We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for 3.5 months while our condo was being repaired from water damage. The staff could not have been more caring, attentive and efficient. The accommodations were stylish and clean. We did not hear any other guests in adjoining rooms. The maid service left a daily note of encouragement knowing how much stress we were under. Friendly dinners 2-3 times a week and delicious daily breakfasts. Beautiful pool and exercise room. Tidy laundry room. Wonderful location in the heart of charming, historic Freemason neighborhood! We will be staying at RI nationwide from now on! Our room was even comfortable and not crowded when family visited. The lobby was cozy and comfortable with a fire going in the fireplace on chilly days along with fresh coffee 24/7. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE everything about this Residence Inn!

Room Tip: We were in room 609 which faced the south side and a view of the city and the church steeples from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you come back even if just to say hello. We hope your transition back into your home was easy and everything looks like new.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    113
    31
    21
    6
See reviews for
109
64
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I travel for work on a weekly basis. I happened to stay at this Residence inn and by far the BEST hotel stay of my past 12 months. From the front desk being friendly and making you feel like family to the smile and pleasantness of the housekeeping staff. I would like Linda Markert to know how well her staff is doing. I will FOREVER be a customer of this hotel from this day forward. If you would like a clean,comfortable room with friendly employees this is the place for you!!! Keep up the great work

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNicholsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your wonder review. We hope if you have a chance to return to Norfolk you again choose to stay with us at the Residence Inn Downtown.

I will be happy to share your comments with the staff.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here with family on March 29th. We were in town for my daughter's Admitted Students Day at Old Dominion University. Pros: Very nice rooms, close to stores and restaurants downtown. The pool area was small but still very nice. Cons: The only small negative thing I could think of is the breakfast. The breakfast was not as nice as some of the other Residence Inn's that I have stayed at. The selection was very small. Other than that, nice hotel for a weekend stay in downtown Norfolk

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very lucky to be so close to ODU. They are a good partner of ours.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our breakfast. Our breakfast is in compliance with the Marriott standard. If you would like to discuss how we could improve we would be happy to hear from you.

We do hope to see you back the the Residence Inn Downtown. Look for the ODU parent rate when traveling back to this area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My boys and I came to Norfolk to see my Navy son off for his deployment, and we stayed in a suite here; it was wonderful! The room was roomy and comfortable, amenities were amazing, and the staff was fabulous! The best sign of a great place to work is that employees are genuinely enjoying their jobs; this was the case here. Especially delightful was Maria at the front desk- will stay here again when we visit for my son's return!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
First, thank you for your son's service. We do wish him a safe deployment.

We are happy you had an opportunity to spend a few days with your son before his deployment. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn for your hotel. We do love our military family and friends.

We hope to see you before he returns from overseas and if not before when he returns. We would love to host his homecoming.

Thank you again for your kind comments about the staff.

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This an excellent hotel, ideal for long stays. I have stayed one week in an apartment.
The staff is great, and very helpful. It had a shopping service. The rooms were very well equiped. I would stay there again for sure.
They had gym and smimming pool, but I have not used it.
The only inconvenient for some(not my case): 15 minute walk for downtown.
The breakfast is excelellent, they have a large variaty of food available.
The hotel is very clean, the price a little bit high but it is worth it!
PS: I have satyed there in September 2012, not 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia_Jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in the states.

If your travel brings you back to this area we do hope you stay at the Residence Inn downtown.

Sincerely,



Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I am currently staying in this hotel and I will check out early tomorrow. I'm actually kinda sad that Im leaving because this one bedroom suite is so nice. They have brand new appliances in the kitchen and the bedroom itself is nicely decorated. The room has lots of space and the linens were clean and neat. They served dinner for my first three nights and it was ok. I wouldn't rate it a 10, but I was hungry and it did fill me up lol. The staff is very kind and they did take their times to great each guest. I was traveling back and forth to the Navy base and the drive was roughly 20 mins straight down 1 road. I suggest this hotel to anyone else wishing to visit Norfolk, VA.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side has no traffic, so I find it quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejazzylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
We do get attached to many of our long term guests and it is sad to see them leave. But... we are happy they can return home to their family and friends.

We have met some amazing people. Each person has stories to share and we love hearing about them.

We do hope you return to the Residence Inn if your journey brings you back to Norfolk.

Thank you for staying with us.

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Anyone who has stayed at a Residence Inn knows the drill. Suite, appliances, breakfast, fitness and pool. The RI Norfolk delivers an enhanced experience. The breakfast is great and the staff put out a great spread, opening exactly at 7am on a Sunday Morning. Overall, the front desk and maintainence were top notch. It helps that the hotel is newer than most of your other options.

The location of the hotel is a mixed bag. Two blocks north from the hotel puts you in a sketchy neighborhood, but 2 blocks south puts you at the MacArthur center. Two blocks east puts you at Scope arena & Chrysler hall. For us, it was great, but if you've stayed near the waterfront--this is not there.

As for parking, the hotel will funnel you to a garage across the street for $18. That seemed expensive to me on a weekend in Norfolk. There are 3 spaces across from the front door with meters, and a street of metered parking just west of the entrance. They don't charge on weekends or evenings, so we parked here for free. And also, check the room bill. We were charged initially for parking, even after I said we probably wont use the garage. It was no problem and it was taken off immediately.

The RI Norfolk is a great experience. If the parking gods are kind, as they were for us, you will be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhoove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are happy you received our "service so memorable" during your recent trip. We do hope you have a chance to return to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes for a properous New Year.

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing