We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was friendly, rooms clean but run down, ac was...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I wanted an inexpensive place to stay close to norfolk before we spent the rest of the week at Virginia Beach oceanfront. At first it seemed a tad sketchy due to it was very few people at the hotel and the neighborhood has seen better days. However the man at the front desk was very nice and check-in was a breeze. Let me first say I am NOT a hilton type of girl, but I like to feel comfortable and safe. We are a hard working family that saves for months for a nice vacation and I do not like to waste hundreds on a room I dont plan to spend alot of time in. However, I do expect a clean and secure. This was a perfect place for us. The room was clean with decent beds plenty of towels. The pool was nice, someone had left some trash around and dirty socks....why? seriously pick up after yourselves. There is a free breakfast of cereal/bananas/yogurt/waffles/donuts/danishes/juices/coffee....that was nice. There were five of us and that saved a ton instead of going out. Tables were set up to eat on or it was not an issue to take it back to your room. As for the "beach" there is a walkway to your own private area which is gorgeous. You can fish, swim, sunbathe. There are no waves to boogie board, its a small area sectioned off by rocks. There is a pier with a restaurant within a mile...but really there isnt much else. I wouldnt walk too far, like I said the area has seen its better days. Downtown norfolk is a close drive...go see the Battleship and walk around at waterside. Like I said if you are expecting the Hilton, this is not the place for you.....if you want a nice family place with a gorgeous view and relaxed atmosphere for unbelievably cheap this is your place.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, you will have to stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulWPHOTOandDESIGNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wish there were closer restaurants closer. But it's nice to have the beach right there without all the people like va. Beach- or the pool which is beautiful. Enjoyed out stay . We will be back soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tami Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Arek K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
7.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2 mi away
The Bay Inn
The Bay Inn
#17 of 37 in Norfolk
18 reviews
8.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-1316 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing