We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location, the spacious rooms, the lounge beds in the garden, the lovely pool, the wonderfull breackfast, the gym and jaccouzy with ocean vieuw....it is all absolutely magnifficent! You can't go wrong choosing this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dbkdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just perfect!!!
I already dream to come back and, next time, we would spend our whole stay on the island at this hotel... We loved the design, the food, the spot, the views as well as their philosophy...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean-Sébastien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is without doubt one of the best hotels on the island! The service is impeccable and the view ... You could not ask for better view! I could lie in the pool during the all stay, and at night they have the best terrace on Ponta do Sol. I recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Addie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed for a week in July

Hotel staff are great, very welcoming and informative.

Location is perfect. About 40 mins from the airport and overlooking the bay of Porto Do Sol. They hotel has plenty of space and stunning views almost everywhere you look.

Room size was good and had a fab sea view. Plenty of space for clothes etc and above 4* expectations.

The onsite restaurant is good but has a limited menu. You can also dine at the sister hotel in the village below which has a different menu so this isn't really a problem. Breakfast selection was good. Service excellent from the bar, restaurant and pool bar.

Facilities include an infinity pool (really great), indoor pool, spa, sauna etc. All well maintained.

The hotel also offers a selection of self guided levada walks where they'll drop you off at the start and pick you up at the end. For free. Really good and welcome idea as saves you hiring a car or having to pay for taxis. Again, above what I'd expect for a 4* and they really should put more info of this on their website. They also provide a shuttle to Funchal.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Would certainly recommend and visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very VERY pleased with this hotel, me and my boyfriend spent a week here just gone (early July 2014). We where very unfortunate with the weather during our stay in Madeira with just one WHOLE day of sun, determined not to let this ruin our stay we made the most of the hotel.

Rooms:

Very classy and simple, modern touches and our bathroom again simple but very clean with a good shower/bath. Beds where extremely comfortable! Best part was the large sliding doors onto a balcony with the most stunning view of the ocean. We had booked a sea view and we where more then impressed and in awe every morning opening the curtains!

Facilities:

Down from our room was the infinity pool again providing stunning views of the ocean and the costal's of Madeira and Ponta Do Sol beach (pebble) and town, very very pretty. When the weather was bad we used the indoor swimming pool which is a hidden gem underneath the outside pool (down the stairs leading to the lunch room), also they have a jacuzzi as well which was lovely. On another day we had a massage each which was a dream! Perked us up on a yet another cloudy day. Another room we took advantage was the adult games room complete with a pool table, computer, books and chill area. Beware there are not many english books/tourist guides that we could see.

Service

Every staff member we spoke to was more than kind and helpful, but have to mention Fatima (hopefully spelt correctly) who was amazing & friendly, nothing was too much and she really made me and my boyfriend feel welcome when having lunch every day and later in the evening at dinner. You can also book shuttles to outside excursions through reception and again they where more then helpful.

Food/Bar

There is not much to do around Ponta Dol Sol food wise, a handful of restaurants and snack bar's and also don't even bother going into the near by town Ribeira Brava as there is nothing to do and again very much snack bar based rather then an "evening out". The restaurant is more then good enough! It is pricey but we had budgeted that kind of money for dinners so we was more then happy to eat in most nights, we do like to venture out but there is not much out there I'm afraid and it is a NICE restaurant to eat it in & without feeling overdressed, good quality food. We also went down to the bar after most nights, you can sit outside for the most incredible views and chill on there huge cushions set out across the grass, cocktails where a favourite of ours! And again not too pricey considering where we have stayed before. Lastly, breakfast is great! Buffet style but with all freshly prepared food including the most amazing fruit selection! Best I've had in a hotel.

So happy with our stay in the hotel, for the young couples looking at staying here, it is amazing for a very quiet chilled holiday, so if this is what your looking for then great! Where both 24 and both loved our stay within the hotel! No problems at all. However just a bit of advice there is not much to do on the island, we did venture into Funchal for the day (25 minutes away) and was very disappointed, we where hoping for a few trendy places/bars but nada, we did the cable cars and then that was very much about it. If you love walks too, this island is for you! (& temperamental weather).

Absolutely loved the hotel, but unfortunately will not be travelling back to Madeira anytime soon.

NOTE: They have in the summer on wednesday nights music artists come in to play, we had a very loud korean rock band!! It is a cool concept but we where mildly disappointed as it was our last night and we headed to the bar for a few cocktails but couldn't order as it was very busy!! The hotel is open to the locals to come join and we just found it was very overcrowded as they had free drink tokens, there was no where to just chill and unwind so we headed back to our room very early on our last evening which was just a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Sea View Room, Worth The Money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlottaRose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is perched on the cliff face over looking Ponta Do sol beach, it has breath taking views and a wonderful mix of old and new.
The service levels are fantastic and all staff are very helpful and always on hand to be of assistance.
The hotel has everything you need for a relaxing break - a spa, indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, bars and a lovely restaurant,
A true gem and wonderful hotel. Well done to the staff and management and Design Hotels.

Richard, The Guardian Newspaper

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place was absolutely outstanding. The location and views from the hotel were fabulous with views across the town and sea. The facilities within the hotel were superb, from the pool to excellent choices at breakfast and dinner there is not one bad thing we could say about this place. So good in fact, we recommended to my wife's parents who have just got back from a weeks stay who could not fault it either. Go there if you ever decide to holiday in Madeira!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
499 reviews
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,256 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
10.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range: £71 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing