We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service unmatched!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Customer service unmatched!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here for 9 days while dealing with a medical issue and I cannot express what a great hotel this was!!!! Location was central to the waterfront, Nauticus, downtown restaurants, the Chrysler Museum, a great mall called the MacArthur Center and more!! I was able to park my car and walk the entire week. The staff was beyond courteous and friendly from the front desk to management. I just cannot say enough about the excellent customer care. That's as important to me as are room accommodations which were perfect! I will only stay here the next time I'm back in Norfolk!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for you review.

We know hospital stays can be stressful. We are happy we made your time in Norfolk more enjoyable and hope that you return to the Residence Inn Downtown when you can enjoy all the wonderful restaurants and attractions we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    115
    32
    23
    6
See reviews for
112
68
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited Norfolk to see the Rubber Duck sculpture and picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Chrysler Museum. We were not disappointed. Upon arriving in Norfolk at 11:00 a.m., we stopped at the front desk to sort out parking in the public garage across the street before walking over to the museum and were pleasantly surprised to be offered an early check in. Our king studio was well-furnished, clean, and in good order. The lobby is spacious and cheerful. Maria at the front desk was very helpful with directions to restaurants and the nearby light rail stop. My husband is already talking about wanting to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are very excited to have "the Duck" so close to the hotel for the grand re-opening of our Chrysler Museum of Art.

If your travels bring you back to Norfolk we hope you again stay with us here at the Residence Inn Downtown.

Sincerely,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for 3.5 months while our condo was being repaired from water damage. The staff could not have been more caring, attentive and efficient. The accommodations were stylish and clean. We did not hear any other guests in adjoining rooms. The maid service left a daily note of encouragement knowing how much stress we were under. Friendly dinners 2-3 times a week and delicious daily breakfasts. Beautiful pool and exercise room. Tidy laundry room. Wonderful location in the heart of charming, historic Freemason neighborhood! We will be staying at RI nationwide from now on! Our room was even comfortable and not crowded when family visited. The lobby was cozy and comfortable with a fire going in the fireplace on chilly days along with fresh coffee 24/7. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE everything about this Residence Inn!

Room Tip: We were in room 609 which faced the south side and a view of the city and the church steeples from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you come back even if just to say hello. We hope your transition back into your home was easy and everything looks like new.

Best Regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I travel for work on a weekly basis. I happened to stay at this Residence inn and by far the BEST hotel stay of my past 12 months. From the front desk being friendly and making you feel like family to the smile and pleasantness of the housekeeping staff. I would like Linda Markert to know how well her staff is doing. I will FOREVER be a customer of this hotel from this day forward. If you would like a clean,comfortable room with friendly employees this is the place for you!!! Keep up the great work

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNicholsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your wonder review. We hope if you have a chance to return to Norfolk you again choose to stay with us at the Residence Inn Downtown.

I will be happy to share your comments with the staff.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here with family on March 29th. We were in town for my daughter's Admitted Students Day at Old Dominion University. Pros: Very nice rooms, close to stores and restaurants downtown. The pool area was small but still very nice. Cons: The only small negative thing I could think of is the breakfast. The breakfast was not as nice as some of the other Residence Inn's that I have stayed at. The selection was very small. Other than that, nice hotel for a weekend stay in downtown Norfolk

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda m, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very lucky to be so close to ODU. They are a good partner of ours.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our breakfast. Our breakfast is in compliance with the Marriott standard. If you would like to discuss how we could improve we would be happy to hear from you.

We do hope to see you back the the Residence Inn Downtown. Look for the ODU parent rate when traveling back to this area.

Best regards,

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My boys and I came to Norfolk to see my Navy son off for his deployment, and we stayed in a suite here; it was wonderful! The room was roomy and comfortable, amenities were amazing, and the staff was fabulous! The best sign of a great place to work is that employees are genuinely enjoying their jobs; this was the case here. Especially delightful was Maria at the front desk- will stay here again when we visit for my son's return!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
First, thank you for your son's service. We do wish him a safe deployment.

We are happy you had an opportunity to spend a few days with your son before his deployment. Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn for your hotel. We do love our military family and friends.

We hope to see you before he returns from overseas and if not before when he returns. We would love to host his homecoming.

Thank you again for your kind comments about the staff.

Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This an excellent hotel, ideal for long stays. I have stayed one week in an apartment.
The staff is great, and very helpful. It had a shopping service. The rooms were very well equiped. I would stay there again for sure.
They had gym and smimming pool, but I have not used it.
The only inconvenient for some(not my case): 15 minute walk for downtown.
The breakfast is excelellent, they have a large variaty of food available.
The hotel is very clean, the price a little bit high but it is worth it!
PS: I have satyed there in September 2012, not 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia_Jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIDTWN, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in the states.

If your travel brings you back to this area we do hope you stay at the Residence Inn downtown.

Sincerely,



Linda Markert, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing