We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable Marriott”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott while attending a wedding. The hotel was charming and quite comfortable. The room was clean and bring and had great views of the water. The staff was very accommodating and the check-in & check-out process was seamless. Restaurant offered buffet breakfast, service was a little slow, but the restaurant was crowded.
The hotel is easy to get to as Norfolk goes and they offer valet parking or across-the-street self park garage with a connecting bridge to hotel. The Marriott is near an upscale mall, near the waterside park, near the battleship Wisconsin, and near some great little eateries. The area surrounding the Marriott appears to be going through a facelift or renovation so some roads are closed. Highly recommend the Marriott Waterside if you're staying downtown Norfolk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShermanSUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us, while you were attending a local wedding. We are glad that you chose us to be a part of this special day and that we could provide you with a charming and comfortable environment to stay in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    344
    169
    64
    53
See reviews for
159
191
37
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Thank you so much Rameka (front desk) from the making of the reservation to check out. My son enjoyed his birthday weekend.....he had no complaints, Thank you for your patience & assurance that everything would be fine. Each & every time I called you were there to answer my questions and I appreciate that considering I was calling from another state...it's rare plans work out as planned....it was an enjoyable weekend, his stay was great, the room & service was EXCELLENT! And it all started with you... :) THANKS AGAIN...!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
It is always our intent to make sure that all of our guest have a great experince like the one you and your son had. We are glad that you chose us to be a part of your son's birthday celebration and that Rameka and all of our staff could make this a special day for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Attended this past weekend for a Navy Function, beautiful beautiful beautiful hotel! the lobby, the ball rooms, the terrace and the view, very disappointed with the room cleanliness though, the decor was very nice in the room, but went to the bathroom and my husband pointed out the wet area above the lighting fixture, it had mold and needed to be redone because of the water damage, plus the entry door looked as if someone broke it off to get it and did a botch paint job to cover it, wish the room reflected the beauty of this hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadesha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are glad that you found the hotel to be "beautiful, beautiful, beautiful." The issues with the room have been shared with all departments to help improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had to be in Norfolk for business and was very pleased with my stay. I probably would not choose to stay here unless I had a reason to be in the immediate area, as at night the surrounding area seemed to quiet down and nearly close completely. That said, the hotel is very nice. Staff was quite accommodating and allowed me to check in early. The room was newly renovated and the bed was comfortable. Both the bathroom and the room could certainly have been larger, but unless you're a family of 4 trying to stay in one room I wouldn't think this is a problem. The concierge lounge staff was quite accommodating, and I would definitely recommend this Marriott over the Westin Virginia Beach if you need to be in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skifree619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent visit from up north. As you noticed, we just finished renovating all of our guest rooms in February. The surrounding area is also going through a transition period as the city is deciding what direction to take the waterside area. The next time you visit, make sure you explore Granbt Sreet. Only a block away from the hotel, it consists of several blocks of shops, restaurants and bars where there is definately night life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I attended a social function at the Norfolk, Virginia Marriott Waterside in July 2013. The room was not overly large, but it was more than adequate for the two of us. The hotel staff was very accommodating and the service was very good. The hotel sits one block from the Elizabeth River and many Norfolk attractions such as a world war two Iowa class battleship which is open for tours. The hotel is located such that most places are reached by walking. We drove to Norfolk, but never took our car out of the garage. The hotel represented a great value for the amenities provided. We would definitely stay there on our next visit to this historical venue.
I don't know what the other reviewers expected, but my experience was definitely better than theirs.

Room Tip: Once you see your room, if it doesn't meet your expectations ask to move to a different room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. As you witnessed during your stay, we are centrally located within walking distance to almost everything in downtown Norfolk. Sometimes it is nice to be able to park your car and not worry about driving to different places in an unfamiliar town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Marriott says it all with regard to the hotel and conditions. I've stayed at quite a few and have never been disappointed. Norfolk Waterside is no exception.

Beautiful facility, rooms, view with excellent pool and gym.

Incredible view from 6th floor patio/pool area.

Service.. see other reviews and I would concur. Disinterested and insincere.

We booked a discounted room and I tend to look the other way with regard to service as a result... but... one incident stands out. I had traveled 23 hours on the road to meet up with my son who is stationed in Norfolk. He was already checked in so when I was nearing the destination I asked him to bring a luggage cart out to the garage to meet me to bring in the luggage and care packages. When he asked for a cart the bell hops where very dismissive of his request if not rude. He gave up and just met me in the garage. It didn't bother him that they wouldn't let him use it but it bothered me... He was more than eager to make a couple trips bringing our things in but to be refused the use of a baggage cart seems a bit over the top too me. I understand the bellhops where protecting their tips and probably think those of us that choose to care for ourselves as cheapskates. He was a paying to stay in the hotel as a guest and any reasonable guest request should be fulfilled.. they acted as tho he was a hooligan and they don't let just anybody use the carts... anyway enough on that.

You can count on a beautiful view, great location and a clean quiet room.

Penny saver tip use the parking on Main as suggested in other reviews... 3rd floor sky-walk right into the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebigticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for not allowing your son to use a luggage cart. You are correct when you stated that any reasonable guest request should be fulfilled and in this case we failed. Regardless of what you are paying for a room or how you booked the room, you are a valued guest and should be treated as one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

As a frequent Marriott goer, I have come to expect a certain level of customer service. The staff was inattentive, and unfriendly. I had purchased a special deal through the hotel website offering Champaign and strawberries, I had to call 3 times to have them sent up as they were not waiting for me in the room. The hallways smelled of mildew, and the carpets was dingy. Charging what they do in comparison to the Courtyard Marriott which is down the road, your money would be better spent staying at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Stay at the Courtyard down the road. Its not beach front, but the service is better, the rooms are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experinced during your recent visit. There is no reason why you should have had to call three times to get your amenity delivered to your room. Any time a guest states that it is not what they expected, we hope that it was becasue we went above and beyond their expectations and not becasue we did not meet them. Your comments have been shared with all departments to improve our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing