We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floor-to-Ceiling Windows • View Top of USS Wisconsin Ship • 25 Min. to Norfolk Airport (ORF) • Mermaid Spotting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Floor-to-Ceiling Windows • View Top of USS Wisconsin Ship • 25 Min. to Norfolk Airport (ORF) • Mermaid Spotting”
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Nine-story RI (150+ suites) located by Freemason area. Walk to eateries, shops, & sights.

1-Bedroom, 2 Queen Beds on High Floor
--------------------------------------------------------
• Large spacious bedroom with 2 queen beds, 2 full-size dressers & floor-to-ceiling windows in living room & bedroom. (Abundant space for 1 person, roomy for 2 or 3, comfortable for 4, cozy for 5.)

• Gorgeous floor-to-ceiling windows with city view. See beautiful stone building church, Epworth United Methodist, at corner of Freemason & Boush streets. View top of ship, USS Wisconsin. (Also overlook parking garage across street.)

• Top segment of window opens -- allowing in fresh air & traffic/ city sounds. Even with window closed, muted city background noise comes through -- even on higher floors. (Heard street noise, but not hallway sounds.) Not a problem if background city noise doesn't bother you; if you require absolute silence, may be problematic. (Also, depending on your perspective, charm of occasional church bells ringing.)

• Smaller/ narrower living room with non-swivel, flat panel TV mounted against wall -- excessively high, so if you sit on sofa, tilt your neck upward to view screen. Likewise, uncomfortable to try to view TV if your sitting at desk. Proportionally small TV for size of room. (Likewise for bedroom TV except it swivels & is mounted on bureau -- comfortably viewable from both beds.)

• Long kitchen table with 4 seats to fit 4 people snugly. Handy having 2 separate designated dining & desk tops. Lots of surface to spread out on. Enough outlets for multiple electronic gadgets.


Niceties
-----------
• Goldilocks-perfect queen beds -- not too hard, not too soft -- just right.

• Free Internet/ WiFi. (Rare dip in connection strength.)

• Two quick elevators -- minimal waiting. (Female elevator voice announces in a high intonation, "Going up" & lower intonation, "Going down." (May give kids a giggle.))

• 2 wire soap dishes mounted on corner wall (furthest away from shower head) -- allowing soap to stay *dry*. (Wish all hotels would mount soap dishes on far side of shower spray.)

• Ice maker & ice cube tray in freezer. (No need to roam halls for ice machine.)

• 1st-floor exercise room: 2 ellipticals, 2 treadmills, bicycle, & weights. Towels & water provided. (Empty wipes container eventually replaced with full container.)

• 1st-floor guest laundry: row of 5 washes ($1.50), row of 5 dryers ($1.50) by exercise room. (Exercise during wash & dry cycles -- dashing between laundry room & exercise room.)

• 2 computers & printer (next to lobby in comfortable seated area) to print documents & boarding passes.

• Mermaid iconography/ sculpture throughout city. (Little ones may enjoy "mermaid spotting.")

• Local transport, Norfolk's light rail (The Tide) goes around the hotel, & the station (York Street/ Freemason) is a 3-minute walk from door.

• Still $18 (+ tax) self-parking in above-ground garage across street.


Moans/ Peculiarities
---------------------------
(Representative of Other Suites or Lack of Routine Maintenance or Just This One Suite?)

• Can hear "ding ding" of light rail around hotel, but depending on where you're situated in building, depends on how faintly or loudly you hear it and/ or be disturbed by it. (Ask front desk for quieter rooms.) (One late afternoon helicopter LOUDLY hovering nearby for 15+ minutes; initial excitement turned to irritation. Occasionally hear blare of sirens: fire engines, police, & a car alarm.)

• Not quite sure if housekeeping missed cleaning room altogether or had a only brief amount of time to tidy up just enough to pass it on to next guest; wasn't typical of my experience at this RI. Water sitting in un-dryed Pyrex bowls; unclean silverware; well-worn, teflon scratched cookery (due for replacement); spec of dish liquid in left tiny bottle; hastily wiped smear (of food?) streaked across coffee table; un-vacuumed carpet (bobby pin, visible debris); coffee pot merely "rinsed" -- nothing more; soiled pot holders in drawers with utensils placed on them; paper towel roll with few sheets left on it with no replacement role; ditto for kleenex & toilet paper (fortunately new tp roll under bathroom sink). Annoyances that don't affect functionality, just makes you wonder if housekeeping had time to properly clean & re-supply room or if this is RI's new standard of cleanliness/ service.) Irksome, after unpacking & settling in after a long day's travel; clean up digs & scrounge for supplies. Not the way you want to spend your time -- especially if you're off to work (or touring) next morning.

• Wall heating/AC unit between living room & bedroom that clicked on & off (repeatedly for several minutes) so LOUDLY that it can awaken you from a sound sleep. (Don't recall repeated clicking happening elsewhere.) Ended up turning off & keeping AC off after 1st night, so as not to be awoken again.

• Toilet runs periodically out of the blue, but stops quickly, without intervention. (If you're sleeping on bed closest to bathroom, periodic running is disturbing.) Also, continual fan-like sound running in bathroom, but didn't see a fan.

• Weak water pressure in shower/ faucets. (Not problematic, but if you require forceful shower spray, stronger water pressure may be on lower floors.)

• Bathroom door doesn't close; shower head not firmly fastened to wall, wobbles when aiming it; hint of mildew on tub/ shower. (Nothing earth shattering, just disappointing level of maintenance for such a new hotel.)

• No luggage rack. (Extra bed (if not in use) serves as mega luggage rack if you prefer not to unpack & place items in drawers.)

• Typical hint of nicks & dings on furniture, hall walls -- that's seen lots of comings & goings. (Nothing outrageous.) (Interesting gashes in a lampshade. Just a curiosity, a head scratching wonderment as to how such injuries are inflicted on innocent lamps.)

• Extra sheets/ blanket (for sofa bed) typically in bag (in closet) appeared to be already folded into sofa bed. (Not a problem.)

• Bathroom & bedroom sink lights not working initially. Before resetting circuit breakers (on bedroom wall) or calling maintenance, ensure "Master Power Switch" (by front door) is flipped on.

• Kitchen light (directly above sink) when lit, turned from a low hum to a loud buzz the longer it was lit; stopped using light. Other lights nearby illuminated area enough.

Overall, bit of let down because earlier visits were better; anticipated consistency in quality. None of this takes away from overall newness/ modernity of RI & its ideal location.


Free Hot & Cold Breakfast
-----------------------------------
(6:30am-9:00am on Mon.-Fri.; 7am-10am on Sat., Sun.)

• Standard, hearty hot & cold RI fare with little variety & minimal rotation. Mostly daily rote of scrambled eggs, sausage patty/ ham, potatoes, oatmeal -- occasionally a biscuit egg sandwich for a change. (Long-term/ repeat guests familiar with other RIs more frequent & varied rotation may be disappointed not seeing: breakfast wraps, spinach/ egg sandwiches on whole grain English muffins, sausage hash, etc.) If staying more than a few days, monotony of sameness gets to you. (If on strict budget, tough it out by closing your eyes & think of $ you're saving -- especially if you're feeding several family members.)

• Faux whole grain bread & bagels. Lots of processed white flour, starchy, carby: muffins, bagels, breads, cereals. Pretty much identical or near-same across RI brand with few exceptions.

• Same cut fruit each morning with an occasional change. (Other RIs rotate more frequently: pineapple, honeydew, cantaloupe.) Lack of rotation seems to be norm. Served same type of green, unripened honeydew melon as other RIs, just cut into smaller pieces; but ripe tasty cantaloupe.

• Run out of regular coffee shortly after opening -- each & every morning. (Putting out 2 canisters of regular (instead of 1) could help & even 3 instead of 2. If you need coffee pronto, you may be better off making it in your room.)

• If you arrive around weekday opening time (6:30 am) there can be a slow-moving, backed-up queue inching along kitchen entrance by juice/ hot food area. Appears quite a few guests are trying to get breakfast before they have to dash off to work/ play. (Opening breakfast a half hour earlier (6am) might allow people who have to be on the road a chance to eat.)

• No plain yoghurt (just sweetened/ sugary ones), no boiled eggs, saw yoghurt parfait (granola, blueberry) only 2 times during entire stay. (Wished for healthy foods: plain, unsweetened Greek yoghurt; assortment of fresh, in-season fruits; real whole grain bread; boiled eggs.)

• Depleted items slowly replenished or not at all. (Modus operandi appears to be guests inform kitchen staff of empty/ missing items: coffee, cut fruit, bananas, yoghurt, eggs; staff replenish *after* request.) Not a problem if you're on a relaxed schedule. If you really want a particular food, ask for it, then stand there & wait. If pressed for time, grab what you can (bagel, banana) & eat on the go.)

• Comfortable, spacious, bustling seated dining area.


Free Full Dinner
----------------------
(5:30pm-7pm; Tue., Wed, & alternating Thur.)

Depending which week you arrive, either have a meal 3 days per week (Tue, Wed, Thu), or 2 days (Tue, Wed.).

• Standard RI evening fare such as: nachos, burgers, sausages, fajitas, etc. with much appreciated weekly *rotation.*

• Beautifully presented salad: iceberg lettuce with shredded carrot, cabbage, tomato, cucumber, green pepper, onion, cheese, etc. for each meal with choice of dressings. (Nice decorative touch showing care/ effort.)

• Dessert: brownie bites, chocolate chip cookies. Soda fountain beverages for drinks.

If traveling as a couple or family, recoup parking fee expense ($18+) by partaking in supper the 2-3 days it's served (as well as breakfast each morning).


Nearby Groceries/ Eateries
------------------------------------
For evenings when RI isn’t serving meals or if you’ve time/ inclination to prepare meals in your furnished kitchenette, drive to grocery or get takeout at eateries:

• 5-10 minute drive (1 mi/ 2 km) to Harris Teeter grocery (on Colonial Ave.).

• 5-10 minute walk (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km) to Freemason Abbey Restaurant (excellent soups/ salads) on W Freemason St. (kitty corner from stone church at corner of Freemason & Boush St.). You might be able to see stone church from your room window.

Pick up "Downtown Norfolk Dining Guide" (& menus) at front desk for list of nearby eateries to walk or drive to; plenty of options to suit various tastes & budgets.


Approx. D R I V E Time (Depending on Traffic)
--------------------------------
• 25 min. (11 mi./ 18 km) to Norfolk International Airport (ORF); no RI airport shuttle.

• 35 min. (20 mi./ 32 km) to Virginia Beach (I-264E).

• Minutes to Rt 58/ 337, Rt 460, I-264, I-64,...

Norfolk rush-hour traffic can be painful: ensure you've mapped out your commute *before* booking hotel to see in you've a reasonable commute. Allow yourself extra travel time initially until you become familiar with route & traffic patterns/ congestion. (Save yourself a river of tears.) GPS helps if you get stuck in traffic & need an alternative route pronto. TV channel 46, "Norfolk Traffic Channel," shows live video feeds of traffic at designated roadways, & relevant road/ traffic information before leaving room for daily trek.


Recommended
---------------------
Upscale, newer RI with hints of wear. Accumulation of suite's peculiarities may irk or not faze you at all. Spaciousness, floor-to-ceiling window view & downtown location trumps annoyances -- petty or egregious.

Overall, comfortable for short or long stays whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

(Interesting places to walk to/ explore noted in earlier review posted in April.)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to throughly review our hotel. This is some great feedback.

We will be sharing your comments in our daily standup meetings.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    113
    31
    20
    6
See reviews for
108
64
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Does not provide complimentary amenities like a razor and shaving cream. Limited number of TV stations, none hi-def, only HBO as a movie station. Stains and burn marks on the carpet. Seems the hallways are not heated during the winter time. One thing that I like free no hassle wi-fi (no usernames and passwords required like more expensive hotels), which appears to be very fast with good coverage. Great for smart phone users.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor report.

We do offer a variety of complimentary products as required by Marriott. I am sorry we did not have the product you were looking for during your stay.

Cox Cable has upgraded their cable service so we are in the process of upgrading all of our TV's to high definition. This project will be completed in January.

Thank you for letting us know about the burn mark so we can repair this room.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Room was clean, good location, good breakfast, room smelled clean and was well fitted out.
Parking across street seemed safe. Good workout area and pool, although they might need to bump up the chlorine.

We will stay at this place each time we visit Norfolk.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

We welcome you back and are happy you enjoyed your time at the Residence Inn Downtown.

If we can do anything to make your next trip more enjoyable please feel free to let us know.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Only in town for one night so didn't need a studio but was nice to have the extra space. Room was very clean as was all the common space. Very convenient location to walk to multiple restaurant choices. The parking information was confusing - hotel desk quoted one rate ($18), garage quoted a different rate ($12) and then, upon leaving, we were given a different rate ($3) - wonder what they would have charged us if we had our ticket validated at hotel desk as we were originally instructed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

We do appreciate you choosing the Residence Inn for your trip to Norfolk.
Parking can be confusing. The parking gargage is not an overnight garage so the daily parking is $12 per day. We have reserved the only overnight parking spaces in the garage so the charges are slightly higher and does include in and out priviledges.

We do hope you select our hotel should you have an opportunity to return to the area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baie comeau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Friendly staff, great room, excellent breakfasts, nice late lunches in the afternoon, great location , fair price, very clean everywhere, manager taking care if everything is allright,so are the employees too,an example to follow by every hotel, i would recommend to my best friends and my family members,again, it can't be better

Room Tip: just get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierrrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We do try to provide a clean room at a fair price in a great location. We are happy you enjoyed your time here in Norfolk and do hope you have the opportunity to return to the area.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We arrived at 1:20 pm, stood at the front desk for 2 mins while the desk clerk was speaking to another employee and keying into the computer, never acknowledging our presence stating "I'll be with you in a moment", etc. When she finally spoke to us we were told could not check in "early" as no rooms were ready. We then kindly requested to speak to a manager and were told one was not available, then asked to speak to a housekeeping supervisor, who was very polite and accommodating. We finally got into our suite at 2:30 pm after being subjected to a lecture by the desk clerk on the need to request "early check in at any hotel".

The suite itself was great, like a two bedroom apt with two full baths, living area and kitchen. Very roomy, great pillows. The Sunday breakfast only had two employees working diligently to keep up with the weekend rush. No meats at all, potatoes and eggs main foods and they went fast. A manager came in and offered extra seating for the weekend crowd.

Building very modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Cozy front lounge, cushy carpeting in halways. Pool and gym areas were clean, well appointed, great views. All in all a good stay despite poor first impression with desk clerk. It is convenient to all points of interest. Once you park in the deck ($18) no need to move until check out. They could offer at least one free night parking per stay.

Will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We did have an extremely busy with Old Dominion University homecoming and several weddings in house. We do try to get as many requests for early check-in/late check-outs as possible. During sold out weekends this can be very challenging.

I do apologize you were not acknowledged when you first walked into our hotel. Our guests should always come first.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlawn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn, downtown Norfolk, VA. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, orderly and well appointed. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet. With a refrigerator, microwave, cooking capabilities, dishwasher, etc. it was like a small apartment. The king-size bed was very comfortable but getting around the bed from one side was a tight squeeze. The TV was on a 360* swivel stand so watching from the living area or bed was simple. Two nights/week evening meals were available but we weren't there on those nights. The breakfast was excellent with real eggs, sausage, pan cakes, waffles, cereals, rolls, etc. Parking is across a narrow street in a secure, well-lighted and sheltered garage but its not free and the only drawback of this facility. I highly recommend this hotel for travelers and cruisers as it is near the port. The price is reasonable, especially for military. I've already made reservations for my next visit.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed at this hotel but only on specific floors; therefore, be sure and ask for a non-pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the nice comments about the hotel and the area.

We too are looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing