We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel da Vila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponta Do Sol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

It's a very peaceful hotel with friendly staff. Our stay was totally relaxing and we want to go back)).
At first I was surprised that absolutely everything in the room was white but then the combination of sun, sea and white colour proved to be breath-taking. I just fell in love with the place.
I also enjoyed the facilities of Estalagem on the cliff: sauna and swimming-pools were very good.
Other pleasant features include pick-up from the airport and organized levada walks from the hotel.
If you are going there, you will enjoy)).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MoscowFir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We agree in full with other travellers: the hotel is great, confortable, the small little village is fine, the beach is beautiful. It's true that the breakfast service is not as good as the bar service during the day or the restaurant. As this hotel is managed by the same group of Estalagem, we could expect more as we have already been in Estalagem. But considering it costs 40% less, it's a great value with the advantage of having the stone beach in front of us.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was great, but we had two beds put together instead of a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Our week in Hotel da Vila was absolutely great! Our arrival was early in the morning and the reception was cordial. We could even choose on which floor we wanted our room to be situated. We picked the third because the view is the best! We’ve enjoyed our week in our beautiful room with a comfortable bed. We liked the breakfasts, dinners and cocktails in the restaurant.
The village of Ponta do Sol is small and cute, a perfect place for relaxation. The nearby Hotel Estalagem do Ponta do Sol is also beautiful. It’s a four minutes walk from Hotel da Vila and over there the infinity pool, sun beds, a warm indoor pool and sauna, are at your disposal. You can book wonderful treatments there! In both hotels the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The Estalagem is more distinguished, Hotel da Vila is more unpretentious and precious... and both places are heavenly!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jippie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We really liked to stay in that beautiful and cosy Hotel. Nice atmosphere, all rooms with seaview and very gentle workers helping by each problem.

We also liked the price and the combined possebility to use the pool in the connected Hotel Estalagem.
It was a nice holiday in Hotel da Vila, Ponta do Sol.

thanks m&m

Room Tip: internet booking, all rooms are nearly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moritzpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

The hotel is on a great spot. Every evening "Hollywood- sunset"!
No traffic at all!
The design is nice and everything is clean from head to toe.
The breakfast is good and there are various things to choose.
Breakfast stuff was... ok. Not really enthusiastic to serve.
BUT, the rest of the staff was simply the best:
Bruna at the reception - great support for daily trips and organising phone calls.
Ilidio at the bar did a great job, mixing cocktails and let us feel good during the evening.
Nuno, the best waiter ever! Perfect knodledge about kitchen, food, wine and languages.
After all, the staff made the stay perfect!
The kitchen in the hotel is great, and I can recommend the halfboard. The soup-, the fish- and the DESERT- of the day, brings a great variety.
A rental car is a must, if you wanna see something from the island. The parking situation is abit difficult. The hotel just got 3 parking places for free... not enough!

...we found a warm and romantic place... and friends in Hotel da Vila

Room Tip: room 35 - huge room (great view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uwe3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We had emailed a few times to ask questions in advance, and staff were prompt and helpful. They also booked a taxi to pick us up. They always answered our questions and helped us with phonecalls.
The rooms are very white, i believe it's new. Very chic. The restaurent in the sister hotel is excellent, the restaurant in Hotel de Vila is ok.
Breakfast is enjoyable enough, pretty much what you would expect, plus some local cakes.

The only negative is the water pump. The shower, tap and even the toilet cistern water comes in spurts. The main problem is with the shower - every 8 seconds you lose water pressure for 1/2 a second and then get extra hot water.

Overall a definate recommendation

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on_Tees, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Having stayed at the sister hotel - the Estalagem on numerous occasions, we decided to give the new hotel on the beach front in the village centre a try and we certainly weren't disappointed, in fact we have just booked to go back again. The hotel is quite small and personal and very stylish, the staff are friendly and helpful at both of the hotels and the standard of food is very good indeed with an excellent variety at the buffet breakfast. The more informal style of the smaller hotel works well with the sister hotel, who's superb facilities are available to guests staying at the Hotel da Vila, including a fabulous pool area with stunning views from the deck, spa, bar and conservatory area and an excellent restauarant. In fact the two combine to offer the perfect break for those looking for excellent value with just enough luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
11.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#20 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Property: Hotel da Vila
Address: Rua Doutor Joao Augusto Teixeira, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-215, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior design is a good example of the "chic & rural" concept, developed by the well-known architect and designer Duarte Caldeira. He combines typical and rural elements with a modern, clean and recycled decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel da Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vila Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing