We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing "bird's nest" on the slopes of Ponta do...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ponta Do Sol, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Christoph...
Rheinfelden, Germany
2 reviews
“Amazing "bird's nest" on the slopes of Ponta do Sol”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This "casa" is almost a little villa. Situated directly above the beach and center of Ponta do Sol, it's really a "bird's nest". Well equipped with everything you need. A (small) swimming pool was under construction and will make it perfect. Due to the position of the house, you have to walk a bit, to reach it. The car must be parked on the street (like all the neighbors do).

The beach of Ponta do Sol is really nice, clear water, many fishes -you can swim, snorkel and dive.You may park your car in the no longer used tunnel (on the left side).

Some evenings, we had live music from the town or from the hotel on the cliff on the other side of the bay - very nice, sitting on the terrace, drinking a glas of wine and listening to the music.

We had been in Sao Vicente at the north coast for one week before we came here, so we had already vistied all the northern destinations from there (see other review).

Here's what we did from Ponta do Sol (besides swiming at the local beach):

Nice round tour levada walk directly near Ponta do Sol (Levada Nova – Levada do Moinho = 2 Levadas on different levels, waterfall, tunnel).
We also went to Funchal 3 times from here (city, Botanical Garden and Monte Palace Tropical Garden), hiked on the stunning eastern cape (Sao Lourenco bay) and walked the straining, but gorgeous alpine Tour from Pico Arieiro to Pico Ruivo and back. We also visited Capo Girao and the Cristo Rei statue (the little brother of the one in Rio de Janeiro).

Don't forget to drive through the old coast road tunnel (right side at the beach) in Ponta do Sol - if you follow the road for some hunderd meters, there's a waterfall falling directly onto the street! Madeirian car wash ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
That's a perfect review and very informative for future guests - thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T
1 review
“Amazing views, very friendly host and exceptionally clean villa.”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Amazing views, situated in a lovely quiet town in a lovely part of Madeira. we are more than happy to recommend Carlos to anyone else. He is a lovely host and went out of his way to make sure we were happy and settled. We would like to go back if at all possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return vist.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mafumary2...
Sulgen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for your kind comments. As everything about the house seemed perfect, It is a shame you didn't award us 5 stars. Nevermind, maybe a mistake. We are glad that you recommend the house 100%!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBASTIEN...
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Merci beaucoup
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik Y
Bunnik, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your 5 bubble review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne R
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. See you soon we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
felix S
Leobersdorf, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: der ausblick
Liked least: keine kaffemaschine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
6 out of 5 stars is wonderful - thank you very much for you lovely review and recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing