We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with great views of the river.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect location with great views of the river.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

First time to this part of US, and it is clean, tidy and a great place. The hotel is as it says - on the waterfront with close access to riverside walks, bars, restaurants and the Nautico naval museum (which is a really interesting place to visit).
The hotel staff are very friendly, and the omelettes at breakfast are highly recommended! There is also the Douglas MacArthur museum which again is worthy of a visit. This man was truly remarkable. I stayed 2 nights Friday & Saturday, but wished I had longer to explore the area some more.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneHilton1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are delighted we had the opportunity to welcome you to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and happy to know that our waterfront location worked out so perfectly for your visit. As a first time visitor to our area, it seems like you truly made the most out of your weekend stay and visited many of the top attractions in Norfolk. We hope you'll have the chance to visit with us again for a more extended visit, as there is certainly much more to see! Thank you for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    229
    201
    113
    106
See reviews for
170
169
49
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed with a purchase through Priceline, so we were not entitled to expect much. And we were not disappointed.

Room was city side with a view of bank buildings, nothing of interest. Be sure to request waterside view. This place was nickle and dime to the point of being annoying. They wanted $2.50 for a small bottle of warm water, for example. Internet is $10/night additional, breakfast is $10 or $15/extra. Room furniture layout was awkward and thoughtless, bed was way below par. No extra electrical outlets available for my CPAP and computer. The TV turned on by itself to the annoying Sheraton promotional channel. The room was clean, and the staff was semi-attentive. Parking is a problem, with a choice of overpriced valet or $8/night in a garage a block away, with awkward in-and-out arrangements. I observed one particularly dangerous incident which should never have been allowed. A large SUV was parked overnight and into the next day in the fire lane, making it difficult for ordinary automobile traffic and impossible for fire apparatus to pass by thereby endangering every guest at the hotel. Management did nothing for more than 15 hours, while charging the rest of us either $22 or $8 to park. This was inexcusable and why I gave this hotel a 2 star rating. The fitness room consists of a few treadmills, some ellipticals, and 2 stationary bikes. Nothing to write home about here.

Room Tip: Request waterside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bare_Chested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We appreciate your feedback though regret to note your dissatisfaction with our amenities and charges. Please know that the safety of our guests is of paramount importance. The large SUV that you've mentioned was an official Government vehicle that was there as a protection detail for one of our guests. There was someone standing by with keys to those vehicles to ensure that the safety of our guests was never compromised. We always appreciate all of the guest feedback that we receive and we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I got a great deal with hot wire.com I choose to upgrade because others on trip-advisor suggested it. I was very glad I did. Balcony room over the pool.The views at night are beautiful. The staff was great and the beds the absolute best, so comfortable. The fitness center is top notch. I also walked along the walkway out back .even in the rain, it was very nice. Outback Steakhouse is around the corner right beside the hotel. I like the parking lot. It's the one with the whale painted on the side.It wasn't that far away. Easily walkable,Be sure to get your ticket validated to save cash.overall a very pleasant experience with Sheraton.

Room Tip: Waterside view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandracarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your upgrade and appreciate that you've taken the time to describe your experience. It seems like you truly made the most out of your visit and had the opportunity to explore the dining options conveniently located nearby! We are happy to know that you enjoyed a pleasant experience and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were very disappointed in the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside. This hotel was booked for us at a group rate, so the price was right!

The pros about our stay: the beds were comfortable & clean, the TV had a nice picture (but they did not have a channel guide except on the television itself and that was very inconvenient). We also enjoyed the view from the little balcony (we were on the waterside of the hotel) but the cement balcony was dirty and it was not set up to sit out and enjoy the view. The waitresses and the hostess were very nice in The City Dock restaurant for breakfast & lunch. The desk chair was comfortable. We were given a late check-out (by Kristen), which we appreciated very much. Marquida from the front desk came to our room to fix the clock (the second person to come to fix the clock) and she was very helpful and she even set up wake-up calls for us for the next two mornings. The Air Conditioner/Heating worked great.

The cons about this hotel: We had to have staff visit our room 6 times (we've never had that many requests for problems at a hotel before) and these things were for items/problems that should have never happened. We had called and requested a mini-refrigerated (well it wasn't in our room at check-in , it had to be brought to the room) #1. At check-in we were given the option to avoid paying $9.95 for internet in our room we could join the Starwood Club; which we decided would be a convenient membership to have, so to save on the internet charge we joined the club. They did not give instructions to connect to the internet at the front desk and no instructions were in the room, so someone had to come to our room #2. The clock was set one hour ahead. In the morning the house keeping supervisor corrected the time and set the alarm for 7 AM, however at 7 PM the alarm went off #3. Marquida come to our room regarding the clock for the second time and set the alarm (she admitted their alarm clocks are difficult to understand) #4. The second morning the house keeping staff did not replace the towels left on the floor with fresh towels so towels had to be brought to the room #5. Later we noticed that an extra toilet paper roll was also forgotten to be left by the house keeping staff someone had to come to the room with that #6. This same house keeping staff washed the two glasses in the bathroom sink (the actual glass ones); I feel she should have gotten glasses that were freshly washed in a dishwasher. The only item that we were able to exchange or get at the front desk ourselves was the broken TV remote, my husband took the broken one to the front desk and they actually gave him another remote. The vending/ice room had no light and no light switch (apparently the light is on 24/7 except when the bulb is out and it is completely dark. The phone by the bed did not work. The free newspapers had to be found throughout the hotel, none were slipped under the room door. There was a nice arm chair in the room but it did not have a little side table to place your cup of coffee how inconvenient.

There are not a lot of outlets in the room, the room is small and the bathroom is small. The towels are scratchy. There is no book in the room that gives important hotel and local information (which I think is a must for hotels). Everything at this hotel is extra: the refrigerator was suppose to cost us $10.00 per day but they forgot to charge us! The in-room internet would have been $9.95 per day but I joined the Starwood Club so that was free for us. The self-parking was $12.00 per night and the valet parking was $22.00 per night. The valets seemed to be irritated that I sat outside the hotel with our luggage while my husband walked the 2 blocks to the self-parking parking lot to retrieve our car. One water bottle in the room was free but the other was marked $2.50.

They do not offer a free breakfast. They did have a hot breakfast buffet which was $14.00 (including beverage): Scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy, made-to-order omelet, Belgian waffle. A Belgian waffle with whipped cream & fruit is priced at $12.00 and juice is $3.00 so that would have been $15.00 - the buffet was definitely a bargain. The waitress for breakfast (Sandra) was very friendly and helpful, as was the hostess that morning. The She Crab soup for lunch the next day was delicious and the waitress that day (Joyce) was also friendly.

Room Tip: Request a room on the waterside for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, positive or otherwise. Your thorough review of our property is very much appreciated and helps us to get a clear perspective of your time here. We deeply regret to learn of the number of times our staff had to visit your room and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced. The number of inconveniences or difficulties that you experienced is inexcusable and does not reflect our usual high standards. We will be addressing your concerns with the appropriate department heads and hope you'll allow us the opportunity to provide a better guest experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton while I was attending a conference at the Marriott. We selected the Sheraton instead of the Marriott because the Sheraton allows dogs, and we travel with our dog whenever possible. We also thought the waterfront location would be nice.

We were disappointed. While there were a number of issues, my biggest complaint by far was the lack of hot water. It wasn't that the hot water was out - it's that it never got hot enough. (It was like this every time I tried to take a shower or run hot water to wash my hands.) I turned it all the way to "hot" to take showers, and it still was cooler than I find comfortable - which was pretty unpleasant on a chilly weekend. If it weren't for the hot water situation, I would give this hotel a better rating, but the lack of hot showers for 2 days in a row made me less tolerant of the other issues.

The Sheraton allows dogs, but guests with dogs must stay on the first floor. This means no view, you can't get a club room, and you might wind up next to the workout room -- as we did -- where you can hear the treadmills going. (We were lucky no one worked out at night.) Plus you have to go up to the 2nd floor for ice - a minor inconvenience, but an inconvenience nonetheless. We got the impression that first floor rooms are inferior. (Maybe the upper floors get actual hot water?) We've stayed with our dog at other, nicer Sheratons that didn't relegate us to the first floor. In fact, we've stayed at much nicer hotels which would allow us to stay with our dog in any of their rooms.

But it wasn't all bad. The Sheraton is older, but our room was clean and relatively nice. The bed and pillows were wonderful. The room was large enough, but the bathroom was very cramped and so small the door wouldn't open all the way. The closet was also pretty small.

We enjoyed Norfolk and plan to return to do some site-seeing, but we likely won't be staying at the Sheraton. Hot showers are too important to us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Avoid the first floor, particularly the room next to the workout r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are delighted we had the opportunity to welcome you, your husband and four-legged companion to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We deeply regret that our hot water temperature was not to your liking. We will take note of these concerns and further investigate the issue. We do sincerely regret any inconveniences that you encountered as a result. We wish we had the opportunity to relocate you to a different room. Though we happily welcome pets, we try to keep each of our guests needs in mind by assigning our guests traveling with pets to the lower level. This also ensures easy outdoor access for walking, etc. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to impress you with our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

One of the best Sheraton experiences to date. The staff was the most accommodating ever encountered and the food as stated by many was the best of any conference I have attended in the past 8 years. Hats off to Dana, Amy, CJ and Louis, they were constantly ensuring our requests were exceeded. We will return again next year as will many others.

Great job Sheraton!

Room Tip: This was my first time on the concierge floor - 10th, highly recommend it just due to the fact that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cborkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind and encouraging remarks. We cannot wait to share them with our team! It was a pleasure to accommodate you during the conference and we look forward to your return visit to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

October of 2012 (the review shows Nov '12 because the drop down box did not go back to Oct '12) I traveled to Norfolk for a work trip for a week long training class. We were pre-booked for the Sheraton Waterside. Much of the trip was and training was off the property, however, while at the Sheraton, I was very comfortable and happy with the accommodations provided. The room was large and clean with a large bathroom and comfortable beds. A desk was also present which was convenient for work. The staff, though encountered only a few times, was very friendly and helpful. My stay here helped make an other wise boring work trip away from family rather enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: i hear that the waterside views of the hotel are nice. be sure to request a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your work trip with us at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable experience while with us and that you found our accommodations well suited for your business travel needs. We hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with your family and enjoy a vacation here sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Address: 777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing