We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of all views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“View of all views”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

From the moment we walked in without a reservation, we were treated superbly by the staff. Our river view rooms were absolutely stunning!! The hot tubs on the pool deck are sublime with an incredible view of the shipyards. The whole experience was spectacular and I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank imaxmyrtlebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Even if you do not have a reservation, our door is always open. We are very fortunate to have a woderful view of downtown Norfolk and the Elizabeth River as you experienced from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    342
    168
    62
    53
See reviews for
158
188
37
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having stayed in this hotel many, many times and each and every time experience some sort of problem, I have finally given up on it, and have switched my business to the Sheraton across the street, the Norfolk Marriott Waterside should be stripped of the Marriott name, on my last visit to the hotel, upon checking into the room, I picked up the phone to order room service and was refused by the order taker who told me that she was showing the room as vacant, I again called back and had to talk her into delivering my request , she agreed with the stipulation that I pay cash, I agreed bt had no intention of doing so, when the order arrived I tipped the server and told him to call a manager if she had a problem with it and also told him that it is not my problem that she shows the room as empty, and that rather than upset a guest she should have called the front desk to confirm that in fact the room was occupied rather than to upset a guest, previous times i have ordered breakfast from room service, wake up calls all of which were never executed,I was told that "they forgot", It seems at this hotel they like to challenge there guest, I could go on and on with other problems but why bother, you can find out for yourself if you so choose to!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Railroadguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced. Service to our guests is of the utmost importance to all of our employees. Your comments have been shared with all departments so that we may improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Growing up in the area, this was the first time that I was able to stay at the Marriott as the newest luxury hotel downtown (although 20 years)...as a native it is still newer.

Great location, walking distance to Waterside, and a long walk to MacArthur center. As a Platinum member was upgraded to a corner room on the top (24th) floor with a view of Waterside, Nauticus, etc.

Room was small compared to other Marriott's that I stayed out, but it was very quiet and bed was comfy. Internet was free as a Platinum member, though I had to call to the desk as my computer kept wanting me to accept a $9.95 charge....they told me not to worry, and it did not show up on the bill.

Since it was the weekend, the concierge lounge was closed, but was given a free breakfast buffet in the Dining Room, which was quite good (Omelettes, Waffles, etc)...

Parking was a little confusing. There are two self park garages (the one connected to the hotel is not the best one to park in...the one across the street is connected via skyway....garages are operated by the city and are $12 for an overnight normally, with no in and out privilges, or $19 for in and out. Did get lucky as a special event was going on at Town Point Park. Parking was a flat $5 for the evening which gave me from 9:00pm to 7:00am, then just paid $2 more to stay until 8:30, so total parking charge was $7.

Got the room for a AAA rate of $99...Best choice to stay downtown if you really plan on it, but next time, likely to stay in the suburbs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason31574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Welcome back home and thank you for staying with us here at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of the great benefits of being a Platinum member such as the free upgrade, complimentary internet, access to the concierge lounge and free breakfast on the weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Some of the rooms don't have curtains you can close beyond the standard lace curtains.. You get charged to access the internet in your room ($10 per device, yes your smartphone is extra).. C'mon hardly any hotel charges for internet these days (I am writing this from another hotel room, no extra charge for internet)... the furntire is somewhat old and dowdy my deak chair leaned all the way back providing no back support. Fortunately the staff a pretty friendly so the problems were resolved.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced. We are scheduled to start renovations of the sleeping rooms within the year to address some of your problems. Our guests can access free wi-fi in the Dining Room, Piano Lounge, concierge lounge, Shula's 347 Grill and the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The room was spacious and clean with a great view. Shula's restaurant adjoins the hotel so there is no need to travel for dinner! Those eligible for the Executive Lounge may enjoy omlettes made to order in the morning along with other treats during the day. The stay was very pleasant. There was an issue with the internet but the staff cheerfully compensated for the inconvenience. The MacArthur mall is a 5 min walk away --- and worth the walk! The hotel is across the street from the small Waterside Mall. Take a walk in the park or a ferry ride to Portsmouth (5 minutes ~ $1). Some parking is available on the street or under the hotel. We look forward to another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you found the rooms to be spacious and clean. We are very fortunate to be centrally located to MacArthur Mall, Waterside, Town Point Park, Nauticus and all the restaurants and shops on Granby Street as you found out during your visit. The next time you indulge in your passion and travel east, please make sure you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hotel is in a great location. Room was quiet and everything worked well. Agree with other reviewers that the internet is not top-notch. Hotel is also a little dowdy. Staff makes up for these issues as all were friendly and professional.

I would stay here again if in Norfolk on business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay and our friendly and professional staff. We are scheduled to start renovations of the sleeping rooms within the year. As a seasoned world traveler, if we are going to surprise a guest it should be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I first stayed at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott in 1992 and the property continues to impress. Service is ALWAYS top notch and responsive to my needs. Rooms are well decorated and in good condition..ask for high floors with the water view, it is very impressive. Spend some time in the sixth floor hot tubs with the view of Navy ships in drydock, and the ferry and water taxis scurrying about the harbor. If you are lucky, an aircraft carrier will pass by on its way to the naval shipyard.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay and being a loyal guest since 1992. In the hospitality profession, the staff to guest interaction is always the most memorable and important part of any stay. We are glad that you always found our service to be top notch and responsive to all of your needs. Hopefully we will see you soon, the next time you head south on 95.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing