arranged, arrive and book in at the Hotel Oasis and to finally enter our room! We cannot fought the service that we received from all the staff. It is true that the hotel is out of the way but we found the free transport to Funchal excellent, and even though it is suggested that you book 24 hours in advance we never did and were always able to get a place on the coach.
There were a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, all with great food and excellent service. We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel but would add that Maderia is very hilly and is probably not the best place to visit if you have any mobility problems. Having said that we are sure the people of Maderia would make every effort to accomodate your needs as they are all very helpful and ameniable.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank corinne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Went here for my 60th birthday and surprised to find i was one of the youngest guests there. Mainly filled with Dutch and German oap's but all very polite and certainly no noisy parties.
Rooms are good, booked partial seaview and this was fine. The Jacuzzi at the pool was leaking so we had workmen drilling and hammering at the concrete to get it out over a period of 4 days. On arrival you are told that you can get a local bus to Funchal from outside, but it takes 40 minutes. You can use the hotel bus but you have to book it 24hrs ahead. The walk to Canico is as stated very steep in places and again takes 40 minutes or more; but you can sit in the square with a nice beer and get over the exertion. A few good restaurants in the area but nothings that cheap due to the pound v euro. Breakfast very good but can get a bit monotonous. Staff very friendly except the restaurant manager, miserable bloke and not very helpful.

  • Liked — quality of room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Be prepared to travel if you stay here as the hotel is further away from things than you think. There is a shuttle bus into Funchal but be aware that it doesn't run on Sunday's. It is a long and very steep climb to Canico village iteslf and only to be attempted by the fit. Bear this in mind if you are self catering here. There is a short promenade outside the hotel so you may end up walking along this a number of times after dinner. Try taking the 15 minute walk to Inn and Art and having coffee and cakes on the terrace overlooking the sea - wonderful!!

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, even if the decor is rather dated. It was great to have a bath with a powerful shower, and the bath actually filled up quickly too. Try and get rooms that face the sun most of the day otherwise they can be a little dark and cold.

The food is plentiful but manages to taste of nothing. With so many fantastic ingredients, fruit, vegetables and fish, this should not have happened. There is not much for vegetarians to eat, particularly those that do not eat fish.

The hotel staff were universally fantastic and spoke excellent English. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive and the reception staff were knowledgable, helpful and patient. The hotels' own car hire is great value for money as all of the charges are included in the headline price, unlike most of the other companies.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikebrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Just returned from a great week at this hotel. Booked independently a roomy suite with HB - such good value.

The hotel is very much an 80s throw back which is quite kitsch in a way. Rooms are immaculately clean and far from worn. The suites are huge with a small kitchenette and full sized fridge. Ours faced the ocean and it was lovely to sit & see the sea and sunsets.

Food was good with a delicious range for breakfast. Coffee is very good which is worth a mention as hotel coffee can be far from satisfactory. The restaurant is quite well spaced with tables mainly for two.

The pools were chilly by anyones standards - even the indoor one. The pool area had plenty pf beds and direct access to the prom. Lots of local cats made an evening stroll memorable - look out for Stumpy (our name for the black one with half a tail!)

We loved the location which offered a pleasant place to stroll where locals exercise and enjoy the proximity of the sea.

Local places to drink can be found such as Habbeus Coppus or the Inn & Art. The local bus is regular and just 1.55 euro to Funchal. Try a stroll round Canico village too, with a newish precinct and well stocked supermarket. Good wine can be had there at 4 euro a bottle and the hotel are happy for you to bring this in too! Try BSE - yes its a portuguese white!

We hope to return - Madeira is truly beautiful!

  • Liked — The ambience and great room - great desserts!
  • Disliked — Cool pools and hard beds - yes, very hard beds!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarkBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

I brought my wife here for her Birthday in August '06, we really enjoyed our stay, the hotel had good facilities and the staff were professional and curtious. The location was wonderful, right on the sea front, although a little isolated, the main town was a long uphill walk away, a regular bus service was available, Funchal the island's capital and main town was a 20min bus ride away, and well worth a visit, the cable car ride to the botanic gardens is a must, and stroll around Funchal with it's a pretty town square and numerous shops and cafes is a nice way to spend an afternoon.

The Hotel had plenty of poolside sun loungers, and the snack bar had a good varied menu. The restaurant in the hotel was quite good, and there was a couple of restaurants within a couple of mins walk from the hotel.

I would recommend this Hotel to couples looking for a quite holiday, and for families with younger children.

  • Liked — Location, right on the sea front.
  • Disliked — Location, a bit isolated. not much within walking distance.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

A Very nice, well presented hotel, by the sea.

Stayed here in November 07 with my wife, a nice hotel with everything we needed pools and resturant. The only problem is that its in the middle of nowhere, its on the promanade which doesn;t really go anywhere. One way is a cafe and the other up a hill is the shop and a resturant. otherwise thats about it, everything else is 2 miles away by taxi.

The resturant food is nice, but be warned its already salted. They do like there salt in this resturant!.

Overall a very nice week, apart from the rain. November is main rain season so it rained everyday after 12!

  • Liked — A nice hotel
  • Disliked — Middle of knowhere
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennison123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.5 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 86 in Funchal
761 reviews
6.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
445 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
5.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Oasis

Property: Four Views Oasis
Address: Rua da Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal (Formerly Oasis Atlantic)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Views Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis Canico
Four Views Oasis Hotel Canico
Four Views Oasis Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing