We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Stay, listen to the surf at night!”
Review of Hotel da Vila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel da Vila
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponta Do Sol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We loved this hotel. We had three rooms for the week and we loved it. Breakfast was great each and every morning. We toured all of the island from this location and didn't miss being in a big city at all. Wonderful location, great prices, great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel second week of June.
The location is perfect – all the rooms have sea view, the beach is just across the road (though the road is very quiet and not busy at all). The only disturbing thing is seagulls – they’re very active at night and make some noise 
We liked eco design of the hotel; lots of wooden details on the white background – look beautiful! The room itself is good and quiet, the bed is comfortable, so we did sleep very well.
The food is really delicious: very good breakfast and dinner..
The staff is very friendly and helpful; the hotel provide free of charge transfer to/from airport (if you book more than 7 nights); also there is a courtesy bus to/from Funchal and to/from levadas (also free – which was more than nice surprise for us!). So do not miss these opportunities!
Highly recommended to visit Camara do lobos – fisherman village. Very picturesque and with very good fish restaurants (especially we liked Vila do Peixe). Funchal is also worth visiting!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taloura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a fantastic time staying here the first week of June 2013. Contrary to popular belief you do not need to hire a car. The hotel will collect you and return you to the airoptt (if staying for a week) and provide more transfers on everyday of the week either into Funchal, to the start and finish of Levada walks or to the nearby imported beach at Calheta. The sister hotel is open to you to treat as your own where there is a swimming pool etc. However we spent plenty of time at the beach where all the amenities ther are free as well. We ate in both of the hotel's restaurants and found them both to be fine. The best place to eat is the snack bar looking restaurant on the beach and also the Italien place near the petrol station - where you can buy the local wine much more cheaply than in the restuarant prices. We had a fantastic stay here, with plenty to do. If you decide to party in Funchal, as we did on 2 occasions the taxi fare back (the hotel will transfer you in) is EU36 on the meter but if very late you may have to concede and pay EU45. Ponta do Sol is a locals area with many locals on the beach, hence you are not pestered by other tourists or touts they encourage. Breakfast was also excellent!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view. No chairs on the balcony but we borrowed two from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NLM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This place was great. Great service, great breakfast and very nice ambient. The trick is that staying at this hotel you can also use the facilities of a hotel up on the cliff which is run by the same company. Up the hill there's a fitness, pool, bar, restaurant. There's also a restaurant at this hotel but we never ate there.

AMBIENT: Clean, smells fresh and looks great. There are only 3 parking lots outside. Nice to sit outside in the restaurant and look at the sea and people passing by.

STAFF: Probably the friendliest we've encountered. Most of the ladies speak good English and were very happy to help with anything.

ROOMS: Smell fresh, nice white bed sheets, clean modern bathroom, balcony. A few design elements (see the photos of the hotel) which are functional and don't crowd the room. The only thing was that there is a building being built adjacent to this hotel so you can expect a bit noise from 8am to roughly 6pm.

FOOD: We just had a few sandwiches and coffee. Both were alright.

OVERALL: Definitely the best in-town hotel we've stayed at on Madeira

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd+ floor, rather the western side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was my 4rth trip to Madeira and to Ponta do Sol, where I stayed at this great hotel (because the main hotel, Estalagem da Ponta do Sol, was fully booked). It is really nice, great design, big rooms all facing the ocean. Very good bedsheets, safe, flat screen TV, free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast is very good, food as well. You can use all the facilities of the main Hotel (ham am, jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor pool, sauna). Great terrace for a drink, lunch or dinner. Great place to relax, away from the mass tourist crowds. You feel far away though Funchal is only 20 minutes drive. Free transfers to Funchal and excursions.

Room Tip: All of them face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanytag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We visit as restaurant. We ask to see the rooms and the staff was very helpfull. We will be back for a weekend, The location, is superb and design is really very good. And the staff is very happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were delighted by the personnel, wonderful people, and although we had problems with the touroperators from the continent, they helped us a lot! We wanted a quiet, nice, romantic place for our honeymoon, and that's what we got! The food of the restaurant was splendid, the bathroom very comfy, the balconies(all with sea view) so retro-romantic!
It's best for couples, no children or big companies really...
The only thing that could bother someone, is that you use the facilities of the big hotel up the hill, but the pleasant walk, elevator and the view from the top are worth it!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if available, for better view of the small bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miryana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
558 reviews
0 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
509 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
11.6 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
4.5 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Vila

Address: Rua Doutor Joao Augusto Teixeira, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-215, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The interior design is a good example of the "chic & rural" concept, developed by the well-known architect and designer Duarte Caldeira. He combines typical and rural elements with a modern, clean and recycled decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel da Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vila Ponta Do Sol, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing