We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very convenient hotel when flying in and out of the Naval Passenger Terminal Norfolk. Comfy beds, clean rooms and great service. Indoor pool is a plus and a nice fitness center and breakfast area. Breakfast was a typical HI breakfast, but we were happy to see that it changed when we stayed for our return flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Teri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    149
    73
    51
    29
See reviews for
204
70
35
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Don't know why but I haven't been contacted concerning these lost items. I know I left them on the luggage cart by the elevator on the first floor. contacted management and was told they would let me know if housekeeping found them but haven't heard from anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank jandg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale City, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I came to Norfolk, VA to celebrate our grandson's birthday. Upon our arrival, the staff (Mr. Scot Rose, General Manager greeted us and our check-in was very smooth. Overall, our stay was fantastic and my wife and I would like to thank Mr. Scot Rose help make our stay great. Thanks Scot!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank larryw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had to book this hotel for a trip on business. Everyone else on our team had booked this and I was asked to book this hotel for some corporate discount reasons. Its one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed. the carpets are old and dingy, bathroom floors are not clean and the worst part NO HOT water and i wouldn't eat that breakfast even if its free.

so after we checked in, I stepped into the shower and there was no hot water and i thought may be i should let the water run for sometime. no better results. so i take a cold shower and later call the front desk and complained that there is no hot water. I was expecting to hear "oh, sorry, we will get you another room" . but guess what i heard " oh, sorry about that, we have hot water issues with some of our rooms. you have to let the water run in the sink and tub for some time and then you will get hot water".

i was like ok.
next morning i let the water run for like 10 min .. .10 min from both pipes and still no hot water.
another member of our team had the same issue.

the worst part is, they are still make those rooms available for booking without resolving the issue. am never going to stay at a hampton again.

Room Tip: if you end up booking at this hotel for reasons like mine, i would suggest you call them ahead and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Not a great neighborhood and hotel is run down. Appears that Hampton attempted to upgrade, but still an old hotel. Breakfast was not put out at the identified time. We were on a bus tour and needed to leave at a particular time, but hotel staff did not have the buses loaded on time which delayed our departure by nearly 30 minutes. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The front desk staff at the Hampton, in Norfolk were efficient and accommodating. I had arrived in Norfolk, two hours earlier than, my scheduled check in. Even with a local college basketball tournament in town, they were still able to accommodate, my early check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gracet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was a nice room but the heating system was very loud. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. There isnt a lot of space to eat breakfast but the food was okay. It was located in a great area with lots around you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 549nataliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing