We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So - So”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Very nice staff and nice size room. Arrived a little earlier than check in and although they had a full house the night before and expecting another full house (nightmare for housekeeping) we got into our room within a few minutes. Everything was in order, no surprises. Down side - pay to park, different rates for some reason, $12 for overnight parking and $19 if you plan to use your car to come and go. Pay to use internet - $9.95 a day, ouch. Go across the street to Starbucks. No refrigerator or microwave in our room. Did not need it, but if you do, better ask. Pool/fitness area on 6th floor roof top very nice.

Room Tip: If you want a micorwave/frig, better ask. Not in every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit. We are glad that we were able to get you checked in to your room within a few minutes. Please accept our sincere apology for the rate differences for parking, the City of Norfolk owns the garage and sets the charges. Both refrigerators and microwaves are available to our guests free of charge. In addition, there is free wi fi in the lobby, Shula's 347 Grill, Piano Lounge, Dining Room and Concierge Lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were promptly upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the city when we asked for a room with a view, because we are Marriott Gold members. We enjoyed the Concierge service of free breakfast in the morning, lovely appetizers at 5:30 and yummy desserts at 7:30.
The pool was very nice with a deck overlooking the water, albeit, lots of construction. The main lobby and second floor entrance into the dining room is appointed elegantly in dark wood. Our stay was very comfortable and the staff contributed to this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments and being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. The complimentary breakfast and lovely appetizers and desserts in the evenings are our way of saying thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great hotel with courteous staff, excellent view, and comfortable rooms with many having a microwave and refrigerator. The on site restaurant serves excellent food at a reasonable price and the parking garage is free but they do charge for internet service. Many great restaurants are within walking distance as is a large mall two blocks away. The USS Wisconscin is also two blocks away. The hotel is conveniently located near on and off ramps for the interstate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. As you experienced during your visit, we are very fortunate to be centrally located close to restaurants, shopping, museums and parks. We are glad that we could provide you with "courteous staff, excellent view and comfortable rooms," during your visit to Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed here for a conference last fall and am just now getting around to writing this. I made the reservations for myself and several coworkers. One of them got there a day ahead of everyone else and had trouble checking in since the reservation was under my name, so I had to resolve that over the phone with the front desk. I myself checked in at around 2:00 a.m. due to a commitment that kept me from leaving home at a reasonable hour, but check-in was smooth and I was given a room on the concierge floor (maybe because I'm a Rewards member, not sure). All in all, it was a nice hotel and the staff was very friendly, so I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank CosmoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay last fall. For security reasons, we cannot let guests check into rooms that are not reserved under their name. We are glad that we could get this situation resolved for you and your fellow co-workers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Not much to say here that hasn't already been said in other reviews. This was an overnight stay (Friday night). Hotel is in a great location in downtown Norfolk. You can either use the valet parking or self-park in a garage across the street. If you use the garage ($12/overnight), you should park on the 3rd or 4th floor because there is an above ground covered walkway from the garage to the hotel located on the 3rd floor. Check-in and out were quick and seamless. As a gold member, you get free wi-fi and the breakfast buffet is included on weekends (probably because the concierge lounge is closed during that time). The room was relatively small, but it did have a small fridge which was useful. Watch out for the water pressure in the shower - it's pretty strong. Getting a room on a high floor is a plus, with views of the water or of Portsmouth nearby (nothing great, but nice to have a view from above). However, the elevators tend to be slow, so patience is needed. If you're going to eat out, do your research first, because you may want to just eat at Shula's (which is a steakhouse in the hotel). We ventured out the Norfolk Chop House and after a disappointing meal, ended up at Shula's for a couple of drinks (and almost a second dinner). Service at the Marriott was great, and all questions were answered. Starbucks is right across the street and the Naval Museum is at the end of the street (a short walk). In sum, it was a good stay and we'd consider staying there again if we end up downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and preferably with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoosTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay and being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. We are glad that you recieved great service and that we could answer all of your questions during your visit. We agree with you 100% when you said that you "want to just eat at Shula's."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After checking in, went up to my floor (20th) and as soon as the elevator doors opened, a nasty humid, mildew smell hit me full force. It smelled as if the floor had flooded at one point several months ago and they never cleaned it up. Not a good start.
Walk into my room and there are black marks all over the walls as if someone was moving furniture before I got there but not carefully at all.
The 32” tv (actually nice) was way on the opposite side of the room from the bed. I had to turn the volume up to 20 before I could hear it.
The alarm clock was an old, brown 1980s clock with knobs on the side and everything. The chair was from the ‘60s. I was surprised not to find shag carpets on the floor.
I came back from work the next afternoon and there was soda spilled on the front door to my room, still wet and bubbly like it was recent. Called to have it cleaned...no response.
The wake up call I asked for Wednesday morning never happened…and I got the heck out of there that morning.
And the steakhouse on the 1st floor….way overpriced…could’ve gotten similar quality food at the Outback a block away for half the price. But at least I got points for eating there.

Room Tip: Not the 20th floor but the higher you go, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadbuttrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced. Your comments have been shared with all departments in order to improve our service to all of our guests. The rooms are scheduled for renovation at the end of this year. The next time you head south on 95, hopefully you can come see us again and our newly renovated rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had an unexpected surprise trip to Norfolk for my bachelorette party and ended up staying the night at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. The room was very nice from the comfy beds to the bathroom. I really enjoyed our water view from the 15th floor. It was stunning! The hotel is only about a block away from Granby Street which has some great restaurants and bars!

The following morning we had breakfast at The Dining Room which was a buffet with all of the standard breakfast food, plus an omelet station and waffle station for $13.99. It was very good!

All of the staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful with any and everything! It was a very memorable stay!

Room Tip: Get a water view room! The 15th floor view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thitt, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments abour your recent visit and letting us be a part of your special day. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy downtown Norfolk's night life, which is only blocks from the hotel. After enjoying a restful night's sleep, a delicious breakfast in our dining room with made to order omletes and waffles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £98 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing