We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Oakland, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were able to get a room on short notice and the staff-Josh- was very helpful. We had a good night's sleep and a good breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this motel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    157
    75
    52
    29
See reviews for
216
74
36
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at Hampton Inn at Norfolk Naval Base. Found the staff to be courteous and the room clean and quiet. As I was there for a business trip in the naval base, the location is excellent. Only problem I encountered was the cold water in the morning was hot. Had to run the bathtub tap for a few minutes to alleviate this, but overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveling stop on way to wedding in NJ. Nothing special about this place. Location was 15 minutes
from historic district where we had a great dinner. The breakfast was just ok. Basically, this place is due for a makeover i.e. worn out carpet, rust in shower, etc. Located next to 24 hour container terminal so difficult to sleep due to noise of loading/unloading ships.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintJamesSeaSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff was most professional and pleasant. The room was clean and very comfortable, especially the bed. The complimentary breakfast had a wide selection of food and beverages that should satisfy any taste.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had to stay overnight for my daughter's college preview day. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The front desk help was friendly and helpful. The comp. breakfast was pretty good, though I had to take it and run. Would stay here again, and would recommend it. The only drawback was the pillows could be a little more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Korky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room was dirty. The carpet was a mess. The room smelled. Any noise in rooms around you or in the hallway was heard. The hotel was located on the base and if you need to be in the base early, you can't beat being in front of all of the traffic. If you get in the room and find it not up to your liking, make sure to evoke your 100% satisfaction guarantee. I got in at 11pm and left before 6. I didn't know before I had left that I could have gotten a new room or my points back. Stay if you need to, find another location if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

very convenient to base. room was fine and staff are helpful. bed was very good for sleeping and it is rare to find a good bed in a hotel. There are places to eat within walking distance including Ruby Tuesday, good Pizza Hut and several fast food places. only negative comment was that breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing