We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice sunsets”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

First impressions leave one doubting ones choice. However once up the first lift and through the disappointing reception area, you will find yourself in a minimalist style hotel. Our room was above average size, with a modern flat screen TV, and in room safe, (deposit required). It had a reasonable bathroom and nice view from the balcony (providing you have requested sea views). The room furniture was a little tired, but I understand this is going to be replaced in the near future. There were beautiful black and white photographs of Madeira in the rooms and public areas of the hotel, which were for sale. The hotel restaurant served the usual buffet breakfast. We tried the restaurant a la carte menu on two evenings and found it to be good. The bar area was a OK, but more could be made of the garden adjoining the bar, however we enjoyed some lovely sunsets sitting on the terrace outside the bar. We had a couple of bar snacks which were OK. Locally there isn’t much choice for eating out, just a couple of places in the small town. Excellent views from the pool and plenty of options for lounging. The hotel will drop you off and pick up from a few levada walks. However they can be fairly indecisive if the weather is at all wet.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    128
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
65
344
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

take care with this hotel. although booked and paid months in advance we were informed 1 week before our departure without any excuse that the hotel was overbooked and that we were not welcome

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank jan090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed here end of January/beginning of February and although the weather was not kind we still had a very relaxing time.
The bedrooms are large with lots of storage space, were very clean and serviced daily. We had requested a sea view room (509) and we had amazing views over the ocean and down the coast.
Breakfast was great – so many choices and because the hotel was not full there were always empty tables and a nice relaxed atmosphere. We ate at the restaurant several nights and could not fault the food, although if you were there every evening (al la carte menu) the choice was fairly limited.
The hotel car park is very small so may be difficult to find a space in the summer.
Ponta do Sol itself is small and very quiet. A five minute walk away is a small shopping centre with several cafes including a pizzeria – which we found to be good if you wanted something simple to eat. We also went to the restaurant which was built into the cliff (sorry, forget name) on the left when walking down to the seafront and that was also good.
Would definitely recommend the hotel but would also recommend a car as a great island to explore – and the snow was an unexpected pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireCruella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrik1975
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Last monday we returned from our best holiday ever - our first trip to Madeira.
We stayed at the Ponta do Sol hotel for the whole week - and what an incredible hotel

First of all, the hotel is off course very beautiful both on the outside and in the
decorating. However the most important thing is they have managed to create
such a great atmosphere of relaxation and kindness. The staff is so kind and
not acting falsely frindly as you meet in other places. Also our best recommendations
to the restaurant chef where we tasted the best meals we have ever tasted,
and to the spa and wellness department where we enjoyed the pools and massages.

We'll definitely come back to this hotel and all our family, friends and colleagues have
received the best recommendations for a stay here.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank henrik1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My wife and I returned yesterday from a week's holiday at this hotel. We were delighted with everything about it.

Our room was stunning, with a fabulous sea view, as we had requested when booking. It was well-equipped, and kept very clean. The staff; receptionists, waiters and waitresses and drivers were always warm, friendly and informative.

We were impressed with the free transfer to and from the airport in Funchal, as well as trips organised by the hotel. The food was excellent too.

Even the weather was kind to us! We will certainly go back to this lovely island, and stay at Estalagem da Ponta do Sol to complete a great holiday. We recommend it.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — The pillows were too hard!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank revrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

This is an excellent 'design' hotel perched high above the sea affording spectacular views where ever you look.

Positives (too many!) - Great location, you're away from the hustle and bustl;e of Funchal but it's close enough to get to easily (45 minutes). Lots of little places to sit and soak up the atmosphere. Good size clean rooms with superb views. Excellent evening restaurant (food, service). No kids (almost!) - this is a modern quiet hotel.

Negatives - You're largely left to fend for yourself - which is great - but I wish someone had told us of the 100+ tourist guides lying in the lounge! Breakfast is a bit of a scrap - too many guests and not enough tables.

Madeira is a superb location for beauty and tranquility. This hotel serves that purpose 100%

  • Liked — Location and Tranquility
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks in August and had a really nice time but, not all in the hotel is fantastic!

The main advantages of this hotel are the stunning views, the architecture of the hotel and the calmness.

On the surface, all looks great and fantastic, but already quite quickly you start to see some of the (important) negatives:
- hotel beds are uncomfortable
- air-conditioning in the room does not work properly
- dogs are barking in the middle of the night (the 2 hotel dogs & the neighbours' 5 dogs)
- furniture is starting to show signs of wear and tear (hotel will need a refurbishment quite soon)
- staff on reception give the impression of being helpful, however their service skills could be improved
- very limited lunch menu in the bar
- breakfast buffet lacks variety
- food quality in the restaurant wavers (restaurant staff is very attentive and friendly though).

Do I recommend not to go to this hotel? Hmmmm, not really, but I would just stay a couple of days. In that way you don't get too annoyed by the negatives of the hotel.

  • Liked — The views from the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Do Sol
0.1 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
4.6 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
10.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
10.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Ponta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Ponta do Sol

Property: Estalagem Ponta do Sol
Address: Quinta da Rochinha, Ponta Do Sol, Madeira 9360-529, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Do Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ponta Do Sol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem Ponta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to define the concept that lies behind the Estalagem da Ponta do Sol is the idea of an escape hotel. It is set on the top of a cliff - a more spectacular location is difficult to imagine. The hotel is a result of the renovation of an old "quinta", and the goal was simple: to integrate the original buildings in a distinct, contemporary style. The architecture enhances the beauty of an already beautiful place and the atmosphere is simple and relaxed, yet sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Estalagem Ponta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Da Ponta Do Sol Hotel Ponta Do Sol
Ponta Do Sol Estalagem Da
Estalagem Ponta Do Sol Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing