We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class Hotel”
Review of Royal Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Orchid
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st Class Hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday,one of the best hotels we have stayed in excellent room,courteous efficient friendly staff all in a great setting.Rstaurant has good food with outside dining area having great views.Our 1 bed apt had 2 bathrooms linen changed every 2 days,even supplied beach towels.

Room Tip: Always ask for sea views they are fantastic with hotel perched on cliff edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dozzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    154
    61
    26
    8
See reviews for
75
185
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good location of the hotel near the sea, but unfortunatly poor services. Too noisy due a fitness club inside the hotel, that we could not even use !! and acoustic insulation between the rooms too poor. Breakfeast simple. Poor cleanliness, cockroachs in the room !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Francis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a week in this hotel as part of a timeshare exchange. We had a 1 bedroom Junior Suite, self catering. This normally provides us with 4 often 5 star accommodation. Royal Orchid I'm afraid could only muster 2. Buffet breakfast was fine, recent refurbishment of exterior also positive. Staff apart from 1 member very pleasant. The room however was a great disappointment. Kitchen area ok but fittings were very tired looking and damaged. Both fridge-freezer and cooker were ancient & rusty.Furniture really belonged in a skip and we also had a very noisy aircon unit. Portable TV in large echoey room looked lost and no microwave either. Whole place had an air of an aged cruise liner about it.

Room Tip: Rooms with 406 506 606 706 are in corners and have limited sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatweazleEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel. Breakfast was good; you could eat kind of everything you would feel like. And they also had fresh vegetable which were very missed during the trip me and my friends took in Portugal. :)
Most of the guests are Germans, so don't get surprised if someone says "Hallo" when you meet. Also...the whole island is more for relaxation, because there are a lot of old people. :D
It's pretty far from Funchal, but just because if you don't have a car you depend on the transfer from the hostel (it only starts at 10 am) or on the buses.
We thought the pool was bigger, but that's the "miracle" of photography, it can make looks appear bigger as they are.:)))
But all in all, the experience was nice. Clean, stairs to get into the ocean (the shore is rocky, so no beach there!), just perfect for someone who wants to relax. If you want to party...then this is not your area where to book a hostel! :)
One day we booked a trip to the Porto Santo Island, where there is this long beautiful beach. Unfortunately we just laid in the sun and not visited the island, but I think that would be really nice, too.
If you don't want to buy lunch and dinner from the hotel, nor from a restaurant, there is a small Spar shop nearby so that should help. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarisse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I don't want to just repeat what others have said so will just say you wont be thrilled but neither will you be horrified by the hotel itself. Other things that are of interest are the outside area; pool quite small but sea is good for real swimming. Plenty of beds around the pool but what I liked was the small areas placed at various points down the cliff-these just had a couple of beds so nice and private. Getting in and out of the ocean is relatively easy but does rather depend on the swell. The sea is beautiful - great for snorkelling. The area the hotel is in is mostly residential although there are a couple of other fairly large hotels nearby, so its is lovely and quite. For entertainment the sister hotel Roc-Mar, has entertainment most nights which finishes at 11pm. If you come out of the hotel and keep left you will pass the Roc Mar immediately - however if you keep going you will pass 2 restaurants the Lee Harrison Steakhouse which enjoys a cliff top location and is worth a try and on your right is the Garden Restaurant, part of the Hotel Vila Ventura, and was our favourite. If you keep going you will join a small newly made promenade which leads to another hotel - this hotel also has entertainment and a restaurant which is worth a try. As you come out of this hotel on to the road you'll find the nearest cash machine, on your right. If you turn left and walk a further 100 yards you'll come to another restaurant worth a try called Inn and Art. However, if you come out of the hotel and turn right at the little junction and then right again you will come to the supermarket and a number of restaurants - if you keep walking along this road it will come to some steps which lead down to another promenade and if you walk along this you will come to a small sandy beach which is protected from the ocean so would be safe for children. If you fancy a change of scenery in the evening two of the restaurants in the old village of Canico run a free pick up service if you give them a ring - Central Restaurant and La Terraca - both are worth a visit..Overall, we enjoyed our holiday and very glad we stayed in Canico and not Funchal - just make sure you don't get the room we did - 212!!

Room Tip: If you are given room 211 or 212 ask straight away for a move - they are over the indoor pool and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Girvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is possibly the best i have ever been to... the look and feel is very clean and modern and the rooms are more than equipped for you to feel at home. The hotel was very clean and offered a fantastic service. We were instantly greeted at reception and without even having to ask we were provided with bus time tables on how to get into town and information on how to get about Madeira in general. The hotel is literally 10-15 minutes from the center by bus.We spent time in both the 'chimney room' relaxing and also used all the facilities (sauna, steam room, Turkish bath and of course the indoor and outdoor pool) All amenities were clean and fresh and a pleasure to use.. We dined at the Rocamar Hotel which is their Sister hotel and can be used by all staying at either hotels, the food was delicious - they have entertainment on most nights with bands or dancers which was always great fun!

All in all the experience was the best yet - it may be a 4 star but you were treated like 5* and you couldn't fault the picturesque views from our room.

Will definitely be going back and recommend people looking to visit Madeira stay in this hotel!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (7) and had a sea view - it was AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Positives first: Nice relaxing hotel. Clean and in a nice location overlooking the sea. Not ultra modern but fair price paid for what we got. Daily shuttle to Funchal is a bonus and not more than 20 mins. Pool very cold but clean. Adequate sun beds and plenty to go around, although if you didn't get parasol early they'd be gone. Gym jacuzzi ok.
Negatives; Before our arrival I read reviews and decided I would like to upgrade due to it being our anniversary that was 2 months before our holiday. We e mailed the hotel to inform them. Maybe due to my wording? I don't know? I was nieve enough to ask for upgrade assuming they would give me the cost to upgrade to sea view. They e mailed me back to say no problem they would do that if possible with bottle champagne. Wonderful! Never had anything for free before but hey ho! On arrive we were given room overlooking back street. When I asked why I was told by very rude women we always get English people asking for upgrades that's what we tell them all. I was deeply hurt. They offered if we kept our bags packed for 5 days they would move us to side view. We kept what we had. May I add on watching her throughout the holiday. She was rude to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daistrose601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.3 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid

Property: Royal Orchid
Address: Travessa Vista Praia | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Canico
Royal Orchid Hotel Canico
Royal Orchid Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing