We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Best things first: Very friendly staff; without fail they always greeted you, from front desk to maids. Nice people. Room was clean and quiet. Not best: Poor breakfast. Business center had a computer that was very slow. The fitness center was in a very small room with a limited amount of exercise equipment. Over all, this is a good place to stay if you aren't looking for much in the way of amenities.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    151
    74
    52
    29
See reviews for
208
71
36
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is an older one. They are in the middle of renovating, so there were ome mild inconveniences. However, we didn't have hot water to shower with one day while there. The staff were great and attentive. The room was really nice...outdated carpets as well as some fixtures, but very clean and comfortable. While the hotel was conveniently located close to our ultimate destination, there is a huge power pad next door that emits different sounds throughout the day and night. No internet access the entire second day/night which I really needed to have on this particular day.

Room Tip: Stayed on the North side of hotel...might be quieter to stay on South side, but South rooms are unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you Susan8696 for your feedback and for your gracious review.
The property is indeed 20 years old and although the rooms were renovated in 2007, we are expecting another round of renovations soon. As you noticed our lobby was just recently completed which makes a dramatic impact. I'm not sure why you were unable to connect to our complimentary high speed internet, and your review is unclear if you were able to work with either our desk staff or the technology help line for further assistance. As for the power station next door, we do not have any control over our location. You can always request a southside room or ear plugs during your next visit if the sounds become loud enough to disturb you.
I am very pleased to hear that the staff was "awesome" as we have worked very hard to promote a high level of service and respect.
I hope that we will see you again during your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Barbara Barrington
Assistant General Manager/ Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algona, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location near the Norfolk Naval Station. Our room was clean and very comfortable. I really liked the pillows!! The breakfast was average compared to other places we've stayed. The tables in the breakfast area were all decorated with fall decorations...a nice touch! The desk clerks were all very friendly and welcoming. Internet service seemed to be very slow. It is a place that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at ODU. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is convenient for ODU, the naval base, or downtown Norfolk. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was looking for a hotel close to Norfolk Naval Station for the homecoming of the USS Enterprise. I was not expecting very much and was pleasantly surprised. The Hampton Inn is a quick 5 min drive to the base, so it was very convenient.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful and made me feel very comfortable. My room was immaculate and the cleaning staff had taken many measures to make my room warm and inviting. The king size bed was extremely comfortable!
There was a very nice indoor pool and exercise room. The continental breakfast was excellent as was the area that it was served in.
It was a quick and easy drive from the Norfolk Airport and was conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants, pharmacy and a grocery store.
I highly recommend the Hampton inn Naval Base in Norfolk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed in 03/12. Had a horrible experience! Crumbling bathroom tile. Bathroom smelled like smoke and became steamy and hot because the fan didnt work. Entire room smelled musty. Reported broken exhaust fan to manager who did not seem at all surprised. She said they would send someone to fix it. The next day maintanance informed me that it could not be fixed because they were waiting on a part. I told the manager and she advised me that the real reason it could not be fixed was that they they were in the process of replacing the fans. Why had she waisted our time senind a repair person? Manger offered to move us to another room for tour second night. Seemed like she should never have put us in that roon in the first place. Didnt offer to compensate us for the inconvenience. Seemed indifferent. Sent an email to corporate office. They said they were "sorry that we did not neet your standards" but offered no credit. They claim that " If you’re not satisfied, we don’t expect you to pay", but did not honor that. Dont be fooled!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmoresunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken with the traveler directly and confirmed this review WAS NOT at the Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base. Unfortunately, they did stay at another Hampton Inn in Hampton Roads and although that hotel is no longer affiliated with the Hilton Family, we do apologize on behalf of all Hampton Inns that you felt you were not given the full guarantee. We firmly stand behind our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and look forward to serving you in the future.
- Barbara Barrington
Assistant General Manager/Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The location was convenient to Old Dominion University where we spent 3 days at a tournament, the hotel was very clean, beds were comfortable, the continental breakfast was very good. The indoor pool was refreshing after spending all day in the heat! I would recommend the Hampton Inn

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballmom1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing