We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon!!!”
Review of Four Views Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon!!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Last August, we went here for our honeymoon! What an excellent choice was this!

First of all, they arranged a special package with champagne free of charge to celebrate our honeymoon.

Secondly, the room was very spacious and clean! Everything was perfect, with a nice and modern design.

Furthermore, the breakfast was a absolutely fantastic! A lot of options and everything was so tasty! We did never use the restaurants so I cannot comment on that.

Also, the swimming pool, gym, indoor pool, bar, wellness area etc. certainly lived up to our expectations, and much more!

Conclusion: great hotel in a quiet location with excellent facilities and service. If going back to Madeira, we would definetely go back there!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is such an honor to read your lovely review.

It is words like the ones you have described that makes us believe that our daily effort to improve the service and offer our guests memorable stays it's well worth it.

We are so happy that you have given us the chance to celebrate your honeymoon in our hotel and that we have fulfilled you expectations.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

We look forward to meet you again in our Hotel.

Until then

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    276
    90
    20
    7
See reviews for
149
432
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Other recent reviews have just about covered everything, but if going into Funchal by bus, try the local (not the express) bus, which visits the high villages and gives great but scary views. 2.20 euros, one way, bus stop directly across from the hotel. Timetables available from reception. Terminus in Funchal is next to the cable car to Monte, but to avoid the extensive roadworks, ask to get off at the stop near the fruit/fish market.
The prevailing wind is from the north-east, so if the weather is poor, it would be best to avoid a side sea view room which faces north east - very noisy with strong winds and crashing waves, even with patio doors closed.
During our stay the hotel was almost full, with at least 90% German guests (us few Brits were heavily outnumbered) - not really a problem, but they were very noisy at mealtimes.
One other point - no bath, but the shower was super, and about the best we have enjoyed in a four star hotel.

Room Tip: if the weather is poor, it would be best to avoid a side sea view room which faces north east - very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for writing about our Hotel.

Most of your reviews is based in Madeira itself and I fell that your tips are very handy for someone who is visiting us for the first time.

Caniço is not the main city (the main is Funchal) but the beautiful weather you get here and the proximity of our hotel to the sea makes it all worthwhile.

We are pleased to read that it has been your best four star hotel experience, and we are thankful that you have shared your experience with the world thought Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madeira Island.

Best regards,
Duarte Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed 2-13 Sept 2013 (B&B)
HOTEL-Modern,large,friendly staff and excellent service.Especially enjoyed a good nights sleep once the verandah doors were closed,they blocked out all outside noises.
LOCATION-On the coast,outside Canico.Be prepared,Madeira is incredibly hilly/mountainous,people do not walk easily,once you leave a few small flat coastal areas.Outside the Hotel are bus stops for local buses to Canico and Funchal(Express service).The Hotel has a courtesy bus to Funchal daily.It is advisable to book at reception on the day prior to using it.
ROOM FACILITIES-Kettle for tea and coffee (but after first day you will have to source your own ingredients) Fridge-small.Water,beware,if left in your room daily,it is not complimentary,it is 1.75 Euros per bottle.Air conditioning,very good.
FOOD-HOTEL-Breakfast-large selection of continental,a hotplate area containing small frankfurter type sausages,thin streaky bacon,potato,mushrooms,watery scrambled egg and very salty baked beans.Some days there were mass produced fried eggs but I must admit that I never plucked up courage to try one.Best suggestion,try the omelets cooked to order,very good.LUNCH-Lovely poolside bar with a varied menu of basic foods ie pizza,burgers,toasted sandwiches,salads etc.EVENING-Main restaurant below reception,21.50E per person for 3 courses with a different menu/theme each night(there are deals ie buy for 5 nights get 6th free)We only dined there once due to the fact we didn't want 3 courses nightly.There is also an A la carte restaurant open some nights (dress code-no shorts/flip flops etc).The poolside bar does a separate evening menu(Italian),dined there once,enjoyed it.
LOCAL RESTAURANTS-Approximately 6-700mtrs to a collection of about 5 restaurants.Directions,out of the Hotel rear gate,turn right,follow the promenade,climb a lot of steps and when you get to the top,turn left up the hill to restaurants.Top tip,Habbeas Copus-try the steak on a stone,excellent.One other restaurant we tried was the Laranjinha,which is out of the front door of the Hotel,up the hill to the traffic island.It is on the far right hand side.Went there on first night,only 3 couples in there,so not busy but they still got our order totally wrong,not impressed,didn't go back.
SHOPPING-In the foyer of the Hotel,opposite end to reception,is a cluster of small shops stocking gifts,snacks,soft drinks,alcohol and daily newspapers which come in on day of publication at about 1500-1600 hours,except Sunday ,which come in on the Monday(they are not on display,you will have to ask at the payment desk.Other shopping alternative is a local Spar shop,which is among the restaurants mentioned previously(out of the back gate etc).Final point,other reviewers have mentioned a Mosquito problem-we must have been lucky as we did not encounter any at the time we stayed.Would we go back to Madeira?Probably not due to the fact that we have many more places to visit.If we did return we would look for a Hotel in Funchal where there are many more restaurants and activities.Overall though,Four Views Oasis-Thankyou.

Room Tip: We had a Sea view room,which was above the pool area=excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 391davef65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our hotel in tripadvisor.

It is with pleasure that we read that overall you have enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the room facilities it is true we offer the first tea and cafe, if you want to recharge it there will be a minor cost.

We are also happy to read that you have enjoyed our bar service and the variety of the menu. The restaurant tips you wrote were very interesting, and we would only like to say that at this time of the year with this lovely weather the pool side bar is a must try.

Thank you very much for sharing your ideas of our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We hope to get the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlunkhofen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Back for a second time. The hotel is in a quiet, pretty location about 20 minutes by the regular hotel bus from Funchal. It is very spacious, has good facilities, serves excellent buffet-style meals and offers evening entertainment in the lounge bar for those who like that sort of thing. WiFi is available in some areas but the 2 Internet terminals are miserable. In January the guests are mainly elderly Brits and Germans.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so nice to read that this is your second time in our Hotel and that you enjoy the quietness of it, the location, the facilities, the buffet and the services.

Regarding the internet we are trying to improve the service and we will be able to offer our Guests a better connection.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your Holliday destination.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel 8 years ago was good then and is good now.
Nex door to Riu palace excellent spot right on coast.
Food and drink excellent, surroundings are very good,scenic,
not as many choices for food as funchal but many within 2 euros bus ride.
Madeira is a volcanic island some think ex volcanoes may be flat not this island,be prepared to walk up and down steep hills.
Once we accept our surroundings a nicer place is hard to find in eu.
Have had a very good stay.
Muito Obrigado Madeira.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view Atlantic is fascinating to watch and listen to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roderick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for your commentaries in Tripadvisor about our Hotel.

It is so nice to read that you have stayed in our Hotel 8 years ago and returning now you still enjoy the hotel and our service. It is pleasant to read that our standards did match your expectations.

It is also important that you have enjoyed our food, drinks and the hotel surroundings.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.

Best regards,
Duarte Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for a week before Christmas, and at approx. £55 per night for 2 for B&B, you could not get better value for money. The hotel is spotless, its 2 pools are kept extremely clean and my Christmas massage was one of the best I've ever had.
We decided to take up the offer of 6 buffet meals, for the price of 5, in the evening. The food was very, very good, lots of choice and a chef on hand to guide me through the Gluten free choices. I had such an array of different food and had no coeliac problems.
I had told the hotel of my GF diet and was really pleased to be given GF bread, biscuits, Soya milk and soya yogurts in case I had dairy problems too.

The breakfasts were huge with any amount of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, cold hams etc and lots of bread.

This was a very relaxing hotel and Canico de Baixo was delightful, a little bit windy and cooler but much quieter than Funchal. The bar Atlantico is a good place to go for your evening drink and watch the sun go down. There are many more Germans than British here... also lots from Scandanavian countries.
If you are keen on diving then this is a good centre for that.

Room Tip: In winter it would be best to have a south facing room, probably those above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

It is so pleasant to get the opportunity to read such an enthusiastic review.

We are very thankful for the words that you have used about the breakfast, the rooms and the "Christmas massage" that was one of the best you ever had.

Thank you very much for your time, for your kind words and for your sympathy

Looking forward to meet you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guia, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel was originally opened in 1991 but extended and modernised in 2011.

It is clean and modern with friendly helpful staff. Main meals are buffet style with plenty of variety. The food is constantly topped up so there is never a shortage of a particular item. If you like desserts you will not be disappointed! Lunch is normally waiter service at the pool bar.

The main pool is a good size and there are plenty of sun loungers so there is no need to reserve them with towels - although it seems some people cannot resist 'booking' one!

There is a room with a couple of computers and also a selection of books in several languages available for guests free use.

The beach is adjacent to the hotel but do not expect to swim from it or sunbathe on it as it is composed of very large pebbles which seem to be designed to damage ankles. [ The island is of course volcanic and as far as I am aware there are no naturally sandy beaches.]

The bedrooms are a good size, have tea and coffee making facilities as well as a fridge in which you can store your own drinks. Our bedroom and bathroom were kept immaculately clean whilst we were there.

There is a free hotel shuttle bus running into Funchal several times a day and a public bus service which stops outside the hotel also runs to Funchal. This has the advantage that it stops at the start of the cable car run and a trip on the cable car is certainly worth doing. The famous sledge rides operate from the top of the cable car run.

If you have difficulty walking be aware that the island is very hilly.

Room Tip: Rooms with a direct sea view are the most desirable but of course are the most expensive! Side sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 27Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.5 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 86 in Funchal
762 reviews
6.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
445 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
5.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Oasis

Property: Four Views Oasis
Address: Rua da Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal (Formerly Oasis Atlantic)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Views Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis Canico
Four Views Oasis Hotel Canico
Four Views Oasis Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing