We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location , Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Orlando
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location , Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Norfolk close to the Waterside/Nauticus area. It is connected via enclosed walkways to both Waterside and two adjacent parking garages. The MacArthur Center Mall is a short walk away. The feature of the area is the plethora of good restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel itself is old, but well maintained. The rooms are relatively small and nicely appointed. Staff assistance and attention was fantastic. The front desk, concierge lounge, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. My only complaint was that my room was cleaned very late on two occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are very fortunate to be located in central dwontown Norfolk within walking distance to most of the major attractions. These include Town Point Park, Nauticus Museum, USS Wisconsin, MacArthur Mall, Half Moon Cruise Terminal and Granby Street with all the shops and restaurants. It is always nice to hear the word fantastic when one of our guest describe our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    338
    162
    59
    52
See reviews for
154
186
37
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stay at this hotel often it's is consistently a comfortable well staffed hotel. I love that it's attached to an inside parking garage so in inclement weather you never get wet.

The room was a good size and always comfortable. This last stay it was quiet, and enjoyable. Shula's bar was a lot of fun and the bartender was excellent.

The location puts it in the heart of Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are fortunate to have two garages attached to the hotel which are owned by the City of Norfolk. Not only are the convenient for our guests but as you observed, they are very nice to have during inclement weather. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our restaurant, Shula's 347 Grill, where it looks like you had a lot of fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Travelled here on a business trip perfect for my needs, nice rooms not far too the local mall, Starbucks over the road, nice hotel bar and restaurant, norfolk strip and bars pretty boring if I'm honest, good business trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north12345john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments about your last business trip to the hotel. As a seasoned world traveler, we are glad that we could accommodate all your needs and wants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying at the waterside right now. Checked in today. First room had urine on the toilet seat and the second had a long black hair on the bed. The third room is cleaner but the bathroom door won't close all the way and gets stuck if slammed closed. The hotel was supposedly renovated 6 months ago but is showing a lot of wear and tear and frankly, is not that clean. Also, oddly, this hotel does not have a concierge in the lobby - supposedly one is available on the premium "concierge" floor but not available for regular hotel guests. I have stayed in many Marriotts and have traveled a lot, and this one leaves me darn disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you had over your recent visit. There is no excuse for the problems that you encountered in your room. We take comments from our guest very seriously and work hard every day to be better host to all of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've attended Holiday parties at this hotel for the past 2 years. Each year the food has be awful! It's either cold, tough or just doesn't look appealing. Last year, they didn't follow our diagram for the tables and we had to re-arrange everything our self's because they had other parties going on and couldn't afford to pull any of there staff. The rooms are dated and in much need of a renovation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etermy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you have had in the past. Your comments have been shared with our banquet department in order to improve our service to all of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Rooms were comfortable, but you could hear all the street noise, especially the jack hammer until 11pm every night! All staff was friendly, but couldn't make up for the sub-par conference food. At our last conference dinner, the mashed potatoes seemed like they had been plated for an hour and were like concrete and the chicken was beyond dry. This was a conference and the location was nice, but I would not choose to return.

Room Tip: choose a room on the opposite side from the street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit during your conference. Please accept our sincere apology for the street noise outside the hotel. Unbeknownst to us, the city of Norfolk decided that 11pm was a good time to work on the street. Your comments have been shared with our culinary team and we are working very hard to rectify these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott while attending a wedding. The hotel was charming and quite comfortable. The room was clean and bring and had great views of the water. The staff was very accommodating and the check-in & check-out process was seamless. Restaurant offered buffet breakfast, service was a little slow, but the restaurant was crowded.
The hotel is easy to get to as Norfolk goes and they offer valet parking or across-the-street self park garage with a connecting bridge to hotel. The Marriott is near an upscale mall, near the waterside park, near the battleship Wisconsin, and near some great little eateries. The area surrounding the Marriott appears to be going through a facelift or renovation so some roads are closed. Highly recommend the Marriott Waterside if you're staying downtown Norfolk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShermanSUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorWatMar, General Manager at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us, while you were attending a local wedding. We are glad that you chose us to be a part of this special day and that we could provide you with a charming and comfortable environment to stay in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#12 of 37 in Norfolk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Waterside Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Property: Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Address: 235 E Main St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1668
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Waterside Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in our newly renovated accommodations seamlessly combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a downtown Norfolk hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River waterfront, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel combines stunning river views with marble accents, classic wood styling and eclectic artwork. From its convenient connection to the Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Children's Museum of Virginia, Norfolk Naval Station or the Virginia Zoo, our location is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier Norfolk, VA hotel fitness center complete with personal TVs, or relax after sightseeing at Shula's 347, serving renowned cuisine within this hotel in Norfolk, VA. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or execute grand galas in over 60,000 sq ft of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Waterside Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel Norfolk
Marriott Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing