We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”
Review of Royal Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Orchid
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel in an excellent location right on the sea cliffs - the views from the hotel are incredible! It is in Canico de Baixo which is about a 35 minute walk from Canico. There are a few restaurants and bars very close to the hotel and the walk up to Canico (which is very, very steep) is well worth it as the old town is lovely too. In terms of location on the island, this hotel is perfectly situated. Funchal is a short bus ride across lovely coastal roads away so you have easy access to any trips or tours you might like to go on (I'd highly recommend the West Island tour).

The hotel itself is decorated nicely and has a modern feel to it. Rooms are kept up to a high standard of cleanliness and towels are changed whenever you require.

I would have rated this hotel as a 5 if it weren't for two small and one quite big problem I have. The two smaller problems are first that the hairdryer in the room is laughably bad (think of a desk Hoover attached to your bathroom wall) and second, the free shuttle to Funchal is impossible to get a seat on. The bigger problem I have is with the reception staff. Handing people a bus timetable and a voucher for money off in a local restaurant does not count as a good welcome. Having arrived at midday after traveling since 3am, a friendly smile, help with luggage and some information of where we could store our luggage until our room was ready would have been a much nicer start to our holiday. This is a big hotel and some information about the facilities, location of amenitys and the local area would have been extremely helpful and would have prevented us from spending the first hour of our holiday wandering the hotel, completely lost, with our luggage looking for somewhere to sit down and buy refreshments.

To sum up - great hotel, great location, take your own hairdryer, get to know the local bus service and don't bother too much with the receptionists.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

When I read the reviews from this hotel I wondered if people were writing about two different hotels called Oasis as the reviews were so polarised. Myself, wife and grown up family have just spent two weeks at the Oasis and this is our definitive review.

The hotel is situated on the edge of the sea. A sea view is MUST at any cost. My wife described this as the nearest thing to being on a cruse ship with an outside balcony! and I agree. I am glad I brought my binoculars because I was able to see a group of dolphins and a whale pass by.
The rooms are spacious and light in the continental style. There is a large bathroom and a reasonably well equipped kitchen area, but I can't imagine anybody making their own food with such a wide variety of restaurants near by. My daughter and children had a junior suite, this had an additional bedroom with its own bedroom. The rooms were kept spotless each day by hardworking staff.

Although comfortable, certain things are in need of updating and a little TLC. A noisy fridge, an air conditioning unit that dripped water onto the floor and some fixtures that need replacing detract from the 4 star rating.

There is a lovely well equipped Gym with pool Jacuzzi and sauna on the ground floor and one thing I liked was the way the outside area was laid out with nice sunbathing areas stepping down to the sea. There were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and it never looked too cramped. The children also enjoyed the outside pool.

It is strange why snacks are not available. These however can be obtained from the hotel next door which shares its facilities. The burgers were the best I have ever tasted so its worth the short walk. Also there is no evening entertainment in the Oasis apart from the bar. There is, however next door.

Another important thing to note is there are steps everywhere! Even the lift which is situated on a mezzanine floor has a flight of steps leading to it. This could be a problem for those with pushchairs or those carrying heavy cases. Madeira is very hilly so better get used to it!

As regards the buffet breakfast, this was only adequate but no way up to what you would expect from a four star hotel. I can't comment about other meals because we ate out. Bar staff were friendly but reception staff always looked cold and unwelcoming although we never had any issues with them.

Its a pity the Oasis havn't made the most of its opportunities to make its clients feel of value to them, or even show any interest in their needs but this will be reflected in whether guests return.

Did I enjoy my stay at the Orchid? Yes I did, but this was only due to its location and the value I place on its wonderful setting. For those looking for a relaxed peaceful location where you can unwind it would be hard to find anywhere better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank johnkatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed for 5 days in June and enjoyed every minute. The room was large, bright and clean with a fantastic sea view, the balcony was a lovely place to sit and enjoy drinks. Perhaps the only slightly negative aspect was the below average buffet breakfast, did not have any other meal there so I cannot comment on them. The pool area was very nice and it was handy to get wi-fi in that area. The staff were ok and managed to understand my english. altogether a very enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 5th floor - fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bryan732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Okay, rooms are big and quite nice but all the rest was terrible. Staff is very rude and not friendly at all. The sunbeds near the pool are old and almost every chair is broken. At first sight the hotel is clean, but it is anly for the eye. Not a nice terrace to enjoy the view with a drink.
You can hear everything in the hotel slamming doors walking neighbours. Will not recommend it when you have children. The walk to the sea from the terrace is not well mentained. Stairs are broken.
Old fashion decor when you come in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard_en_Helga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I can not believe some of the reviews after spending two weeks at the hotel , rooms clean everyday ,sheets nearly just as often ,reception staff always helpful. our room was spotless. internet in Reception and we could also pick it up by the pool. Walks along promenade much improved, plenty of good restaurants around the area and up in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank janetandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

room cleaned regularly and food excellent and plentiful with superb selection of dishes. All rooms appear to have a sea view and ours was great. Only 1 internet screen available and difficult to find anywhere pleasant to walk by the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Rooms were big and spacious and our view was first class. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby for the evening, but if you are some way out from Funchal (25 euros by taxi) and 45 minutes by bus as it stops everywhere, so we hired a car for 5 of the 10 days we stayed. You could dive straight from the hotel, but it wasn't good for snorkelling but I don't think Madeira is that sort of place. Plenty of wonderful walks and gardens instead.

Room Tip: You want floor 6 or 7 with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.3 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
813 reviews
6.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roca Mar
Roca Mar
#6 of 13 in Canico
239 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
5.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid

Address: Travessa Vista Praia | Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Price Range: £43 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Orchid 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Canico
Royal Orchid Hotel Canico
Royal Orchid Madeira/Canico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing