We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodations, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you ever need a place for an extended stay, such as around two weeks, this is the place to choose. The accommodations were very nice and clean with even dishes being provided, as well as a stove and microwave with a popcorn packet enclosed to make a guest feel welcome.

My husband and I needed to place his sister in a transitional living situation until the apartment she planned to move into became available. We were pleased with all staff, especially the assistant general manager, Dru A. Tripathi!! He could not have been more accommodating. He worked with us to be sure that our sister was comfortable, which was very helpful to her and put our minds at ease.

I cannot say enough good things about this place and about the staff who were all very courteous and helpful!

Room Tip: I cannot think of any right now. Do pay attention to the size of the closet if you wish to stay lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poopsie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review regarding Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such an outstanding compliment.
We are pleased to recieve such great praise and acknowledgement. The staff at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport feely truly honored that a guest such as yourself was able to recognize their everyday efforts to enure great customer service.
Thank you once again for such a delightful comment. We hope that you will continue to use IHG for your future stays.

Elsie Cabrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    25
    13
    6
    19
See reviews for
22
20
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel was relatively nice considering the value. It was a nice sized cozy studio style room, nice, neat and clean. Nothing spectacular about it but I didn't really expect so much for such a good price. I loved that it had a regular sized refrigerator and lots of counter space. Also the location was perfect; close to the malls, shopping centers and Walmart and Farm Fresh right down the street was a great convenience. The one problem I had with my stay was the ice maker in the refrigerator was not producing ice. The staff offered us another room but at that point we had already settled into our room and did not want to change. I would say overall my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisbaby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
I am Elsie Cabrera the General Manager for Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport. I am delighted and surprising experience during your recent stay with us. Our Suites speak for themselves. It is good to know that the staff did their best to accommodate you.
We hope that the next time you are traveling if not in our area but somewhere different you will continue to look towards Candlewood Suites as a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I love staying at the Candlewood! This place is by far the best in Norfolk, Va. The rooms are flawless, and very professional staff. Ask for Dru!! He is a very professional employee, who is dedicated to his job. His loyal devotion to his work reflects great credit upon himself and keeps with the highest tradition of IHG properties. The hotel has a fully sized kitchen, free laundry and a gas grill in the back. Higly recommended .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daunte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hello,

Your review brings great joy to all the staff at the Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport. We want nothing but to give our best to our guests. And it seems that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Hampton Roads area you will consider staying with the Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport.

Elsie Cabrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I travel alot in my line of work and Candlewood Suites have the cleanest rooms, the friendliest people do deal with and the most comfortabe rooms for the amount of money . Dru at the Norfolk location is a wonderful person and helps in every way to make your stay is a great experience. I stay here whenever I am in town!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
When an experienced traveler such as yourself stops by our Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport and can give us such a wonderful review it brings a great amount of joy. It lets us all know that we are providing great service to each one of our guests.
We hope that you will continue using Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport as your hotel of choice when you are in the area.

Elsie Cabrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
340 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stay at Candlewood Suites properties whenever possible when traveling by myself on business. They are consistant in their quality and value. The Norfolk Airport property is up to the standard and a great value. Close to shopping, and many restaurants. With a full kitchen area with full size refrigerator its a treat for this business traveler to cook my own meal once in a while. The staff is very friendly and willing to please. I strongly recommend you stay here on your next visit to Norfolk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you so much for pointing the great location our hotel is in. Everything is within close proximity of the hotel. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport offers everything a person who is traveling on business might find themselves needing. We hope that you will consider us again next time you are in the Hampton Roads area.

Elsie Cabrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I have 4 kids we love this hotel as our fav retreat from the kids, the king suite is great, "Tiffany" the night front desk clerk, she is "OUTSTANDING", everytime, even though the fire alarm went crazy for 25min, and we had to go outside (issue on 4th floor) and the bed had come a loose, (easily fixed), her "CUSTOMER SERVICE" IS SO GRANDE, we couldnt complain. Thanks again for a great night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
First I would like to apologize about the inconvenience caused by the fire alarm. So good to hear that Tiffany was able to make your stay a pleasant one.
We hope you will continue using us as your retreat.

Elsie Cabrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norflolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have been working out of town for close to seven years. There have been plenty of ups and downs in regards to lodging. This hotel is one of the ups. The room is essentially an apartment with most of what you need for day to day living. The hotel has a gym and laundry that guests can use freely. The staff are courteous and willing to help. I have had dealings with most of the front desk staff and have found Dru to be particularly attentive, sharp, and efficient. I look forward to a continuing business relationship with this hotel.

John Casey

Room Tip: Lower floors mean quick elevator trips if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Mr. John K.,

My name is Elsie Cabrera and I am the General Manager for the Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport. I am so happy to hear that you found all you were looking for in our Suites. We want to offer nothing but the comfort of home to our guests. We hope that you will keep turning to the Candlewood Suites as your stop when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
Address: 5600 Lowery Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-2233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Hotel Norfolk Airport (ORF) - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk - Airport is a member of the IHG family brands of hotels including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for the long term government travelers, project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites - Norfolk Airport Hotel is centrally located 2 miles from the Norfolk (ORF) Airport on Military Highway between I-64 & I 264; minutes from VA Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth. Our hotel is close to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, USAA, Portfolio Recovery, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Naval Station Norfolk, Naval Amphibious Base Little Creek, Naval Air Station Oceana & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to meet your extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio and one bedroom suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, Flat screen TVs with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing