We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, disappointing warm buffet”
Review of Four Views Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Views Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Modern hotel with good facilities. We stayed in an apartment which was spacious and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good but the coffee was terrible. The only disappointment was the warm buffet. Sufficient variety but the meat/fish was often dried out or overcooked. Wifi only in the central area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DirkV49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.

We regreat to read that you did not had a memorable stay.

We normaly have good feedback from our breakfast, we will try to see what went wrong in order to solve it.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relaions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The holiday was great value. The hotel was more geared towards mature couples, although there were a few families with small babies. The hotel is pretty much standing alone, there are only a couple of bars & restaurants a walk away. I would recommend hiring a car to see Madiera as there is beautiful scenery to the North of the island well worth seeing. No beaches on the island but a few man made lagoons which made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We have read your commentary and we are happy to read that you have enjoyed your Holidays.

Thank you for the kind words you wrote and for sharing your words with the world.

Looking forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is by the sea roughly halfway between Madeira airport and Funchal. It is more luxurious than the 4 stars its rated at and ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday away from crowds.
We stayed here on a self catering basis in a large side sea-view Studio room that had a kitchenette with all the crockery/cutlery.
The bathroom has a shower, hand/shower gel, shaver point, hair dryer and a bidet!
To have fresh towels, just throw your used ones on the shower floor.
There is a mini supermarket and a restaurant at the roundabout near the hotel. There is also a small Spar supermarket with other restaurants about 5 minutes walk away. There is a large Continente supermarket in a large shopping mall 2 kilometers away in central Canico.
This hotel shares a lovely promenade with the 5 star RUI Palace next door. There is no sandy beach here but the hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool.
There is another nice restaurant (on the seafront) about 2 minutes walk east of the promenade.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are on, the further away you will be from the floor shows they put on in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EagleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

thank you very much for having the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

It is so nice to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt that our hotel has more luxury then a four star hotel.

we will share your kind words regarding the hotel with our staff, this way they can feel that the good service they provided have also contributed to your memorable stay.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel, about the area itself and about Madeira.

We look forward to meet you again in our hotel, until then ill leave you with my regards,

Sincerely

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We loved Madeira and this hotel. Travelled with our small child and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Naively we booked it and didn't realise just how out of the way it was but this just added to the relaxing feel. We stayed B and B so cannot comment on the food. The food on the island was exceptional though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for writting a lovely review on tripadvisor about our Hotel.

We are pleased to read that everything was great during your stay and that you have found our staff very friendly and helpful.

Madeira is such a beautiful island, I thing that the little detail you mentioned about renting a car makes total sense.

Funchal is the big town and most of everything happens in Funchal, even so if you would like to feel the real beauty of Madeira Island you need to visit the north coast (beautiful landscapes, levadas, water falls) and all the other little towns and villages.

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best Regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As most others have said the hotel is very clean and the staff helpfull, it is only 15 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from Funchal so well positioned. My only criticisms of the hotel would be the hot tub that has the smell of bacteria if you put the bubble jets on, the hire car company they recommend delivered me a car with no brakes and a clutch that was on its last legs, I wasted half a day getting hold of a car from another company, I would advise using a 'proper' company like hertz or Avis, the hotel in my opinion should not be using sub standard suppliers, last Minor point if you pay for a late check out as we did be aware your key card needs to be reprogrammed. Overall though a good 3 to 4 star with very clean facilities and I would stay again. As others have said there are six restaurants to use if you go out of the back gate ( sea side of the hotel) turn right and a pleasant walk along the promenade then up approx 30 steps and turn left at the top, we had the stake on a stone twice as it was so good.

Room Tip: Upper floors give a better view so level 4 or 5 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONNNOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvsior regarding our Hotel.

It is so nice to read that on a general way you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

It is the first time that an observation is made about a strange smell in our Hot Tub, for this matter we are working on it and we found that the smell is chlorine the element that we use to avoid bacterias , our truly apologies for the uncomfortable feeling during your time there.
Regarding the Rent-a-car we will speak with them to understand what was wrong with the car, normally we have no issues and we consider them very helpful.

we would like to inform you that the room cards are always updated when we have late check-outs, there are plenty of factors that can stop the magnetized key to work like for example having the card close to your mobile phone.
Thank you very much for your commentaries and for your tip regarding the upper floors.

We look forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Well presented clean hotel.Rooms a good size and were imacculate condition.Staff were super friendly and very helpful.Food was just average for half board guests.
Found a wonderful Restaunte within 5 mins walk up the promenade near the spar mini market for the best food. HABEAS COPPUS the best steak on the stone you will ever have! Overall a wonderful destination and will return again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your commentaries regarding our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate very much your words about the "imacculate conditions".

I will share your words with our staff, they will be happy to know that the daily effort that they do is very well recognized by our Guests.

We regret a bit to read that our food was just average, the restaurant is one of the areas we are always working on, we always try to improve the service in the best way we can.

We will keep your words in consideration so that next time you visit us, we can show you that we have worked on this details and we will be able to offer you a memorable stay.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a really nice vacation, the rooms were very clean and well equipped, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was just fine. The evening entertainment program was a bit too noisy for our taste, but the nights were quiet and we could enjoy the sound of the waves. Lots of nice restaurants and two supermarkets nearby, and a beautiful beach promenade. Thee are two diving centres in walking distance and the marine sanctuary is a great place for diving.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view on 2nd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for having the time to write about our hotel.

It is nice to read that everything has been good during your stay and that you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and about our staff.

We look forward to meet you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
5.5 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 88 in Funchal
812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
476 reviews
6.2 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Orchid
Royal Orchid
#5 of 13 in Canico
359 reviews
6.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Oasis

Address: Rua da Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal (Formerly Oasis Atlantic)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canico
#2 Family Hotel in Canico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canico
Price Range: £61 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Views Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis Canico
Four Views Oasis Hotel Canico
Four Views Oasis Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing