We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa on a beautiful island”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Amelia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canico, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A_50s_cou...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely villa on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Villa Amelia is spacious inside, very comfortable and well equipped. It was spotlessly clean on our arrival and the complimentary airport pickup certainly made the arrival and departure process very straightforward. The villa is in easy walking distance of a couple of small supermarkets and plenty of very good local restaurants. The larger supermarket is a 30-40 minute very steep walk away (or a 6 Euro taxi ride). Four of us stayed in the villa which worked very well, but the outside balcony area might be cramped for more people. Only criticisms would be that the outside table is quite small and that there was no coffee pot/maker. I suppose the downside of being in a small town is that the pool area was overlooked by other villas. Always able to find sun or shade in the garden to suit all tastes. Would recommend given the above comments on party size.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, comfortable villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremy205...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, fabulous host..”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Having stayed in a number of villas we have never experienced such excellent service from the owner. He just couldn't do enough for you, whilst giving you the space and freedom to enjoy your holiday.

We hired a car but still Gonçalo was kind enough to meet us at the airport to escort us to the villa and show us around the property.

Little touches like fresh bread, wine, eggs, milk etc were waiting for us in the villa.

The accommodation was pleasantly spacious, tidy and modern. The pool was perfect for a young family (especially given the exceedingly hot weather) and the location was excellent.

This villa is ten minutes from the airport, fifteen to Funchal and just 10 minutes walk from the fabulous restaurants in the district.

We have loved our stay in Villa Amelia and can't recommend this highly enough.

Thanks again to Gonçalo, you made us very happy in Madeira.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev C
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent standard of accommodation and service from the owner. Resort was compact with some good restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm4jmag
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a quiet and peaceful place to stay. This villa in Caniço de Baixo is very comfortable and the garden with the private pool just makes it. There are plenty of places to sit and enjoy it, from the balcony at the back to the loungers by the pool. Although the pool is unheated, the warm climate of Madeira in September meant that the pool temperature was 20 degrees and it was a real joy to spend some time each day swimming. Gonçalo made the whole booking process very easy, he was very polite and understanding and has perfect english. He offered transfers from and back to the airport and provided me with a very welcome "Welcome Pack" of bread, cheese, ham, butter, eggs, fruit and wine. A wood supply was left to make use of the barbecue in the garden, which I did. Perfect. Caniço de Baixo itself is quiet, but has some really good restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Inn & Art, which is the nearest one only 5 minutes walk away has a fabulous balcony with stunning views of the sea. There are some big hotels within a 10 minute walk and I made use of their spas for some treatments. There's a regular bus service to Funchal just down the road if you need it. I didn't hire a car as I wanted a week of relaxation but a car would be useful if you want to see more of this wonderful island. I would definitely re-visit this property, it was a lovely place to call "home" for a week. The only tiny complaint… I'd really recommend changing the plastic mattress protector on the double bed for a cotton one… it made me feel so hot at night I thought I was going through the change!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaKay...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb accomodation and location”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Amelia is the ideal place for a family holiday or group of friends sharing. The accommodation provides everything needed for an enjoyable stay. I was there for the first two weeks of Aug 2014 with family and thoroughly enjoyed staying in the beautiful villa and surroundings. The pool area, barbecue and colourful gardens provide a lovely outside setting to enjoy to the full.

The villa is in an ideal location for all the local amenities and it is only a short walk away from cafes and restaurants that have lovely views over the coast. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and would gladly go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the verandah overlooking the pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasper b
Herlev, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great plafce to stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 4 people - two adults and 2 children.
The vacation was the best ever. We were picked up in the airport, late at night due to standard TAP delays - an driven to the villa. Next morning we enjoyed the pool and our host made sure that I was driven to the airport to pick up our rental car.

We stayed for two weeks and had a wonderfull time, using the pool, cooking on the outdoor grill and driving around this beatifull island.

The service was perfect and we recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the large living room.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marzas
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very lovely place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Villa Amelia for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. We were picked up at the airport in the middle of the night and brought to the villa, our host Gonçalo provided us with all the information needed and made sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible.
The house can easily accommodate 6 people, it is very spacious and clean, it is located in a silent area within short distance to the main road and shopping facilities. Additionally we used the swimming pools in the hotel "Albatroz" and enjoyed it a lot.
I would definitely recommend the place for families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing