We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed 25 July 2014

great customer service, friendly staff, all areas of the hotel were spotless BUT the beds were horrible to sleep on -woke up aching terribly-myself and my husband and our great-granddaughter, very accomadating

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is nice but nothing special. I did not like the fact that we were not told about having to pay extra for the breakfast at check in because I would have done so. We were there for a ball tournament and it rained. I wanted to cancel two of the three nights there and were told I needed to give 48 hours notice. So I did for the last night and the manager came out and told me there was a three night minimum. Not very helpful! just did not enjoy my experience there at all but the hotel was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

When walking in, the lobby is not like the other doubletree hotels. It could use some updates. The room and hallway has a 1980 feel to it. The carpets are sticky and the ceiling has many patches. The toilet was moving when flushing, the bathroom needs some work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We cannot make a difference without your comments! I will have Housekeeping check the areas as to where your room was located to ensure the carpets are taken care of. My engineering team will take care of the issues outlined in the room that you stayed in. Thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention.

Lee Severino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

While attending a presentation of a plaque for a captain's gig (a boat used by a naval vessel's captain to go between ship and shore) being placed on USS WISCONSIN in Norfolk, we chose to stay at the Double Tree near the airport. GREAT staff, from desk to room to dining room made the stay comfortable and easy. We even stayed an extra day!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments! We are striving to make sure each guest takes away a memorable experience!

Lee Severino
Gnerela Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we stayed at this hotel for family vacation on July the 18th the rooms were a little damp.The staff was friendly and guest services was very helpful, I went to Debbie for everything and we had four rooms on the first floor and she was right on point.Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodholloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We appreciate your comments! I have my Engineering department checking into the damp feeling on the First floor as described. You just confirmed to me that Debbie deserves a promotion!

Kind Regards!

Lee Severino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I loved coming back to this hotel after work everyday. The staff was very friendly and warm. I felt 'at home' here. The only thing I had trouble with was internet. The hotel has wifi and GOV laptops aren't allowed to use wifi. I would stay here again as long as it was a short trip due to no access to email.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your great comments!!! In less than two weeks we should have a bandwidth upgrade in place that should exceed expectations. Additionally, we have just received a supply of bridges for Government use! Just ask the desk the next time that you in and they will take care of you.

Look forward to your next stay!

Lee Severino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I had a horrible experience with a different hotel so I changed hotels mid stay and chose Double tree. The look of the place was welcoming. There were baggage carts right up front for me. The service was great. They welcomed me with a warm cookie. I was checked in and in my room within 5 minutes. The rooms are very clean and quaint. There is a restaurant and full bar on the main floor. Serves breakfast lunch and dinner until 11pm. Pool and fitness center are lovely. What a great place! Keep it up

Room Tip: First floor was smoking rooms. Any of the others are good! I was on the third floor. No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AColey48 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! I am glad that you had a great experience! Please feel free to reach out to me directly the next time that you are in town.

Lee Severino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 1500 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1800 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: £63 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing